11/2 - Scooter - AMPS 293 +4 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Been a while since I made a thread about Scooter. Think my last one was after he went back on insulin after being OTJ for all of a month last condo

I've been an awful fur momma lately. Really struggling to maintain a decent shot schedule. Dealing with some really crippling depression right now, lost my sister in July, my job in August, got rejected for income assistance, my child support will end at the end of December and I cannot find a job so I have no money and nowhere to turn. I am also heavily considering splitting from my fiancee of 2yrs and moving in with my mom (out of necessity more than anything) but she is asking $600 a month for rent and I don't even have that much right now. I will be making that decision sometime in the next ~2 weeks. I do not know if I will be able to keep Scooter and Charli if I have to move in with my mom.

So it's been really tough. I am scared to death that something is going to happen to Scooter (like another pancreatitis attack) and I'm not going to be able to afford it. Scooter STILL has an awful mouth full of inflammation and tartar and I don't have the funds for a $400+ dental.

Financial and personal struggle aside Scooter and civvie Charli have been all right. They still hate each other and will chase each other up and down the hallway all night. Scooter will not come on the bed any more because Charli will chase him off so he sleeps on some clothes in my closet. He has never been an affectionate cat but lately it's like he's not even around. I can't help but feel I brought this on by bringing in Charli... but he still seems happy for the most part. His numbers haven't been so great because I am having a really hard time getting up to test in the middle of the night - today I slept until 5 PM. I am going to try and reduce his dose a bit to see if I don't have to shoot into low 100's at night. His weight and condition has been kind of going up and down - for a while he was getting skinny again but he has been looking good lately. Still always hungry, even when his numbers are good. Still puking on the carpet routinely. He puked on my beautiful antique wool rug the other day. Bleh.

Oh yeah and my drain is plugged solid right now and I'm NOT looking forward to having to spend $150+ to have a plumber come snake it out. I've tried baking soda and vinegar, Drano, plunging it, using a coat hanger, it's still plugged solid. I can't run my dishwasher or washing machine and when I did dishes last night the nasty water sat in my laundry sink for like 6 hrs, slowly trickling down. I am SO frustrated.

They got pretty close to each other last night - I played with them for a good 30 mins and then sat down to watch some TV and and they were pooped out. This is one of few moments where they don't make me want to pull my hair out and throw things. :lol:

IMG_4141.jpg
 
Re: 11/2 - Scooter - AMPS 293

Hi Ry,

I'm sad to read all the crap you're having to deal with, and amazed you're dealing with it as well as you are. Very sorry to hear all of this.

The sink drain - have you pulled out the P-Trap to see if there's a clog there? If not, try it. Also, if you pull the trap, you may be able to reach farther into the drain pipe with the coat hanger. Do you know anyone who might lend you a drain snake? Or is there a hardware store nearby that rents things like that by the day? It'd be a lot cheaper than paying a plumber to do the same thing. Just thinking out loud...

Before Scooter went OTJ, it looks like you were shooting low blue/high green numbers regularly. Is that some place you just don't want to go right now? Where's your "no shoot" line? I understand you want to be able to shoot twice a day instead of skipping, and if reducing the dose allows you do to so, then I think you could go that way too. But at some point, you'll have to shoot low numbers, I think?

Your boys may be "enemies", but that pic says differently ;-) Quite a handsome pair!

Carl
 
Re: 11/2 - Scooter - AMPS 293

(((Ry)))
Your situation sounds overwhelming. I'm not even sure what to suggest. Have you thought to contact DCIN for support for Scooter? Either DCIN or LLEF may have supplies they can sent to help with some expenses for Scooter.
 
Re: 11/2 - Scooter - AMPS 293

Or maybe a chip-in for a dental? The dental situation has got to be screwing up his numbers, right?

CArl
 
Re: 11/2 - Scooter - AMPS 293

I checked the kitchen P trap and it was mostly clean but I can't get the one off in the laundry room. I talked to my landlords when I paid the rent today and they're going to come down this weekend and talk about it. We might end up just renting a snake from Home Depot. Fortunately our bathtub and bathroom sink are draining just fine so I'm doing dishes in there for the time being but we need to do laundry desperately. They have already paid to have it cleaned out once and it was crammed full of this awful fibrous gunk. It wasn't hair - our washing machine was full of the crap when we moved in too so I think it was something from the previous renters. Not sure what's in there this time but whatever it is, it's in there good :shock:

I'm OK with shooting low numbers but not when waking up even once throws me off for the rest of the day and I sleep until 5PM :? I'm going to REALLY try and get myself on some kind of cycle again. I have non 24 sleep/wake sleep disorder so it's really tough sometimes. That way maybe I can shoot him a few hours before I actually go to bed so I can get some tests in. Lately I've been waking up just to do his PMPS because I've been sleeping all over the place. Last night I went to bed at 8AM, woke up again at 10:30 AM, was awake until 1PM, and then went back to sleep until 5PM... and right now I feel like a zombie. it gets hard to do 12/12 shots when you live like that. Actually, it's hard to do anything at all.

P.S. Charli is a girl! I know that's confusing lol but she belonged to my deceased sister and there's no way I could change her name (I like it anyways!)

I have talked to DCIN about his dental but right now they are only doing half coverage - even half the cost is more than I can do right now. My credit card is suffering. I am still getting strips through DCIN but I do have to pay $15 for shipping now and they only send out 200 instead of 300 like before. It's still a great blessing but I know they're in bad financial trouble and I don't want to push things with them. I've only got half a pen of Lantus left and I'm paranoid that I'm going to have to pay full for it next time around. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top