11/20 Zyler AMPS 99 +1.5 78 PMPS 80 +5.75 79

Thank you! Been working on getting another script for insulin. The first vet I’ve saw still insists I bring in Zyler for a fructosamine test but will not answer what value it adds when I test daily, will give me one more script but seems like that vet is a dead end. The second vet is happy with his curve but apparently is not thrilled that I did not consult them to change dose…even though it took a week to get a response.
How does everyone handle their vets in terms of getting scripts? Trying to balance telling them what they need to hear vs giving some truth, ie second vet does not agree with .25doses so I undershot in the dose I shared with them.
 
How does everyone handle their vets in terms of getting scripts?
I think that some Vets (and other professionals in their respective field) worry that laypersons rely solely on a Google search which may not always be correct information. My Vet is wonderful, and a little arrogant :rolleyes:. So I tell him that I adjust as the home curves dictate by increasing and decreasing as warranted pursuant to the 2018 AAHA guidelines updated in 2020 and the published paper of Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin.
 
How does everyone handle their vets in terms of getting scripts? Trying to balance telling them what they need to hear vs giving some truth, ie second vet does not agree with .25doses so I undershot in the dose I shared with them.
Don't share the spreadsheet with vets if you think they won't understand TR/lower numbers etc. Or offer any information on except the curve - if they want you to do one. Like you said, tell them what you need to hear. Sometimes you have to just smile and nod and agree to do what they're asking you to do - even though you know you won't.

Zyler gets to join Zoey and me on our trip to meet my mom for the long weekend, we leave Wednesday and have a 6hr drive. Hoping he is a good boy!
Here's a good note on Traveling with a diabetic cat.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1YvM4QmUfneiSeS0gNd8R9JNc0eqEo5mmLm8GNK6eg-8/edit

Will you be able to test as much or would you like to consider a lower vacation dose?
 
Had a terrible migraine when I got home so I ordered food since I hadn't had a chance to eat anything all day. Then realized my house seemed extra cold. Upon investigating and setting my Mexican on the counter, came back in from the garage to Zyler eating my dinner and also no heat. Not really sure what all Zyler ate, he was licking his lips, so he might have tasted some salsa and guac, maybe some carnitas. He’s never done that before but he was pestering me for his second dinner so I should have predicted that. Surprised his levels were still flat.
 
Will you be able to test as much or would you like to consider a lower vacation dose?
Thanks for the document, will read tomorrow since it’s telling me I have to sign into google and put of brainpower trying to remember my login. Assuming I have heat and can still go, Zyler will have the same schedule and I can test as much as he needs.
 
Back
Top