11/20 Lucian - Curve day

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
AMPS 289
+2 246
+4 186
+6 142
+8.25 83 - Cleaning house and lost track of time by 15 mins.
+10 104
+12 229 - I can live with that. :)
 
He only goes 12 hrs a few times a week. More often 10 to 11 hrs per cycle. But the numbers weren't too bad, just wish he'd stay under 250. But heck, wish I would too. ohmygod_smile
 
Okay wait, this is Lucian's curve? Nah can't be, where is the greeting from the meter?....lol

Oh for those of you that don't know, Lucian was a Lantus kitty first, then a Levemir kitty and did lousy on both L's thus why I'm teasing Deb. I still remember when Lucian would look beautiful for about 6 hours and then would race for the moon. Poor guy use to have more black on his spreadsheet than most Emo Goths have in their wardrobe.

Lucian is definitely our poster child for the saying around here, that the best insulin is the one your cat responds to. He's tried every flavor.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Don't forget the nickname from his Auntie Mel...."Predictably Unpredictable'. :lol:

Of course I messed up, after a really nice curve, apparently I gave him a fur shot last night. ohmygod_smile He was 446 this morning and these days he usually only does that with a fur shot. Remember when his fur shots were "HI"? At least it's an improvement over that. He does good if I can stay on his clock. Sometimes it gets away from me though or I give a FS. :YMSIGH:
 
Aw hon, they would all do better if we had a copy of their clocks, but I still think their's reads differently than ours. Autumn's certainly does, she just refuses to read the manual somedays I think her condo belongs over here, since she sure doesn't work Levemir like any Lev or Lantus other cat I've met, but I just play by her rules not mine or written protocol. She just threw me a 138 @ +4 of an 16 hour cycle. :roll: Now we need an ISG for the non-conformists lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Poor Baby-Girl Autumn! She has been trying forever to go to the falls! She REALLY wants to go!

Now Lucian? He has no intention! :lol: He's gonna keep me on my toes until one of us is pushing up daises! :lol:
 
An "Oddballs" group for the kitties that did not read the feline diabetes manual and the owners who get creative.
I like it.

But then, I'm the one who outraged more than a few folks by combining Lantus and ProZinc when Spitzer would vomit intermittently, so I couldn't raise the Lantus dose, but ProZinc alone didn't last long enough. I used a stable Lantus dose and added in some ProZinc when he was high. That was right before he threw the saddle thrombus and was euthanized, but it seemed like it was beginning to work.
 
Whatever it takes BJ. :thumbup More than few were buggin' ( as I'm sure you remember) when I was shooting every 8 hrs and throwing in some N, too. :lol: Eventually, we'll find what works for our extra sweet cats or at least works 'better'. ;-) Lucian is not where I wish he was, but he sure is doing better than he did for a year+.

Has not having a schedule been a PITA? You betcha! But when he comes up and grabs my arm with his paw for me to move it, so he can snuggle and curl up against me and give me kisses, it's worth every minute of sleep I've lost. I'd do it all over again in a split second! :-D
 
Thanks Terri, was a seriously rough first year to 18 months, but the PZI seems to set better with him. Now if I could just get him to eat a raw diet and get off even the small amount of carbs in his Friskee's Pate, I think he would do better. We're working on it and Lucian has shown, he will not be rushed. :lol:
 
They really do have a mind of their own!! If they don't want to do something then they are not going to do it!! :lol:
I also LOVE using Prozinc. Its so forgiving!!
 
With the PZI, it's been slow, but steady improvement over the last 10 months. Considering how poorly he did on Lantus and Levemir, I can live with it. :-D

Nice to see a blue preshot this afternoon, and at +12! WooHoo! flip_cat
 
:lol: Then he does the 'Lucian Jump'....from 176 to 344 in 30 mins! :o I swear he's over there chuckling, Yeah keep her on her toes. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top