11/20 Beau - amps/453 - NEED ADVISE - start to drop at +10??

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Last post 11/14 -- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56490

Yesterday we got a pretty nice curve until he shot up after a blue nadir at +6:
amps - 398
+2 - 349
+4 - 251
+6 - 167
+8 - 336 boing...
+11 - 461 boing...boing..
pmps - 451
+4 - 349
+6 - 264

Today:
amps - 453 boing...
+2 - 452 grr_red
+4 - 420
+6 - 426
+8 - 491 :shock:
+10.25 - 393
+11 - 357 :?

I was hoping he wouldn't bounce so hard on Lantus as he did with Prozinc.

This is our 10th cycle on 1.5u. Should we go up, down, or hold the dose?
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 +2/452...arrgghhh

Hi Alicia,

I know the bouncing is frustrating...been there! You need to hold the dose until the bounce clears, then assess the dose. You don't want to increase while he's bouncing....if the bounce clears at the same time the higher dose kicks in, it could take him too low. Patience and consistency....

How is Beau feeling? We like to see a WCR (whole cat report)....a cat is more than his numbers!
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 +2/452...arrgghhh

I agree with Laurie -- you don't want to increase the dose during a bounce since it could put Beau over what would be a good dose. Wait for the bounce to clear then evaluate the dose.
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 +2/452...arrgghhh

Come on Beau- come down from the floor that shall not be named!!! It's more fun on the blue and yellow floors!!!
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 +2/452...arrgghhh

I know it's discouraging....take a look at Mr Tinkles' SS, click on the sheet for last year. You will see that we started out with some very ugly numbers (Black and over 600!) and a lot of bouncing. Hang in there, it will get better. :smile:
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 - NEED ADVISE - start to drop at +

Hmmm...ok, I've not seen a curve like this one before and not sure what to make of it.

He started out this morning at 453 and only dropped 30 points by +4 then started creeping up to 491 by +8. But at +10.25 he was down to 393 and at +11 he's 357.

PM shot time is coming up in 30min and I'm thinking if he's still > 300 I'll go ahead and shoot 1.5u. But if he's < 300 and still dropping I'm not quite sure what to do. Any advise???
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 - NEED ADVISE - start to drop at +

i saw you went ahead and shot because it was over 300 - i think that was a good choice. i wouldn't worry about it dropping when beau is that high - the concern for shooting dropping numbers is probably more when the numbers are lower.

you might try giving the mid-cycle food a little earlier. i don't know what the volume of "2 homemade" is, but it looks like it's mixed with ff classics and it's around +5/+6ish. the Lantus is beginning to wane at that point and you might see some better numbers and a stronger curve if the food is mostly at shot time and in the first 3-4 hours after the shot. some people do well with their cats eating a small amount around the clock, but if a cat is very carb sensitive it might work better to feed earlier. i feed punkin 1 can at shot time and 1/2 can at +3 and it definitely improved his curve. it's a possibility for you to explore.

looks like this is 11 cycles at 1.5units and the lowest number being a 167. you might ask for dosing advice - following the protocol would have you increasing by .25 after 6 cycles or so. sometimes you gotta go up to see some better numbers.
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 - NEED ADVISE - start to drop at +

beauregard...

we'd like to see you coming down, sir!
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 - NEED ADVISE - start to drop at +

PM +3 - 246 - looks like the bounce is clearing.

@Laurie -- Beau's a tough boy and the only thing I can see is that he's hovering over the water bowl today, which is expected given his high numbers. He eats well and looks comfortable otherwise. He never really shows much even when he was sick -- he was blocked 10 years ago and I was lucky I caught him straining to urinate and took him to the vet right away because he didn't show any other signs even though he was already quite sick.

@Julie -- thanks for the meal advise. I made the homemade medallion using mini-muffin molds, so I'm guessing they're about 1-2 oz each? I will try to give him a bigger meat at shot times and smaller/earlier snack in mid-cycle. I always thought it's good to space out the feeding and figured since +6 is usually when the insulin peaks effect so feeding at that time would help. I had actually thought about a dose increase today but that 167 yesterday kind of threw me off, since the protocol says to hold the dose for 3 days if nadir is < 200. And since he's riding a high flat bounce today I wasn't sure it's the right time to adjust dose. But I will see what his numbers are tomorrow and maybe we will go up to 1.75u. I had find it difficult to ask for dosing advise especially when the board is so busy because often I don't get a response by the time his shot is due and I had to just go with my gut, hoping that I won't make things worse for him.
 
Re: 11/20 Beau - amps/453 - NEED ADVISE - start to drop at +

if you put it in your subject line now, for example, that would give the more experienced folks plenty of time to look at his spreadsheet before tonight. putting the ? as a post icon gets eyes asap. the folks who are looking at the board for those who need advice are looking for the ? post icons.

i would edit it to "should i increase dose?" with a ? post icon. that should get you some help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top