11/20 Maggie AMPS 97.2, PMPS 86.4. Dosing?

Emma and Maggie

Member Since 2023
On my previous post here https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...n-lantus-levemir-section.281851/#post-3107531 there was a discussion about SLGS vs. TR and whether to drop the dose.

When I originally started from the Facebook page, it was recommended that I do TR. On this most recent post, I was told that if we were feeding Maggie kibble, I would have to do SLGS. However, I clarified that we were not feeding her kibble, she was getting it accidentally. Since then, we have been more vigilant about making sure she doesn't get kibble. We also started making sure she consistently gets a later night snack. (I was not willing to further disrupt my sleep schedule which is already split in two, to follow the recommendation to get up and feed her at +8 or +9)

When I last posted here in Sept., I was going through my own personal mental health issues and have only started improving recently. My cognition was not working as well as usual, and I was confused about a lot of the details, but afraid to ask for more help because I felt I was not following all the requirements. In Sept. it was recommended to me to drop from 0.1u to needle drop dose. I wasn't comfortable with that for some reason, so I dropped to "Some" insulin, and I didn't really decide definitively whether we would do SLGS or TR.

At the dose of "some", it looks as though she might have earned a reduction that I missed mid-October, being all in the greens. I just reviewed the sticky and it says, a week. I thought it had to stay in the greens for two weeks, and that she therefore didn't qualify. In any case, her numbers started going back up to blues after that.

I also might have missed a dose reduction (if doing SLGS?) on Nov. 14, when she had an AM nadir of 67.

So, do I go from "some" down to needle drop, or down to zero?
 
I think I would give the drop dose now. I’m glad you are feeling better. Can you get a second test every cycle?
 
Thank you. What do you mean by "second test every cycle"? Would that be three tests total per day (including AMPS and PMPS), or four?
No. Get the pretest and another later in the cycle. So two tests each cycle. We want to know how low she’s going. She’s so close and we want a strong remission.
 
Yes, so four tests total per day :)

I have been trying to get the tests but still have family members trying to persuade me that that's unnecessary or painful. The logic makes sense to me though, you want to know how low she goes, so I will just have to keep insisting.

It's +5 for me as I write this, and I was about to get another test, but then I looked at and touched the vacuum cleaner (not even thinking) and Maggie took that as her cue to hide because she thought I was going to use it :nailbiting:

So yes I will do everything I can to get those tests. I don't have them every day for the past few days, but I have updated the numbers, and it looks like her AMPS/PMPS are back in the blues, and the one day we did test her nadirs were around 90.

Stay at drop dose or go back up to "some"?
 
Back
Top