11/20 Lincoln AMPS 317 +3.5 338, +7 376 PMPS 403, +3.5 382, +8.5 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lincolns Mom

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-313-3-5-270-8-241-pmps-335-5-373-ndw.168383/

Beyond pissed at myself this morning... after almost 2 years and i do a fur shot.. he was finally gaining ground.. he was finally moving into the yellows more and more.. and now i completely screw up the depot... too early in the morning for this many feelings.. just so mad at myself

Hoping all other beans out there are having better morning and the other sugar cats are getting their meds in full:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We all do those unfortunate FS so try not to be hard on yourself. Just put FS in the column where the AMPS units are. Has Lincoln always been on Lantus? Guess I overlooked his DX date of 3/2015.
 
Yes he has always been on lantus.. which gave me hope in the beginning for a remission... but now seeing as it took me so long to get the home meter and find you all... kinda figured in the back of my mind that i screwed up his chance at remission... its already been a long day it feels like and its only just began... already crying and cannot imagine what the numbers i will see today will be....
 
but now seeing as it took me so long to get the home meter and find you all... kinda figured in the back of my mind that i screwed up his chance at remission
It took me about 5 months to find the board and 3 months to get a meter. Doodles started on Vetsulin the first 2 months with zero home testing and only a spot check every 2 weeks at the vet. Only he knows how many times he was hypoglycemic. We ended at the emergency with a BG reading of 30 on an AT meter. He was switched to Lantus then and we started periodically home testing. The IM vet gave me a sliding scale with dosing for Lantus based on the preshot. That went on for a good 3 months all while his neuropathy was horrible and each vet gave me different feeding/food advise mainly on a 12/12 schedule. The guilt I have through out this whole experience will always be in my gut. So basically I understand where you are. We're glad you're here now and Lincoln is lucky to have you. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
could i give him even 1u - im worried how high he is going to go today??
No because you really don't know if/how much insulin he may have gotten. 5u is a pretty good size depot so he may not go as high as you think. If you want to shoot a little early today you can.
 
he loves food... gotta stop him from taking others lol... how early would be too early?
That depends on how far off schedule you want to be...maybe 1 or 2 hours early? Realistically for me I will only allow to be off schedule by an hour because Doodles does not like change.

ETA: This is not accurate information...my brain was thinking more as if it was a skip. My apologies.

Have you thought any more about getting him tested for Acro & IAA?
 
Last edited:
I have thought about it some more... just waiting to see what happens with DH and work... if given a choice of between the test and more insulin i would pick more insulin... hoping they land some more work soon
 
if given a choice of between the test and more insulin i would pick more insulin
That's a good choice. Not to upset you any more today but he looks Acro to me. Not all Acro's have IAA though. The test would only confirm one way or another but doesn't change the treatment much. You're doing great with him and hope he feels good most days. That's what's important.
 
Amber please don't be too hard on yourself! I have done this same thing many times. It's nice though the cats rebound. Hopefully you got some in him and his numbers will come down.:bighug::bighug:
 
Can i ask... is it his numbers or something about the way he looks that makes you say he looks acro? could his numbers reflect more glucouse toxisity because of the last almost 2 years not getting the dose right? i brought it up the vets 6 months ago as a fear and they told me that they didnt think he had it cause of his physical appearance... feel horrible right now that his and i dance with this may never end... i just wanted to do everything i could to make him healthy again
 
Many acros appearance don't start changing for a very long time. It is his SS that makes me suspicious and I don't think it's glucose toxicity. Acros are also known for a hearty appetite too which is why I asked earlier.

Does he take any other medications?
 
Regardless of what might be keeping his numbers where they are you will find the break though dose. Remember he loves you and you're doing a great job with him.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
IMG_0355.JPG
I find coloring can be therapeutic in situations such as your morning...:joyful::p:bighug:
 
+7 376... acting normal... normally acts scared, hides and hisses when numbers go high.... but acting like himself... sitting on his chair in the man cave... letting me pet him... purring... really considering shooting an hour early

add to all of this... Savannah my IBD kitty, x2 pancreatitis, is not acting like herself today... didnt eat breakfast... got her to eat something later... is peeing and drinking.. and cuddling now.... something just feels off with her and normally i am never wrong with her... found her at 6 weeks old under my greenhouse.. 3/4lb..... both eyes glued shut from conjectivitis... upper respiratory infection... 14 years old now and every time she gets sick i can just tell something is wrong... hoping she starts acting more like herself soon today.... i keep telling them only one health crisis at a time or momma is going to go crazy lol
 
really considering shooting an hour early
I think you'll be fine to shoot 30m - 1 hour early. We usually recommend just 30min otherwise it could act like an increase. With Lincoln I'm not sure shooting an hour early would make a huge difference and should be ok. Then if you want to work your way back on schedule you can do so 30min once a day or 15 min twice a day. Here is the post about getting back on schedule for your reference. Shooting Schedule_Getting Back On Time . Good to hear he's acting normal and happy.


Savannah my IBD kitty, x2 pancreatitis, is not acting like herself today
I'm sorry little Savannah isn't feeling like herself and hope it passes soon. Not sure if you're a member of the IBDKitty facebook page but they are a wonderful group of people and super knowledgeable.
 
+11 he tested at 403 so i shot early ... will now move it forward 15mins at a time the next few cycles... hope he starts coming down... really dont want to see more red
 
Amber,never give up hope for remission! There have been kitties that go into remission after 3 + years! And about the FS, gosh, I did almost 3 in a row one time! I still hold my breath while giving injections as to not do the dreaded FS. The most experienced caregivers have that happen to them. Cut yourself a break and congratulate yourself that you are here to get more info and you are a wonderful bean!
 
(((Amber))) giving you lots of virtual hugs today. I have lots of experience in feeling bad after a fur shot.:oops: Best to set aside a fur shot jar and toss a loonie in every time you get one. Then when it amounts to enough, buy yourself some chocolate or wine or whatever helps spoil you. :bighug::bighug: Don't worry, Lincoln will recovery soon enough.

As for testing for acromegaly, we don't usually suggest it until cats get to 6 units. As Bobbie can attest, some cats just need more insulin than others. Bubba didn't get to six units before turning it around, but close. Having said that, the latest research on acromegaly from the Royal Veterinary College says that one in four diabetic cats has acromegaly. Neko has it, as well as IAA (insulin auto antibodies). That same RVC research found acrocats on doses ranging from 1-35 units, with an average of 7 units. The testing in Canada is also more pricey than in the U.S. mostly because of the shipping costs, the blood has to be send to Michigan State University for testing. There is a "look" to spreadsheets for cats with IAA, but not so much with acromegaly. Speaking of looks, more RVC research showed that around only 30% of acrocats had physical symptoms on diagnosis. Neko's only symptom was eye tearing (from soft tissue growth blocking the tear ducts), though we didn't know that was a symptom at the time, and sensitivity to bright light. Pretty subtle signs. Oh, and insatiable hunger. But unregulated cats will also be hungry most of the time.

Sending vines for Savannah.
 
Hi Amber,

Just want to send you a little encouragement. It's hard having your kitty not responding to insulin like you would want them to. Hang in there - and hang in here. You'll get him into better numbers. Every cat has a dose that will move them, and it's not uncommon to have it look like not too much is happening, then when you hit the sweet spot in dose suddenly things start to improve.

Not to worry about the fur shots - everyone does them. Kitties get back on track fairly quickly.

Just to clarify about the schedule, since you shot an hour early this evening, you can go back to shooting at your regular shot time in the morning. Moving by small increments is most important when you're shooting earlier than 12 hours. For my own sanity, when the time was going the other way, like you are doing now, you can just make tonight a 13 hour cycle and be back on track in the morning.

In other words, it's most important to be mindful of the time when you are shooting less than 12 hours because shooting early can increase the overlap between the end of one shot and the beginning of the next shot. That can act as a slight dose increase. There are times when that can be a helpful tool, but if a kitty is running all in green then one might want to think twice about shooting early, hence the link that Karen gave you that is a little more cautious with changing the shooting schedule. In your case, I think your choice to shoot early tonight was a good one and I don't think it will hurt anything if you just move to your regular time tomorrow.

Hope that helps a bit.
 
Hi there,

Black Kitty was the first kitty here at the FDMB to get tested for IAA (insulin auto antibodies). After he tested negative for both Acro and Cushings, testing for IAA was a last ditch effort to figure out why, in spite of ever increasing doses he was swimming in a relentless sea of pink. The IAA result was 84%- extreme insulin resistance. He was The last cat anyone thought would go into remission. Yet, after 21 months on insulim he did just that.

I've had my fair share of fur shots- even back to back. They happen. Don't be too hard on yourself. Good that you landed here. This is the very best place you could be.

I would wait until Lincolns dose gets notth of 6u before testing for high dose conditions.

Hang in there and hang in here. :cool:
 
Hello Sandy and thank you -- you give me hope for my Lincoln... and that is awesome to see remission after IAA and that much time... everyone i was seeing going into remission seemed like only 3-5 months on insulin so i thought i really messed up... all the encouragement on this site is amazing :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top