? 11/20/19 Pumpkin 432

Justagirlandhercat18

Member Since 2013
Hi, I have been a member of this forum for quite sometime, but haven't had a reason to post just yet.

My cat Pumpkin is a 14 year old cat who has been diabetic for quite some time, 7 years to be exact. October 2018 we switched from Prozinc to Lantus, and he was able to be controlled very quickly. He also has many other conditions. Diabetes, chronic pancreatitis, epilepsy, degenerative joint disease and also HCM. He recently had a horrible flare up of pancreatitis which he went all out of control. It has been a little over a week since we've got him eating and acting normal again. His numbers did improve slightly after he started eating again, I never skipped doses because he was incredibly high. I will attach my spreadsheet in hopes that someone will be able to assist us. I recently decreased his dose when he dropped to 86 at +3 after getting a preshot reading of 263. Thank you again for any insight.

Feeding: Purina ProPlan True Nature-less than 5% carbs-1 can in AM and PM 1/2 can mid cycle and 1/2 can before bed
Current dose 1.75u of Lantus
Metere: AT2

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...2hj7o3ehgYZ3g/edit?ts=5c2a93c9#gid=1182885903
 
Well hello there! First I was wondering which protocol you're following, TR or SLGS? That will make a difference of when you will reduce based on how often you are able to test and what kind of food Pumpkin is eating.

So once we establish that - then it'll be clearer as to why you'd take a reduction when Pumpkin just hit some great numbers....

At any rate, great first post - good to see you :)
 
Thank you for responding! I work 10-11 hour days, so although TR would be ideal, it's also a little scary knowing he likes to suddenly drop without warning. I decreased because of him dropping so suddenly and then bouncing up super high again.
 
Welcome and glad you're joining us!

What do we call you -- unless. you want us to call you Justagirlandhercat -- which is a mouthful!

I don't think it's imperative that you pick a dosing method immediately. I'd read them over and see if one is a better fut. FWIW, I work a demanding job, as well, and follow TR. This is a link to a post on using TR and working full time.

Please let us know if you have any questions.
 
Welcome and glad you're joining us!

What do we call you -- unless. you want us to call you Justagirlandhercat -- which is a mouthful!

I don't think it's imperative that you pick a dosing method immediately. I'd read them over and see if one is a better fut. FWIW, I work a demanding job, as well, and follow TR. This is a link to a post on using TR and working full time.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Newbie to the group. Trying to figure it all out. I'll fix everything on here at some point.

The reason why I'm afraid of TR is the fact Pumpkin gets random bouts of pancreatitis. I have come home before to vomit everywhere and an unresponsive cat. Something I wish to never see again! I did take him back to 2U last night. Going to be testing him in a few moments.
 
Bottom line -- you know your cat. Is SLGS makes sense to you, that's great. Often, we'll see someone who's testing a great deal and suggest TR. It's always your call.
 
Bottom line -- you know your cat. Is SLGS makes sense to you, that's great. Often, we'll see someone who's testing a great deal and suggest TR. It's always your call.

I'm a CVT and know I can handle a hypo at home with no problems. But, being a CVT is also my biggest downfall. The long hours. Luckily i am close enough that i can run home on lunch and get a midday test done. As you can see. Hopefully after the holiday season my fiance's hours will change. I hate the "slow and steady" to be completely honest.
 
Back
Top