11/20 Mocha AMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mocha'sMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108476

I will be starting a new vial of Lantus any day now. I was surprised I was able to get a full dose out of the old bottle this morning. I guess it is time to start looking into the pens. The nutritional clay has been amazing, I am glad that we only did half of what the vet prescribed because his diarrhea is gone after only 3 of those reduced doses. I think if we had done the full dose we could have ended up with a blockage nailbite_smile Used the 30g lancets again this morning, success on the first try! Sadly, still getting a high number. His peak last night wasn't perfect either. Could this have anything to do with the Lantus aging? People on this forum say not to use repackaged Lantus, but when we switched over (before I joined this forum) that is what the vet gave us. Could the repackaging make the Lantus age faster?
 
Hi guys .. I KNOW I haven't been to your condo before because I would definitely remember another mocha :-D so welcome from us! Glad to hear the diarrhea has cleared up .. Good luck with the new pen when you start it .. have a great day guys!
 
I didn't realize you had repackaged Lantus. Yes, I have no doubt that could be part of Mocha's higher numbers! Lantus doesn't last forever, and aside from the fact that I would not trust the repackaging process, who knows how old that insulin was to begin with. Some people do get about 4 months out of a vial, if it's stored and cared for properly. Wow, I can't believe your vet gave you repacked insulin. When you do switch to either a new vial or the pens, be extra vigilant about testing...you MAY see a sudden drop in numbers with fresh, new, full-strength juice.

(ETA - I fixed few bad typos in there that made my statement say the opposite of what I was really saying!!)
 
I agree with Amy, Be extra careful to monitor when you start a fresh vial or pen. The fresh Lantus will pack a punch after using repackaged(!) (very scary that your vet gave you that)!! You may even have to lower Mocha's dose after you see how he does on fresh insulin.

Good job with the 30-gauge lancets! Glad the diarrhea is clearing up.

Have a fine day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Aw, sorry that the puddin' poo is back. Sending tons of solid poo vines your way! (Yes, you are now fully immersed in LantusLand, where talk of kitty poo runs rampant @-) :oops: ....)
 
Haha! Yes, poo is important. Playing is the only "P" that we struggle with, being an old man and such.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top