11/20 Gracie PMPS67 +1 45 +3 69 +4 74 +7 88 +11 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30168

Recap:
6th cycle @ 1.25u
AMPS: 470
+1: vet visit
+2.5: 363
+4: 270
+6: 192
+7: 199
7th cycle @ 1.25u
PMPS: 339
+1: 350
+2: 348
+4: 350


Happy Pre-Thanksgiving Caturday Lantus Land!! I hear the kitties are all cooking up a snowboarding trip to bring up Bink's spirits and bring down his slightly pinkish number! Gracie told me the OTJ party for Savannah was spectacular 'cept everyone had to keep an eye out for Tess...she kept wanting to dive into any water she saw. Savannah looked beautiful (as usual) and the food.....INCREDIBLE...another amazing NCIC Mannie meal!! CONGRATS SAVANNAH!!

WCR: I think she is much better this morning but it's hour by hour depending on the eye drops/ointment. She obviously feels better when they are still in the effective range but I, unfortunately, can only give them to her four times a day. Still doing the warm eye compresses and I think that helps. 4Ps in place and she's so cuddly/purry this morning, my sweet girl. They all already had a fresh home-grown catnip party this morning...the girls have to try to get the catnip rubbed all over their faces before the boys eat it :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW, started a new pen this morning. The former one only had about .5 ml left in it because I've been having such a travesty getting all the bubbles out of the syringes and so I redraw..wasting precious juice. ANYWAY...I had just uncapped the pen when a hawk chased a dove into the back picture window (KA BOOM) and I turned suddenly and the pen went flying out of my hand and hit the cabinets on the other side of the kitchen with a WHACK!! So...not knowing what that might have done to the lantus as it was flying end over end across the kitchen :lol: :lol: , I just started a new pen. I have ordered the Monoject syringes as several of you said they don't have so much bubble trouble.

Have a wonderful day...it's a beauty here in Tucson...a doors and windows open day!!
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255

She's headed down already at +1, looking good for blue today.
ohmygod_smile on the pen, but at least it was almost used up. I dropped a brand new one when I was first starting and was panicked. Everyone here told me not to worry, and they were right. it worked just fine.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255

binksy armstrong checking in with a gracie song...

"jeepers, creepers...
gracie's got sore peepers.
Great Cat Above Us...
please help this sweet girl's eyes!"
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255

Oh my that would have made me jump sky high too. So sorry Gracie's having problems with her eyes. It's frustrating to see them suffer. Hope she has a better day and her numbers come down for you. Healing light to her.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210

Morning Marjorie - I'm betting since her mama is there to take care of her today she'll just do better and better. You have had a hectic week, girl. Nice to see you get some time off.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210

Ann...well, good to know....I was just thinking when I did it of Sienne's experience with the pharm clerk who manhandled her pens and a couple of them were bad. Like you said, at least in my case, there wasn't much left due to my ineptitude. I did get a much better draw today w/few bubbles.

Celi...so great to have you back...love the song!! Aunt Celi....dat song makes me feels besser already!!

Two things that Jill suggested that have really helped ME are (1) keep track of not only the % food I give her but the brand/flavor of food as not all 4%s are created equal AND (2) get +1s to see how those foods are affecting her BG. What I have found is that, while feeding the 1% foods at AMPS keeps her from getting a food spike, she also drops fast. Some of the 3-4% foods actually do cause her to have a 50 "pt" spike at +1. It seems that Wellness 4% foods (chicken, turkey, beef/chicken) neither give her a food spike nor allow her to go crashing down as long as I am feeding them starting at AMPS. WN is not her favorite...but she will eat it. So today I've been feeding WN chicken since AMPS and she's just coming down slowly. Mike and I would be happy if this is what we see....a gradually dropping AMPS/PMPS and flatter blue; yes, we'd like green but if we can just get her flatter, if we have to up the dose a bit, it would help. Perhaps she is also starting to settle into this dose now and not experiencing numbers that cause those horrible red bounces (yesterday made me apoplectic!!). All speculation I surmise but who knows??

eta: You got that right, Kathy....see note above :lol: :lol:
Kim: I think her eyes are feeling better which helps and it doesn't hurt to have mama around!!! Have a great day.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255

Good Morning Tuscon,

I love having the window and doors open, even if its a lil cold, just air's everything out ;-) Okay if its raining here, does that mean its headed your way? ;-) Crapola Wow what a day Gracie had yesterday, can I just say Crapola one more time LOL.... Im sure it was just as stressfull on you guys toooo... Gracie feel better baby, let the ointment due its thing, she doesnt try to clean it off?

A few things I still dont understand..... 1. How cats,furbabies,kitties, cant digest there own fur, when its their instint to clean themselves...... 2. Why cant they just tell us when it hurts, or something isnt right.
Just never understood those things.... LOL

Gracie ~ feel better girlfriend, and I bet those warm compresses feel REALLLLLY GOOD..... Oh "fresh" catnip, isnt that just the best ever ~ Essi
 

Attachments

  • 634150833871713670.jpg
    634150833871713670.jpg
    36.1 KB · Views: 1,744
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210

Danette: thanks for your post and the cute picture...Gracie is a catnipaholic!! Yes..the numbers yesterday were not what I wanted to see but between a bounce and probably pain in her eyes, I at least was glad she got into some blue. She doesn't wipe the ointment off as I usually just use a warm baby cloth to get the residual away from her eyes. The ointment we are using now is just to allow her to open her eyes without it hurting....it soothes the eyelid (which is what is inflamed altho I can't tell that it is). Ditto on the questions!!!
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210

Marjorie I forgot to mention that I was using Monoject and also some BD. FWIW I had a terrible problem getting bubbles out and filling the upper area of the barrel. Where the end of the plunger is there is a peaked area that is so hard to get the air out. Can't count the number of syringes I threw away or insulin I wasted trying to get the infernal bubble out. :-x
Two things made a big difference. One, was getting the Relion syringes. Their barrel and plunger are designed better. Two, the hint about holding in the plunger when putting it into the stopper on the pen made a huge difference. Now I draw up less insulin because the bubbles are easy to get out and I have much less waste. My first syringe was almost empty in 40 days. This one has hardly gone down much. I used to love Monoject when I worked in the hospital it was my favorite syringe to draw up insulin. Not any more they have changed. :sad:
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160

Kathy....thanks. I actually started on the Relion syringes and did not like them at all...I found the plungers to be uneven in width and so it was difficult to microdose. Who knows...I may go back to those. That's interesting about the monoject because I've had more people tell me they get less bubbles with those. Guess we'll see. I have been trying to slowly slowly draw out the juice and it was better today.

Kim...just my experiments; I know you feed Shadow on an hourly basis right? LC? I just have to be sure I get Gracie fairly full before her nadir so she can surf.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160

Lets see some blue today, Gracie! I hope she's feeling better soon, Marjorie. I recently switched from Relion syringes to Monoject, but I also ordered GNP syringes and they look identical to the Monoject. I haven't tried the GNP yet, but I know that Sienne likes the GNP and they were a couple bucks cheaper. The Monoject are way better than the Relion. I'm sorry I didn't switch sooner. Sorry about that new pen. You never know, it might still be okay. Have a great day, Marjorie!
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160

Isn't it funny how just as ECID, EHID when it comes to our experiences with supplies :lol: I had wanted to try the GNP but am doing OK with Relion. You are correct about how the end of plunger looks uneven but I use the side of the syringe to measure dose so I won't see it. ;-) These tiny doses are so challenging as it is. In the end we all have to find what works for us.
Gracie's wanting green :mrgreen:cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160

Am I ever late in getting to your condo today - so much going on here too. :-D

a gorgeous day in Tuscon? NICE! We had a sun break this AM - for about 4 hours: 38, sunny, beautiful. We await the snow that i suppose to be here tomorrow. I can't remember the last day I had the doors and windows open. :lol:

I hope things are getting better for Gracie's eyes. Sounds like it is.

Too funny, well maybe not, on the flying pen this morning... another great pen/syringe discussion. EHID too. Been using BD syringes from the get go - never much of a problem with them. The pens are a hit and a miss. I like them better than the vials, but the bubbles are such a pain. I find I do better if I draw very slowly, 100 % vertical,and wait for the pressure to equalize - alot of times if I wait the pen will suck up the air bubble. all such a blast, isn't it?

and another good food discussion. :-D true on the foods and their %'s - I've added it to my SS - great tool! and so true on the +1.

Nice to see Gracie making that slow slide into the blues. GO GRACIE!

Hey Gracie - you are one cool snowboarder - but the ski-jumping? WOW - and look at you fly and flip and turn and spin... :cool: Way too cool. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160 +6 124

marjorie hi it's lori! i have been homebound for a week with a nasty flu and total laryingytis.
so this is my only form of entertainment...and your thread never dissapoints.
do you realize the entire rest of the board is as dead as a door nail?
sad.
i'll just cruz around here.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160 +6 124

Ele...looks like she will have a nice blue surf and I hope she continues it through later in the cycle instead of popping up. If I could get a lower PMPS, we might see something good tonight. I have to wonder if the eye situation isn't keeping her BG just a tiny elevated. I did look at the GNP syringes and noted they were just a bit cheaper than the Monoject so I went with the latter simply because I'd heard more people say they liked the MJ. I know Anne switched to BD about the same time that I did and she wasn't that happy with them.

Kathy..absolutely EHID...that's why some of us like the shorter needles, other like the longer. I've heard it's easier to give fur shots with the longer and Gracie didn't even like the 30g needles...she doesn't even flinch with the 31g so I have to stick with the shorter needles. I'm not sure if I understand the issue about better absorption because the difference in needle length is not that much and I wouldn't think people are sticking a 1/2" needle all the way into the cat...are they??? I suppose they could if they got a really nice tent as long as they didn't go through. Gracie is so plush that it's hard to get a huge tent on her and I don't want to be squirting juice out the other side :lol: :lol:

Lori...I've been meaning to call you!! I'm so sorry you're sick and glad you find some entertainment here but it seemed to me a little boring on my condo today because Mister Humor...Mike...is working!! Would love to talk to you..sorry about the laryngitis!! I hope you feel better soon. Hope Tom Tom is good!

Michelle....yes, a gorgeous day; I'm trying to putter in the backyard between tests...the summer got us good this year so I'm finally getting around to putting some things back out for fall. 38 during the day? :shock: I'd be in my long johns :lol: :lol: I appreciate your tips on the insulin drawing....I went super slow today and got no bubbles but I'm going to try for the pressure to equalize before I w/d the syringe and see if that helps, too. Yes...I'm glad she's in blue...at least she's in a healing range after all that pink yesterday but I need her to be in it LONGER.
Mannie I'm so good at flips and stuff cause I practices my gymnastics every day!! I love doing handstands in my wooden trash can. Had so much fun today!!
 

Attachments

  • catnastics-543.jpg
    catnastics-543.jpg
    24.5 KB · Views: 1,526
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +2 210 +4 160 +6 124 +8 98

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Took awhile!!! But green is green. Now stay down Baby Girl and have a nice blue PMPS!!
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie AMPS 264 +1 255 +6 124 +8 98 +12 30 HELP

Stalling for 15---she is at 30!!! Do I stall/retest or feed...Libby said feed the 40s
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 HELP

Libby..thank God you are there...feeding.

Ok....the shock has worn off. She's eating. Do I keep testing every 15 so I can hopefully shoot tonight? I don't want to mess up her shed.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

we'll have to stall until we know that whatever rise we see is not just food spike. How much did you feed? Yes, you are supposed to feed 30's, I'm just wondering so we can know what kind of rise to expect.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

I fed her 2 tsp 4% (because I had it ready) with 1 tsp 9% gravy...she will skyrocket with much more than 9%.

I can't believe this number....she was coming down SLOW today and I gave her a snack at +6; I didn't test her because I'd been testing every two hours and tho't by +8 she had hit her nadir...with her eye inflammation, I've been trying to go easy on her unless she was really in the green.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

good. Get the 15 minute test just to be sure she is bumping up, but we'll wait for a significant rise before shooting. How long can we stall tonight before making a total mess of your schedule?
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

Schedule doesn't matter because we're both home all week so we can get her back on. Retesting at 45 after hour.

eta: she seems ok...drinking a little water and stretching.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

more gravy would be good. Probably the low carb hasn't kicked in yet. A little more gravy wouldn't hurt. I wouldn't add karo, it's probably not necessary this late in the cycle. The important thing was to make sure she had stopped dropping, though we do want to get her out of the 30s.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

wow! I won't get in the way - you're in good hands... welcome to the been in the 30's at shoot time club. you'll be fine - as will Gracie. remember your training... :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

OH MY!!! I stopped into your condo because I saw the +12 heading of 30, then was reading and thought, oh, maybe a typo...then....Yeppers, I see that 30 and it's not a typo at all!! Didn't expect that at all did you??
But, you know what to do and you will do great! I think Gracie just wanted a little gravy to help with her sore eyes......
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

ummmm that's what i thought too. like maybe she meant 12:30
oh marjorie what a set of BOS you have developed. amazing. and to think...this is going to be shot at this evening at some point. :shock: have you called dh yet to share the "HOLY COW" moment? :lol:
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

I would wait another 15 - 20 min. and retest. You want to see if her numbers will stay up without the help of the HC.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

Hey Deb and Lori....Mike called me as I was warming da gravy!! He's said more than HOLY COW :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

Sienne....thanks...cross posted. Are you taking over for Libby? I never gave Grace any HC...just 4% food w/9% gravy. So no feeding..we just want to see if she'll come up now right?
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

Thanks Libby....she's right here...seems to be ok. I'm breathing :lol: :lol: :lol:

Michelle...so..."been in the 30s at shoot time" club...is that supposed to be an honor? ;-)
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30

Nope. Not taking over. I'm in between craziness at my conference and checking in to see that Gracie is keeping you on your toes. I'm here as a bit of back up and support.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.95 60

Sienne...Thank you...I know you have more fun things to do.

Ok...she's at 60 at +12.95 did not feed the 53.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.55 60

let me get this straight marjorie, gracie tests in at 30 bgs +12 and you decide to 'warm the gravy' before her highness licks it up :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.55 60

good. I would feel more comfortable waiting just a bit longer before shooting, to be sure this is a real rise and not just from the food. Sound ok to you?

oh, and when you do shoot, dosecrease! I would do a 0.25 reduction because of the 30.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.55 60

It was in the FRIG..it was cold and she doesn't like it cold :lol: :lol: :lol: After all....I owed her that after being a TRES negligent mamabean today. :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.95 60

Libby....I have to do a dosecrease? Or am I doing a BCS? I've been wanting Gracie to earn her reductions more and she hasn't done anything much with this dose yet....uh...until tonight but if I had been monitoring her, this wouldn't have happened. Not being argumentative...I just don't want to go down then up etc...
But I will do what you think is best for her....she just hasn't been holding reductions so I was wanting to switch to the three separate cycles below 50 routine. I trust your judgement though...just wanted to update you on what we wanted to try so she'd hold the reduction.

So retest 15 or 20 after last test? And will you tell me at what number to shoot?
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.95 60

Looking good Marjorie - Mannie decided he wanted to see what Gracie was up too - and went looking for her. :shock: great - now she's higher than he is... :lol:

and the 30's club? :lol: :lol: more of a right of passage, and with that come that comes the honor. :cool:
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.95 60

yes, you have to do a dosecrease for a 30. Any time they go under 40 you have to reduce. If you don't want to do a full reduction you can do a skinny since you monitor a lot.

Probably the next test will be shootable. I just like to be convinced that she's not going to head right back to the 30s as soon as the food wears off.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.95 60

see marjorie that's where this protocol always confuses me...how do you truly know when a cat would go under 40 since there is so much 'steering' and in that case how is it ever a valid dip below 40. the way you guys do it the dose, unsteered, would likely give a bg of 20. and btw, i don't expect you to answer that. at least not tonight.
 
Re: 11/20 Gracie +12 30 +12.95 60

+13.25 she's at 67....so a skinny 1.25u? I can definitely live with that. Haven't fed for an hour. Got lots of strips and pokeys and will be here all night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top