11/20 Michelangelo AMPS 340, +11/277 PMPS 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

I'm a dork and forgot his BG booklet at home. I remember it was over 300, but not as high as yesterday's. ohmygod_smile

I hope this is a sign that his BG levels are starting to come down now that he's back on 1u. And I really really hope that he doesn't go through another growth spurt before I get him stabilized, but at least I know now that it's going to screw with his insulin dosage and what to look for.
 
Re: 11/20 Michelangelo AMPS +304

Marje and Gracie said:
Kay

Somogyi has not been proven to exist in cats, and especially would not occur in a cat where the TR protocol has been followed. Somogyi, as defined, is the rebound which occurs from a chronic overdose. You would get extreme lows followed by highs. By taking our cats up in very small increments and reducing the dose when a reduction is earned, it's not possible for Somogyi to occur. Many vets see the bouncing and automatically call it Somogyi. They don't really look at the curves closely and see our kitties often bounce off a blue number.

The bouncing our TR kitties do is different. Bouncing can be caused by any number lower than the liver is used to. It doesn't have to be an extremely low number. It can also be caused by dives.

If you would like more info, please let me know.

Ah! This definitely helps clear things up. Thank you! I was under the impression (and yes, I think it was from my vet) that somogyi was basically any rebound from low to high numbers.
 
Re: 11/20 Michelangelo AMPS +304

I hate to say this but the last two nights you have seen him drop from a high yellow into blue And then you went to bed I expect. Then you woke up to a pink. He may have dropped further after the blue so next time you see a blue like that can I suggest you set the alarm for three hours later and do another test? I am wondering how low he is going at night and when his pm nadir is. If its after +7 you could do a +2 go to bed, set the alarm and get five hours sleep till +7 or whatever.

But my main point is you need to know how low he could be dropping and roughly when.. Will give you more data we can use..
 
Re: 11/20 Michelangelo AMPS +304

Wendy&Tiggy said:
I hate to say this but the last two nights you have seen him drop from a high yellow into blue And then you went to bed I expect. Then you woke up to a pink. He may have dropped further after the blue so next time you see a blue like that can I suggest you set the alarm for three hours later and do another test? I am wondering how low he is going at night and when his pm nadir is. If its after +7 you could do a +2 go to bed, set the alarm and get five hours sleep till +7 or whatever.

But my main point is you need to know how low he could be dropping and roughly when.. Will give you more data we can use..

I test him frequently during the AM +12 and he hasn't been dropping low at all. Is this because he's been continuously bouncing from his night dose? I try to test him at night up to at least +5, if not +6 and/or +7 (a couple of times, I stayed up late enough for a +8) but once I see his numbers on an upward trend again, I usually just head off to bed. The only PM times I'm missing any data for are the +9 and +10. How often should I be testing him at night? I have sleeping issues, so being off work for four days this week will be a perfect time to do a night curve test without adversely affecting me from work the next day.

Last night's data actually goes till I think +6 or +7 but since I left his BG booklet at home, I haven't put the numbers in. IIRC, his +5 was 145, his +6 was back up again to around 185 and his +7 either the same or slightly higher than the +6 (either way, he was on an upward trend without a food spike because I feed him as we go to bed).

And I still haven't been able to really spot when he hits Nadir because some days, it doesn't seem like he hits it at all. Other days, it seems he hits it within a couple of hours of his shot, and still other days, it seems as if it's at +8.
 
Re: 11/20 Michelangelo AMPS +304

IMHO, I think you're doing fine with testing. Frankly, Marje and I are confirmed testaholics. We'd be giving you a nudge if we didn't think you were getting enough tests in. Likewise, I'd be more concerned if you were seeing low blues early in the cycle and then heading off to bed.
 
Re: 11/20 Michelangelo AMPS +304

I was just wondering if there were any low greens in there.... probably not but if he is getting nadirs late at night she should know to be ready for when ( crossed paws) he gets into lower numbers.
 
Re: 11/20 Michelangelo AMPS +304

Sienne and Gabby said:
IMHO, I think you're doing fine with testing. Frankly, Marje and I are confirmed testaholics. We'd be giving you a nudge if we didn't think you were getting enough tests in. Likewise, I'd be more concerned if you were seeing low blues early in the cycle and then heading off to bed.

I'm a test-a-holic, too! It doesn't help that Mikey LOVES being tested (or maybe just loves the treat) and will go over to our testing spot at all hours of the day and night and sit there as he patiently waits for me to heat up his rice sock, even if I just tested him a half hour ago!

Because I feed him his overnight meal when we go to bed, I'm usually not too worried if he's in the mid to low blues at a +6 or +7 because eating always packs a higher punch for him. I also sleep with him and am a hyper-vigilant sleeper having practiced with my previous cat and his health issues as well as my niece and nephew when they were babies (no health issues, just Auntie paranoia on my part. :mrgreen: )

Wendy&Tiggy said:
I was just wondering if there were any low greens in there.... probably not but if he is getting nadirs late at night she should know to be ready for when ( crossed paws) he gets into lower numbers.

Nope, haven't hit green since I decreased his dose to .75u back at the beginning of this month. He's also grown almost another 2 pounds since then, which is why I think it seems even the 1u he's back on now might still be too low.
 
His AMPS was 340, not 304 (I blame my dyslexia). His +11 is almost identical to all of his other +11s at right around 280.

I've got to keep reminding myself that he's grown significantly since we first started him on insulin less than a month ago and not get discouraged by his stagnantly high numbers. :cry:
 
Kay

I agree with Sienne that you are doing a great job of testing...ESP at night. I don't think you need to worry about doing a curve....you've gotten plenty of tests to give you good data.

I wouldn't worry about where his nadir is. Nadirs can change even from cycle to cycle. Wen Gracie was on lantus, her nadir changed so much, I couldn't keep up :-D

You will are doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top