11/21 Boomer AMPS 182 +3 149 +6 112 PMPS 113 +3 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 182 shooting 2u

Boomer let me sleep until just before 5:00 (+9) last night! I did have to get up at 5:00 and stir his remaining food. But he was CPC when we checked his dishes this morning.

Allen's "rally" yesterday afternoon was short-lived unfortunately. The only thing I can think of is that the cisapride that we started yesterday afternoon (for his constipation) actually had some component that made him feel better for a while. idk. He did have a poop last night finally. And he did eat some overnight but not a huge amount. He didn't have much of an appy this morning and I tried 3 different foods and a piece of chicken. He nibbled a bit at each then turned away. We gave him a cisapride (dose is 3 times a day) and his diazoxide and he barfed both up within about 30 seconds. We could see the cisapride in it so we re-pilled him. I guess we'll know in 2 to 3 hours whether it is indeed the cisapride that makes him feel better. He can also have another appy stimulant this afternoon. And we have a vet assistant coming this afternoon to give him fluids.
 
Food can usually help with meds...but maybe his appy is off because he's feeling nauseated. Sometimes they don't get to the point of actually barfing, but still feel icky enough to not want to eat. Just something to maybe as Dr Larry about.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Food can usually help with meds...but maybe his appy is off because he's feeling nauseated. Sometimes they don't get to the point of actually barfing, but still feel icky enough to not want to eat. Just something to maybe as Dr Larry about.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes it's possible. Although he usually does take a few wee bites when we offer him food. I did see him licking his lips a lot last night and thought for sure he was going to barf, which he didn't. I hate the thought of giving him yet another medication but it may be worth a try.
 
Yes it's possible. Although he usually does take a few wee bites when we offer him food. I did see him licking his lips a lot last night and thought for sure he was going to barf, which he didn't. I hate the thought of giving him yet another medication but it may be worth a try.

So I just googled "can cisapride help with nausea" and although I did find a couple of sites that said it can cause nausea, there were a few others that indicated that yes it can help with nausea. So potentially that's why Allen seemed to rally 2-3 hours after getting the cisapride yesterday afternoon. And if that's the case, we will hopefully see the same result this morning; he had a cisapride about 1.5 hours ago.
 
+3 149
So it's been about 2.5 hours since we gave Allen the Cisapride. I didn't offer food until just now. I put a bit of turkey pate down, he licked once or twice and walked away. I put some fancy feast down. He licked once or twice and then went to his water and had a good drink (haven't seen him drinking for a long time and he used to drink a lot). Then he went back to the fancy feast and ate a bit more. Then a bit of turkey. And he just left to go to his bed. So I guess I wait and see and maybe offer the food again in an hour. Of course I can't leave it down because of Boomer.
 
So Boomer let you sleep extra long and you rewarded him by stirring his food? :eek: You may have just reset the stubborn match clock :joyful: you can't let him win! hang in there, you can do this!

I'm so sorry Allen's up spell was short lived. I hope your vet has some other ideas for you, that's so frustrating and scary when they won't eat. :( :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So Allen was laying in his bed in my bedroom...I said to him "you let me know if you're hungry". I glanced back at his bed a few seconds later and he was gone.....out in the kitchen. So I put the two plates of food down....he took a bite then headed to the back door (which is open because I was warm and it's reasonably nice out). Sat at the back door for a short period of time then ate some more off each plate and has now headed back to bed.
 
I do think Alan is showing signs of nausea. Giving a cat an appetite stimulant when nauseous can lead to food aversions. I can’t remember if you have tried cerenia? I’d ask your vet what he thinks. :bighug:
 
I do think Alan is showing signs of nausea. Giving a cat an appetite stimulant when nauseous can lead to food aversions. I can’t remember if you have tried cerenia? I’d ask your vet what he thinks. :bighug:
I agree; I have sent a message to Dr Larry asking about cerenia or an alternative.
 
+6 112
And Allen just came out all on his own and waited patiently for some food. He had some ff and some turkey pate and a drink of water and has headed back to bed. I haven't heard back from Dr Larry yet re the anti nausea meds and I don't want to give him another mirtazapine if he's nauseous (thanks @tiffmaxee) so DH and I decided that we will wait until he has the fluids in about half an hour, then we will give another cisapride (3 a day) then a couple of hours after that we will give the mirtazapine .
 
Wierd question - the poop that did come out, was it really dark or more normal color? Dark has been in the colon too long. If it's normal color, it's either going around old poop (not usual) or there's nothing old in there. The cisapride is also making his heart beat stronger and him breath deeper so he may be getting a bit of benefit from that for a bit. It strengthens the contractions of all muscles....

HUGS
 
Wierd question - the poop that did come out, was it really dark or more normal color? Dark has been in the colon too long. If it's normal color, it's either going around old poop (not usual) or there's nothing old in there. The cisapride is also making his heart beat stronger and him breath deeper so he may be getting a bit of benefit from that for a bit. It strengthens the contractions of all muscles....

HUGS
I believe it was normal!
It was a decent size poop....considering he hasn't been eating all that much. We're continuing the cisapride and hopefully he will start having poops every day. And if we can get him eating more than he will benefit from the clearlax and pumpkin that I add to his food.
 
PMPS 113 shooting 2u
And Allen had the cisapride around 2:30ish and a couple of hours later he was out wandering around and eating a bit so we then gave him the mirtazapine. He's been eating off and on ever since (it's now almost 8:30) and he's been on DH's lap a couple of times.
Never did hear from Dr Larry about an anti-nauseant. :mad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top