11/20 Jazzy and Lucy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby and Lucy

Member Since 2009
Just a quick oldtimers condo from the Land of Sugar Meezers!

Jazzy is doing great. Her dose keeps going up up up. Was 14u BID of Lantus, which I reduced slightly to 12u when we started Lev. She now goes through a vial a month! She is nicely regulated, though. My target for her is to be in blue all the time, or for sure under about 220. She's almost there. Since most of the high dose cats are on Lev, I decided to switch her to Levemir this week. She is still shed building, but so far she looks just as good on Lev as she did on Lantus. This weekend will be a data gathering weekend to try to get an idea of her Lev curve. Jazzy is not pleased at the prospect of data gathering, but she IS pleased about the fact that she will get extra chicken treats for it.

Jazzy has been pretty grumpy this week and I wonder if she is having headaches. It could be just because the cooler weather is making my other cats more hyper, and she gets scared when they go thundering by. However, on Thursday night (first Lev cycle) I got up in the middle of the night to test her, and she was ALL purrs at 4:30 in the morning! I guess that is where she has been hiding her purrs. Too bad I won't be seeing them again any time soon. I don't DO 4:30am!

Lucy is wonderful, as always. I don't have a test number to report. She wants me to test her! It's a PITA sometimes trying to test Jazzy when Lucy gets in the way. :lol: She is funny and purry and lately has become even more talkative.

I hope everyone has a happy Caturday! I want to head down to the Charleston Farmers Market to do some Christmas shopping (lots of local artists set up there in addition to the farmers and food vendors). I'm pretty warm and comfortable at home, though, so I might not make it out. We'll see!
 
Great report for Jazzy. I wish you well on the Levemir! :razz: Hope you are feeling well Libby....
Happy Saturday....it is so good to see your post! :mrgreen:
 
a chatty meezer - what are the odds? :lol:

the Charleston market sounds like fun. I heading out to the supermarket, won't be fun at all.

have a good Saturday Libby.
 
what a great report!
(gonna have to make sure binks doesn't read it though...such a comedown for the kids when they realize that MOM thinks they are a gifted artist, but the world may not.) :lol:

enjoy the marketplace!

celi & binks
 
Nice report on Jazzy. I hope the Lev works well for her. Lucy wants to be tested? :shock: Or just wants your attention? :roll:
 
I am not quite sure what others are using for headaches, but I have tried keeping bupe on hand, and also tramadol seemed to give Ollie a nice buzz. I know others have gabapentin I think for pain.

Carolyn had mentioned that when Ollie head butts in a certain fashion against my hand he may be feeling a bit under the weather. He does not do it often, but I have noticed that he does have grumpy times and will go off into the bedroom where it's cool and dark and he sticks his head under the bed - I have taken that as his headaches because I do the same thing... maybe he's copying me!

I don't know how to know for sure, but just the tiniest bit of bupe seems to visibly relax him and he usually joins the general population shortly after.

A half of a 50mgtab made Ollie into a drunken sailor, but a 1/4 for Shadoe seemed to be just fine for her.
 
Always good to hear about Jazzy and Lucy. Man...that's alot of juice for Jazzy...And a whole vial.....Glad to hear she is doing so well....Of course she is doing well....She's got you as her bean. :mrgreen:

Jazzy....just focus on the treats.....and breathe during the poking.


Lucy...silly girl....no pokes for you young lady. All done.


Libby...have a good day....either in or out.
 
AMPS 187
+3.5 ~ 181

A little story: Lucy's (and my) favorite junk food breffis treat are Chickin Minis from Chick-Fil-A. We don't have it very often anymore, but it used to always be fun on Saturday mornings because Lucy would have her little bite of chicken and then ZOOOOOOOM around the house. Good stuff, man! This morning we had Chickin Minis and now Jazzy is PLAYING! All by herself, with a little mousie. She played for several minutes. Yaaaaaaay Jazzy!
 
I think you should clip out that little bit about Lucy wanting to be tested and put it into every reply to every newbie who thinks they will NEVER get testing down. I now find that when I do Basil once a month, he purrs when I open the drawer with the testing kit in it, and he peers into the box with great curiosity and I would have to say fondness or nostalgia (just to humanize it a bit). When I am done, he is in no hurry to leave my lap!

Good luck with the Levemir. I hope it's the ticket for Jazzy.
 
Great report on Jazzy and Lucy. Chicken minis....LLOOOVEEEE THEM!!! Thankfully the closest Chik Fil A to us is too far for me to drive for breffis!!

That is alot of juice...here's hoping the Lev will do even better things for Jazzy. Have a great day, Libby! Hope you are feeling well, too!
 
Yay on the playing Jazzy :-D Guess you'll be trying the chicken minis on Saturday mornings, more often, huh Libby?
Please, num num, says the kitties :-D

Good luck on the insulin change. Hope Jazzy enjoys her extra treats today.

And, 4:30am is not the middle of the night, it's the beginning of the day :-D around here, anyways :lol:

Have a great day Libby, and Lucy, and Jazzy, and the rest of the family.
 
AMPS 187
+3.5 ~ 181
+6 ~ 162
+7 ~ 171
+9 ~ 182

Now THAT is a flat curve. :mrgreen: (anti-jinx)

I can't believe I've gotten this many tests in and Jazzy is still speaking to me. Usually she bites if I try to do more than a couple of extra pokes in a day. I'm sure it doesn't hurt that I opened a brand new fresh bag of treats today. She's actually in a pretty good mood today.
 
YAY! We have a Lucy and Jazzy Condo! How cool is that! I gotta get me some of those chicken minis - anything to get these guys moving... :-D I don't suppose that they deliver to the other side of the US. :lol: :lol:

God luck with the Lev - I hope it works for her.

Make it to the market? sounds really nice...
 
Its really nice to hear that Jazzy played today! She must have really like those Chicken Mini's! :-D And I'm glad to hear that Lucy is having long conversations with you. You're an awesome bean, Libby!
 
Isn't it wonderful when they start to play? I still grin from ear to ear every time I see Tinkles play... :-D

I hope the Lev agrees with Jazzy, it sure seems like it does so far!
 
Hi Libby,

So glad that the kitties are doing so well. I love to watch them play too. I see 4:30 everyday because I get up at 3:30. :smile: But it must be nice to sleep through those hours.

Have a nice night.

jan and sara
 
Great to see a condo and report from you. Glad Jazzy is doing well with the Lev. Hope you made it to the Farmer's Market. Maybe you will start a weekly "Oldtimers" condo.

Cooler weather here has the animals feeling a little friskie.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Kitties zooming around the house after eating Chic-Fil-A? Makes you wonder what they put in that stuff!!


I was going to say the same thing. Too bad we don't have any around here.
I would just love to see Max zooming around.

Great report Libby. I always love to hear how your gang is doing.
 
Yup, that Chick-Fil-A must really be something! Great report, Libby. Glad that the Lev. is working for Jazzy. Is it a lot different from Lantus? Rusty is on Lev. and I will have to learn how it works.
Have a great Thanksgiving and maybe Jazzy will like turkey, too.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top