11/20 Crushy pmps 125 +2 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108482&p=1147084#p1147084

Thanks for all the support yesterday. It was a tough one!

He was in pink #s all night but seems better today overall. His eyes are not as glassy and he's not as jumpy. He doesnt look pleased though. I can tell its still painful. He's eating ok which is good but he keeps wandering off into the other room. Normally he is more social and cuddly but its understandable why he may need his space today. He doesnt seem as loopy which is good. I guess it was the anesthesia and not the Bupe that was making him loopy yesterday.

Im feeding him Wellness Core beef for now. Its very smooth with little to no chunks of anything and it mixes with water well.
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy amps 321

I think the day after the procedure may be the worst day for them. As i recall I think I spaced the bupe doses closer that day giving another dose at 8 or 9 hours instead of 12. I felt like he needed it.

I am sure you are but mixing in extra water helps..make it really soupy. And warm in micro if needed..sprinkle w/ chicken dust, etc..
Also don't forget the baby food..Gerber stage 2, meat and broth (only) It is a very souffle-like consistency....easy for them to eat plus I think they really like the smell.
Hank was completely off to himself post surgery...he spent endless hours in his carrier. I wouldn't worry yet, but know you are keeping a close eye on him. He just needs some recovery time.
Glad he is eating..that's a good thing. Is he still hovering around the water?

Did you get any sleep?

Hope he feels better and better soon!
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy amps 321

no he is not hovering around the water anymore.
someone mentioned that might actually be nausea caused by the anesthesia...it makes them think they are thirsty

he is in nice yellow #s today though! :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy amps 321 +2 280 +3 269

I like the nice gradual descent today. Paws crossed the "flatness" is the new Crushy. Good to hear that he's eating regular canned food well.
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy amps 321 +2 280 +3 269

thanks you guys
its early to tell I think but Im hoping its the new pattern too
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy amps 321 +2 280 +3 269 +6 237 +10 132

What's that blue at +10???.......late nadir? :?
Very nice but strange, no?
(is this gonna be another what the what?)

So how he is he doing?...did he have a pretty good day?
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125

thanks you guys
he does seem to be feeling a bit better. Still sore, but improved

125 pre shot
he's been on a gentle downward curve all day....
I feel like Im in uncharted territory here

I guess go ahead and give the full 2 units tonight?
Im scheduled to shoot in about 10 minutes
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125

I'd wait for a reply Michele...
2 may not be warranted. You may have a whole new cat.


and numbers are heading down still
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125

ok Ill stall a little
I did give him a large treat at +10 (he was acting really hungry and I felt sorry for him)
it was some Wellness Core 5% carbs...seems like that should have brought his #s up a little since it was so late in the cycle
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125

very nice. :smile:

he's not really dropping, he is about the same as +10.

here's what we have learned about Crushy recently:

If you stall too long, he's just going to keep dropping.
If you skip, he'll be sky-high by morning (actually probably by +15).
You can pretty much count on him to eat whenever you need him to.

Are you able to monitor tonight? You're good at feeding the curve, as long as you can trust him to eat.

What do you want to do?
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125

I just sent a PM for some more eyes. I think 2 is probably too much, don't you?

just saw your update...even more reason to think that is likely too much if there is food also... although that was 2 hrs ago and LC.

Wouldn't it be something if all this time...it was the teeth. You may have to learn 'normal' diabetic cat care.


OK..let's toe tap and standby
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125 shoot same dose??

Im thinking 1.75 just because his mouth is so sore.
Id do 2 units if I was 100% sure he would eat and eat if necessary
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125 shoot same dose??

whoops...Libby was already here before that last post.


So Libby, you are thinking he will be same as before the dental? I was wondering if all bets are off now and he may just be in some uncharted territory. (sans the infected teeth)
Seems he has been dropping since this morning, no?
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125 shoot same dose??

Michele is he eating fairly normally?...can you count on him to eat as usual?

he may still need to even at 1.75.
I think it sounded like he is eating even though sore, right?
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125 shoot same dose??

I went ahead and shot 1.75

the last time he dipped low on 2 units it was kind of hard to bring him back up, but the last dip at 1.75 was doable.

He'll eat. I just dont want to be there trying to get him to eat a LOT if he is still sore

I have some HC w/gravy if need be though so it will be fine

Ill post a +2
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125 shoot same dose??

the number dropped today because his depot is getting full. Remember, the cat won't drop as much from a 125 preshot as they will from a 325 preshot (they can't!). I think this dose is looking great for Crushy!
 
Re: 11/20 Crushy +10 132 pmps 125

yeah gravy should be easy... doesn't take much..plus he'll probably be into it since he doesn't get it much.


Kind of exciting. He had a really good day number wise. So anxious to see if this holds...wouldn't it be great!! :cool:
would explain alot.

I know you are watching him close..he'll be fine. Maybe not even wait for +2.

Who is this cat and what have you done with Crushy?

..think I am heading to ... I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top