11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331, +3 83, +4 63, +4.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
It has once again been waaaay too long since I last put up a condo for Champ. I've just been too busy with work and life!!! Champ has been his normal awesomeness....still the cutest, sweetest man cat ever!! He has a vet appointment this afternoon at 5. I ordered Adequan online and it came in so I'm taking him into the vet to have his dosage and shot schedule set.

I recently realized how absolutely normal Champ has become again. And I don't know when it changed. I remember when he was first diagnosed, and for a while afterward, how he used to sleep like he was unconscious. I couldn't get him to wake up, even by nudging him. He would sleep in odd places....closets, corners of rooms, under the beds....anywhere there weren't people around. Now, while I still can't get him to sleep on my bed with me anymore, he's otherwise completely back to normal. He sleeps in his basket or his bed next to my desk and, if I leave my office to sit out in the living room, there he is following along behind me. If I go into the kitchen to make dinner, he comes in to keep me company (getting underfoot, of course). He's become my shadow, just like he used to be, and I love it.

Now it's time to take care of this pesky arthritis...let's hope it works for the big guy!!!
 
Re: 11/20 Champ AMPS 338, +4 182

Hi Patty, so good to hear how well Champ is feeling and he's out and about following you just to stay close. That means he's feeling really good with this normalcy. That's a nice blue there at the +4! That's a great idea with ordering the Adequan online and then taking to Vet to get correct dose, much cheaper online. Good luck to Champ with the Adequan and I bet this helps his arthritis. Keep us posted on it and his Vetty appt. Thanks for checking on Maggie in our condo. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 11/20 Champ AMPS 338, +4 182

Nice drop there!

What a good WCR. None of us will ever take "normal" for granted again! I hope the Adequan helps him.
 
Re: 11/20 Champ AMPS 338, +4 182, +6 127

Absolutely wonderful Whole Champ Report!!!!!!!!

best of luck at the vetty today, big guy!

and it's always good to see you...

2539266695_170cbd1b1b.jpg
 
Re: 11/20 Champ AMPS 338, +4 182, +6 127

Hello!! Missed you this week. Thank goodness for FB! :lol: So great to hear Champ is feeling so great. Tarragon and Charlie help me in the kitchen if sleeping right in the middle of where I need to be counts. Tell Champ thank you for taking T down to the blue floor today.

We just got back from my first sushi experience and it was yummy. We had 3 specialty rolls. White Phoenix, OMG, Volcano. I don't remember what was in each one but it is Sushi Hana in Tulsa and they have a website. Wish you could come sometime. Teach Danielle to shoot and hop on a plane. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hugs to you and sweet Danielle and big scritches to Champ!
 
Re: 11/20 Champ AMPS 338, +4 182, +6 127

A Champ report!! It's about time! I'm very happy to hear he's back to normal and doing all the old Champ things. Update us when y'all get back from the vetty! Be a good boy Champ.
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331

I love this WCR. YES!! It always warms my heart to rad about kitties that have resumed life the way it was before DX. Just the best! Well done Champ!

Good luck with the med for the arthritis. I hope too that it helps him. :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331

Hi All!!!! Champ and I are so happy you came for a visit today!! I checked his BG right before we left the house and it was 133 @ +9. We got home a half hour before shot time so I just waited to test then and it was all the way up to 331!!!! I'm going to chalk it up to vet stress. I think he'll get back down in no time, though. I did fatten his dose from a skinny 2.5 to a full 2.5. I usually regret this because he tends to get numbers that are too low on this dose, but I would like to see more consistent blues out of him and an end of the pink preshot number!!!

So, the vet visit....

I really, really like this vet. I can tell he trusts me in how I'm taking care of Champ and he doesn't try to talk me out of anything I'm doing with regard to following the protocol or feeding a raw diet. Champ, as usual, was the perfect gentleman at the vet's. Sat quietly while they poked and prodded and even laid his little head on the vet tech's hand as she was listening to his heart. He's lost a bit of weight since his last visit. He's gone from 18.7 lbs. in July to 18.2 lbs. Believe or not, the vet was happy!! Champ's dose for the Adequan is a whopping 36 mg (which is 36 units using an insulin syringe). Since Champ's insulin syringes only go to 30 units, I'm using some syringes a friend had given me after her diabetic daughter had died. When Champ was first diagnosed back in March, she gave me a big bag of syringes. Unfortunately, I've never used them because they're 1/2 cc and 1 cc (50 units and 100 units) and so don't have 0.5u markings on them. For Adequan, though, the 1/2 cc syringes are perfect!!! I gave Champ his first dose in the vet's office. The needle size on these 1/2 cc syringes are 28 gauge and they're long needles so I was sure it was going to make Champ flinch, but there was no reaction at all. It was like didn't realize he was getting an injection of A LOT of medication. His skin always ripples when I give him his insulin so it was nice to see a big, longer needle bothered him less than his insulin shot!!

I had the vet give Champ's mouth a good look-see. He was able to show me all his teeth so I could see that, yes, he does have plague and some gingivitis. He says he's seen far worse, but it would be a good idea to get his teeth cleaned when I can afford it. I'm going to make this my top priority!!

He also wants to see Champ lose a few pounds. I've decided that I'm not going to have a set time for Champ's mini meals. It never seemed to make a difference with him on stopping him from dropping or keeping him from climbing. I've found I wake him up quite a bit to give him food. From now on, he has to ask me for food before he gets a meal. We may be able to skip some mini meals that way and, thus, have him lose some weight without him knowing it!!

So that's the update. Champ is healthy and very happy....which makes me very happy!!
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331 - VET UPDATE

It's always great to read a happy, healthy kitty report. Thanks for posting, Patty!
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331 - VET UPDATE

Hi Patty & Champ,
What a great WCR, and a great Vetty report! Champ, you are a champ!! Those Adequan shots sound enormous and it's great that Champ doesn't mind them.
Great to see a Champ condo. Sorry to get here so late. Thanks for visiting Rusty,

Enjoy the weekend with your normal kitty!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331, +3 83 - VET UPDATE

Well, I was wondering why he was so hungry...and being very vocal about it!! He ate his entire PM meal of 3 oz, which I normally portion out 1 oz at a time over the first four hours, by +2!! He was insistent on more food so I gave him some Before Grain turkey and tested him. He surprised me with an 83!!! Nice he's seeing green, but from 331 to 83 in the space of three hours?!!! Not healthy, big guy!!! Slow it down now!!
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331, +3 83 - VET UPDATE

what a wonderful report on champ! all around great - and he's even started on his weight loss plan!

always good to see you both! hugs!
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331, +3 83 - VET UPDATE

Good to see a Champ condo, but WOW, slow down big guy! Nice to hear you found a great vet, and that Champ got over his effects so fast.

If you want to count calories for Champ. The TCfeline is 32 kcal/ oz made w/ thigh meat.
 
Re: 11/20 Champ +9.5 133, PMPS 331, +3 83 - VET UPDATE

You just don't know how much I love you for doing all the numbers work for me, Ann!!!! Thankyouthankyouthankyou!!!
 
Awesome vetty report! Mario is on .30mL (ie, "30 units" in insulin-speak) of the adequan...that's why we use the bigger needles, too - the juice goes in much faster! I hope it helps Champ. With Mario, we started seeing results after just a couple shots, but it did take a month or two to see the really, really good results - so it's another patience pants situation :lol: . Now he runs around the house and plays and eats well again.

That was quite a drop for Champ - I hope he surfed that out safely!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top