11/20 Gizmo PMPS 139, +1=160, +2=166, +3=202, +4=205, +8=247

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
I knew that sucker wasn't going to let me sleep. We are holding right now.

Advise??? I can't shot this low.

11/19 thread

See post #42 for summary of information.
 
Last edited:
He also missed his +6 feeding - I suspect he slept through it. So it has been 8 hours since he ate. He did eat a few of the freeze dry snacks sometime after midnight. (he is on an autofeeder).
 
According to SLGS you wouldn't give insulin with a PS this low. But I'd hate for Gizmo to lose momentum. People on TR shoot PS numbers this low. Most of the time when you shoot a green PS number, the cat surfs. They don't normally give you big drops with low PS numbers like they do with higher PS numbers.

However, you have to do what you are comfortable doing. If you decide to give any insulin, do you have plenty of testing supplies and HC food. Are you able to monitor all day?

You can consider a reduced dose, but the depot will still be in play and you'll still need to monitor.
 
If you skip this morning, you won't need to monitor all day, but you will need to test for a couple of hours because of the depot.

If you decide you want to try a reduced dose, I'd go with 1.0 units.
 
I shot greens before with Furball. I modified SLGS to take reductions at 50 because she didn't hold reductions at 90. If it was me, I'd shoot the 1.75 dose and get a test in 30 min. That way you can see what he does with a green PS.
 
If you test again and he's still dropping I don't think I'd shoot the full dose. I like the idea of 1.0 in that case. Drain the depot a little. If he's steady or rising, shoot 1.5 - he's earned a reduction with that drop under 90.

Where the heck did that come from? He was yellow all night!
 
It's up to you if you want to shoot the new dose of 1.5 or do a BCS. Either way, you'll need to monitor closely, as there is still a depot. When you do shoot, remember that your next shot time should be no less than 11.5 hours after this one.
 
According to SLGS, Gizmo earned a reduction this morning back to 1.5 units because he is below 90. That is what Tricia is referring to as the new dose. A BCS is "Big Chicken Shot" or a reduced dose. That is the 1.0 units.
 
If you are not comfortable shooting the 1.5 units, it is okay to shoot the reduced dose of 1.0 units. You'll still need to monitor today either way. He is most likely going to bounce tonight.
 
A BCS, as Carla mentioned, is a one-time reduced dose, taken if you are not comfortable shooting the regular dose for some reason.

If you have not shot yet, I am starting to think you need to consider skipping this shot. I don't like that Gizmo is still dropping. If you really, really want to shoot, I'd recommend a token dose of no more than .5 at this point. This is me being very cautious. I'm going to see if any other veterans are up yet to give you some more input. Be right back.
 
Please be sure to monitor closely, Lizzie. As Carla said, a +1 and a +2 for sure to see where this is headed. It could be that, after eating, he'll come up and all this concern will be for nothing.

I'm sorry, but I have to go to bed now. This is late, even for me (4am). I have sent out an SOS to some other veterans, so hopefully someone will be dropping by. Carla, will you able to keep an eye on things for a while?
 
Please be sure to monitor closely, Lizzie. As Carla said, a +1 and a +2 for sure to see where this is headed. It could be that, after eating, he'll come up and all this concern will be for nothing.

I'm sorry, but I have to go to bed now. This is late, even for me (4am). I have sent out an SOS to some other veterans, so hopefully someone will be dropping by. Carla, will you able to keep an eye on things for a while?
Thanks. Get some good rest.
 
I think the not eating the +6 drove him down. He seems to be doing better (more alert) this morning, of course he was "starving" for the hour we waited. He just went up stairs and used the litter box.

Around 2:00am (somewhere around there) he woke me up yowling - I ran down stairs and he was sitting at the bottom of the stairs. Alert. I scouped him up and took him upstairs. Put him next to the liter box (he didn't use) and went back to bed. I was a walking zombie. I got back in bed and turned out the lights. He got in bed with me and was laying beside me purring when I fell back to sleep.

Wish I had the mind to have tested then.
 
Last edited:
Wish I had the mind to have tested then.
We've all had that experience. Hindsight is 20/20. I'm sure he's going to be fine.

I'm really going now. Nite nite.
28.gif
 
Going to put all the reading up to this point here so it is easy for others

4:21a 75, 4:28a 70, 4:50a 75, 5:02a 63, 5:21a 69, 5:43a 59,

5:43a is AMPS shot 1.5U (reduced from 1.75 increase from last night).
 
Hey Lizzie, I just got caught up and I am leaving for a few hours but will check in with you. Carefully monitor since you shot a lower number than ever and steer with food. If would be okay to give a little LC as often as necessary to keep him surfing and if he starts to drop below 50 bring out the HC gravy.

As far as the meter turning off, mine does that to me too sometimes. :banghead: Try not putting the strip all the way down and see if that helps. I'll be back in a few hours to look in on you.
 
Hey Lizzie, I just got caught up and I am leaving for a few hours but will check in with you. Carefully monitor since you shot a lower number than ever and steer with food. If would be okay to give a little LC as often as necessary to keep him surfing and if he starts to drop below 50 bring out the HC gravy.

As far as the meter turning off, mine does that to me too sometimes. :banghead: Try not putting the strip all the way down and see if that helps. I'll be back in a few hours to look in on you.
Thanks Bobbie. We are doing ok. I have issues with the F-3 strips. I even broke out the new (back up) meter and tried using it. Never been an issue - but never tested this low. I am going to run out and grab another pack of 100 strips (just opened new pack last night). I hope they are the F-4 strips - I have no issues at all with them.
 
He's come up a little. I'd test again in another 30 min. Keep updating your subject line so others can see. I agree with Bobbie about feeding a teaspoon of LC to keep him surfing. I need to take a nap for a while. I'll check back in as soon as I can. Others should be getting on the board soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top