11/20 Trixie PMPS 231 +2 209 +4 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Looks like a bounce back up into Flat Yellow Land....

Yesterday, I started wondering if maybe her new pen is bad. We started the new pen on 11/04, and although her numbers were climbing a bit before that, they really started taking off shortly thereafter. I just assumed it was a failed reduction, we'd take her back up to her old dose, and she'd be back on track right as she usually did in the past. Of course, last night she had a pretty decent cycle, adding to my confusion about what exactly is going on here.

I've got a couple questions spinning off of this...can you guys take a look at her SS and tell me what you think?

1. Do you think we should increase her again while using the current pen?

2. Should I try a new pen instead? I won't be able to get a new pen until tomorrow, because I want to talk to the Pharmacy manager about the possiblity of the pen being bad, in hopes that he'll swap it out for a fresh pen. If he won't, and you guys think a new pen is the better route to go, then I'll just buy a new one.


Any input is greatly appreciated...it just seems so odd to me that she would fall THIS far out of regulation...we've never had to take her higher than F1.25 before, and right now she's on 2.00 with no progress what-so-ever.

Thanks for any thoughts....

Amy
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie AMPS 256 +2285 +4 270 - Advice?

It seems like ever since your power went out at the end of October, Trixie's numbers just haven't been the same. Any chance she needs a dental? I know it's only been 6 mos but I'd want to rule out anything that could be on the medical side.

I have had pens that were just punky from day 1. You can always try a new pen and see if there's an improvement.
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie AMPS 256 +2285 +4 270 - Advice?

I know, it's weird how the power outage seems to have been the start to all of this.

I'm sure it's possible that she needs another dental. I've looked at her mouth as best I can, and as an untrained layman, I don't see any telltale red lines or inflammation - but that's not to say there can't be something hidden that only a vet could see when prying her mouth open or doing x-rays. She doesn't eat like she's in pain, which she definitely did before her previous dental. She's behaving completely normally...just running high numbers. We even did a meter comparison last week to make sure that wasn't the issue...both meters registered closely.

I do hope/plan to get her in soon for a check up. Honestly, the civvie vet bills - in addition to all the other cat meds and supplies - are absolutely killing us. Never had a year like this before....
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie AMPS 256 +2285 +4 270 - Advice?

I know that my vet likes to run a senior blood panel twice a year once a cat is older than 10. Something like hyperthyroid could be ruled out but it doesn't sound like you're seeing symptoms.

I'd try a new pen. If you're not seeing an improvement or if there's something that makes you suspicious, get labs done.
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie AMPS 256 +2285 +4 270 - Advice?

I agree with Sienne. I would try a new pen, and consider a vet visit and BW to rule out medical causes.

Whenever you lose regulation for no apparent reason, it could be a sign that the insulin is no good. I would start there to rule that out. Toasty insulin doesn't necessarily not work at all, it usually causes an inconsistant response. You may see some decent cycles, with higher numbers overall.
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie AMPS 256 +2285 +4 270 - Advice?

Thanks, guys...I'll pick up a new pen for her tomorrow. Hopefully the pharmacy manager will swap it for me, but even if not, a new pen it is. I really hope this is it, too...in staring at her chart, it seems to make the most sense, but I also know that with FD, anything is possible.

She's definitely going in for routine maintenance and BW soon. I've just had 3 pretty costly civvie vet bills and a huge car repair bill in the last 2 weeks, so I'm hoping I can hold off on both Trixie and Mario (who also needs BW and a check up) until the current credit card cycle closes out...but, if we can't wait, we'll do what we have to do. So, with all that, fingers are seriously crossed that a new pen fixes all this...
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie AMPS 256 +2285 +4 270

Amy, first of all, thank you for always being there for me and Simon. It seems like we are having the same problems with higher numbers than ever and higher insulin, too. It is just so frustrating. I really hope it is a bad pen that is causing all the problems for Trixie. A new pen definitely costs less than a another vet visit.
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie PMPS 231 - ANOTHER DOSE QUESTION

Got another quick question...since I'm suspicious that Trix's current insulin is toast, and she's on the highest dose she's ever been on (2.00U), for safety's sake should I consider a slight reduction when I switch to the new pen tomorrow evening? If so, how much should I reduce by?

Thanks!!!
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie PMPS 231 - ANOTHER DOSE QUESTION

Amy....FWIW, since you've had her at this dose a while and you aren't positive it's the pen, I would leave her where she is as long as you can closely monitor her once you give her the new insulin. If the insulin is toasty, it might take a few cycles to refill her shed and see lower numbers or she might react right away; I've had both happen with Gracie. If it's not the pen, she'd lose some ground if you reduce her dose before or when you start the pen.

What I wouldn't do is raise her dose until you've used the pen a few cycles and see what happens. Of course, others might have other ideas, too, but that's just my two cents worth.

I hope it's the pen....
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie PMPS 231 - ANOTHER DOSE QUESTION

I would keep the dose the same, just monitor closely. You know how to manage low numbers, right? *If* it's the insulin, you may need to adjust the dose, but I wouldn't try to anticipate that.
 
Re: 11/20 Trixie PMPS 231 +2 209

Thanks. Yep, managing the numbers and monitoring is no problem...been there, done that quite a few times (although not lately :roll: :lol: !). I'll keep her at 2.00 and see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top