11/20 - Silver AMPS 320 1u it is

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyMom777

Member Since 2014
Mel :-) !

Do I shoot??

Last night's PMPS was 162 but he spiked into reds in just 3 hours. Shall I give 1 unit? Half?
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 26.9 (484.2) PMPS 7.3 (131.4) -HOLDIN

Just give him 1u for now it is what we call a Big Chicken Shot. And if you can get a spot check in about 2-3 hours since he likes to drop early and then hang there.

I'll keep an eye out for updates tonight.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 26.9 (484.2) PMPS 7.3 (131.4) -HOLDIN

MommaOfMuse said:
Just give him 1u for now it is what we call a Big Chicken Shot. And if you can get a spot check in about 2-3 hours since he likes to drop early and then hang there.

I'll keep an eye out for updates tonight.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Ok Will do. Am I glad you were on line!!
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 26.9 (484.2) PMPS 7.3 (131.4) -HOLDIN

lol actually I wasn't but I have an alert on my phone when I get a new email and I have the board set up so it sends me an email every time there is a new post here. It's called multitasking. ;-)

I was in fact going over some of my grandmother's and mother's old family recipes and trying to decide on bannocks or scones for Thanksgivings

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 26.9 (484.2) PMPS 7.3 (131.4) -HOLDIN

MommaOfMuse said:
lol actually I wasn't but I have an alert on my phone when I get a new email and I have the board set up so it sends me an email every time there is a new post here. It's called multitasking. ;-)

I was in fact going over some of my grandmother's and mother's old family recipes and trying to decide on bannocks or scones for Thanksgivings

Mel and The Fur Gang

Lol! I think I'm going to start calling you the "Proverbs 31 wife"! Google it if you're not familiar. Seriously....is there anything you DONT do in your house?
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

6.4 (115.2) at + 2 hrs Mel. Guess I'm staying up another couple hrs to test again right?

I am pleased with the lower numbers but what do you think I'll start to see now his dose has been reduced?

And tomorrow morning what should my decision number be for 1 or 1.5 units? I know with time difference I can't call on you.

Juliet
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

You know with the way he's dropping still on that 1.5 from this morning, I would really start him all over again and bring him up if he needs to come up slowly. I might even drop back to .5u bid for awhile. But I think if he's under 300 tomorrow morning I wouldn't shoot anymore than 1u and I would keep him at 1u for a week just to see what he does. Because looking at his vet run curve that was on 2u once a day and still on dry food, and he was hitting blues then. Now he is on twice a day which means that he has insulin in his system 24 hours a day instead of only 12 - 16 hours so he finally has a chance to build and keep a shed full. And he just changed over to all wet.

And yes I would get another test in a few hours. Just to make sure he doesn't continue to drop fast, hopefully he'll just level off and surf.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

Isn't the low numbers I'm still seeing a result of his shed from being at two units? Won't I see a return to pinks and reds at one unit?

So make a decision based on the AMPS tomorrow?
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

That is what we don't know yet. It could go back up, or it could stay lower. At first his numbers were erratic because the Lantus wasn't beeing dosed properly for how Lantus works in that it was being given once a day instead of twice, then we got it going twice a day but the amount was bounced around so much he has never had a chance to settle and build a proper shed so the any dose can work the way Lantus is designed to work in a cat.

So right now he is a little bit of a mystery. Maxwell, Autumn and Cassanova are all about the same size of cat, yet each of the worked their insulin differently. All eat the same thing, Max never went above 1u and in 2 weeks was done altogether, Autumn went to 1.5u and now is down to .3 and a 16 hour cycle and Cassanova was up to 11u (gross overdose by his former vet) and went off and now is back on but coming off again.

Its why we like to start extremely low and work up in dose rather than start at 2u bid and chase falling numbers. It is easier and safer to go up if not enough than try to catch them as they are hovering close to hypo.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

That makes sense. Ok. If he's in the blues or yellows I'll give just 1u but if in red or black I'll give 1.5. That work?

His neuropathy must be improving slightly. He just climbed onto my coffee table and is trying to lick my dinner plate! I have been safe the last few weeks as he hasn't been able to get up there.
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

Well you need to pick a dose and hold it for Lantus to work correctly.

Here is how I'd handle if he was mine.

Go back to 1u hold that until the weekend. If he runs a little high just let him be up there. Destress for the rest of this week. Then run a curve and we'll help you with where to take is dose based on that curve.

Right now you need sleep and to just relax before you explode.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

Makes sense - but the weekend is just two days away....isn't that too soon to get past NDW to know what's going on ?

He might make the decision for me coz if he's below 300 it's definitely just 1u.
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

Ok well given his pattern I hope he will level out for next few hrs before rising as I need to get sleep before work. Praying he's safe til morning.
 
Re: 11/19 Silver AMPS 484.2; PMPS 131.4 +2=115.2

Right now his shed is so confused its not really going to matter either way. Except what I'm trying to do is shoot for a dose that is far enough under ideal to let him ride high and flat. So he's getting back to at least yellow if not pink preshots until the weekend so you can shoot and relax and destress and sleep. Lol.

Once we get you unwound like a spring this whole learning this dance gets easier. I promise.

RULE 1: If you don't take care of you, you can't care for Silver. This means you must...Breathe, Sleep, eat and go have fun and relax.

Right now you need him up higher so your world can stop spinning. We can play catch up on his numbers when your nerves are ready to shoot those lower preshots

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

I can handle the spinning :-) Id really rather his levels weren't back into pinks unless preshots. I like seeing blue :-) it's more normal range. I will likely only give 1u tomorrow but will see what preshot is first.

I like that he is coming down gradually today.
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

It is nice to see blue, but Silver's body might not yet be ready for blue. Try to push things and the body's counter-regulatory system will kick into overdrive again. Slow, steady, and safe is the way to go.
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

hi Juliet.
just want to be sure you are clear about the dosage stability. as Mel is saying you need to pick a dose that you can shoot twice a day without changing it each time you shoot. so right now, it is much better to have him be a little high and give a consistent dose. you don't want to change the dose every time you shoot. if he is dropping so low that you have to skip a shot or reduce the dose then the dose is too high right now. if 1 unit is your chosen dose then you need to shoot 1 unit morning and night for maybe a week to let his shed fill properly and let the dose settle. then maybe next weekend you can run your full curve. you can spot check until then but don't worry about his numbers riding a little high for this week. you need to first flatten his curve a bit so he doesn't get these steep and fast drops. and as Áine is saying...forcing him into blues that he is not ready for will.just cause major bouncing and is not really the best thing for him.
i would do exactly as Mel has advised and do 1 unit twice a day for a few days, then post his numbers and we can go from there. but start with lower dose (1 unit both day and night) and don't change it for a few days.
if he still drops too low on 1 unit, then you may have to go back and start at .5 twice a day for a week. the goal at first is consistent dose am & pm and a nice flatter curve. after you achieve this, then you can start increasing slowly to eventually get his numbers down
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

Critter Mom said:
It is nice to see blue, but Silver's body might not yet be ready for blue. Try to push things and the body's counter-regulatory system will kick into overdrive again. Slow, steady, and safe is the way to go.

He's always been in blue mid cycle since day one. It's ok. I'm following Mel's advice. I'm good with following forum not vet now. Took a while to get there
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

tibbs5 said:
hi Juliet.
just want to be sure you are clear about the dosage stability. as Mel is saying you need to pick a dose that you can shoot twice a day without changing it each time you shoot. so right now, it is much better to have him be a little high and give a consistent dose. you don't want to change the dose every time you shoot. if he is dropping so low that you have to skip a shot or reduce the dose then the dose is too high right now. if 1 unit is your chosen dose then you need to shoot 1 unit morning and night for maybe a week to let his shed fill properly and let the dose settle. then maybe next weekend you can run your full curve. you can spot check until then but don't worry about his numbers riding a little high for this week. you need to first flatten his curve a bit so he doesn't get these steep and fast drops. and as Áine is saying...forcing him into blues that he is not ready for will.just cause major bouncing and is not really the best thing for him.
i would do exactly as Mel has advised and do 1 unit twice a day for a few days, then post his numbers and we can go from there. but start with lower dose (1 unit both day and night) and don't change it for a few days.
if he still drops too low on 1 unit, then you may have to go back and start at .5 twice a day for a week. the goal at first is consistent dose am & pm and a nice flatter curve. after you achieve this, then you can start increasing slowly to eventually get his numbers down

Mel is ok with 1.5 as she's said further up in this thread or my other one. The decision is if under 300 I give 1u. If over 300 then 1.5. That was her idea.
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

If I'm going to follow the forum advice - and I've made the decision to do so - then the advice needs to be consistent not conflicting. Right?
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

Yes I gave you a choice but also said if he were mine I'd drop back to 1u until the weekend since blue preshots still scare the bejeepers out of you. Then this weekend once you slept and have your wheels back under you reassess the dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

Its not going to do any good if we get him down to blue preshots if you can't shoot a full dose or any dose for fear of him dropping too low. He need him stable first then we bring the whole curve down into lower numbers. So it is safe to shoot blue or even green.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

Hi Juliet
I think we are all basically saying the same thing.
it's not really conflicting advice.... just being said
in different ways trying to help you keep your kitty safe.
anyway, hope you get some good rest tonight.
 

Attachments

  • sleep.jpg
    sleep.jpg
    1.9 KB · Views: 248
Re: 11/19 Silver lights out = 5.8 (104.4) at +4

MommaOfMuse said:
Yes I gave you a choice but also said if he were mine I'd drop back to 1u until the weekend since blue preshots still scare the bejeepers out of you. Then this weekend once you slept and have your wheels back under you reassess the dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yes I hear you but my point is - I can shoot blue fear or not. I'm not concerned about my feelings in all this. If getting him back to pinks and yellow preshots is solely for my benefit then I don't want that. Mostly his preshots are red or pink anyways especially the AMPS. Silver doesn't let me sleep so the weekend isnt going to change that. He routinely wakes me at 4am. He has been happier in the blues too as he was playing like a kitten last night.
 
Ok. Havent seen a low pink AMPS in a while so I have gone with 1u. Now that 1u is established I'll stay here til the weekend and do a curve on Saturday. I do understand the need for consistency as I have been reading this board for the past 6 weeks. I just hope the lower dose evens him out without having to go into high numbers again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top