11/2 Ruby AMPS 376/+6 387/PMPS 419/+2 452/+4 276

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday.

Crossing our little fingers and paws that Ruby surfs lower today.

I am seeing my vet on Thursday and I'd like to do a BG curve on Wednesday for him. Do you think Ruby's dose has stabilized and her numbers will be representative of a situation that the doctor can analyze? If I was still on SLGS, it will be less than a week since we reduced her to 1.0 units.

Surprising to see her high numbers despite earning three reductions in the last week. Should we chalk these up to failed reductions? Should her dose go back up by .25 units at this point?

Sending healing thoughts and scritches to all of the sick kitties and hugs to their beans who love them so. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Cats can bounce back to high numbers after earning a reduction. I think Ruby should have cleared the bounce by now. Since you haven't seen any green since the reduction, I'd increase back to 1.25 units tonight unless you see green today.
 
Cats can bounce back to high numbers after earning a reduction. I think Ruby should have cleared the bounce by now. Since you haven't seen any green since the reduction, I'd increase back to 1.25 units tonight unless you see green today.
There's a possibility that I missed a green overnight on 10/30. I should have grabbed a +6 that night. Also remember that I'm using an Alpha Trak right now so her numbers are a little higher than human numbers (soon to be rectified with the arrival of a human meter this week!). Given this, do you still think it's safe fro me to go up?
 
Morning :bighug: Looks like you're starting TR today? Awesome. Just some things I've learned to help:
  • On SLGS, there isn't a concept of failed reduction - hold the dose for a week then decide to increase (unless a reduction is earned before then).
  • On TR, there is no requirement to hold a reduced dose if it's not working. Basically, you're looking for any bounce to clear to see the "real" numbers the dose is giving.
With that said, I'm not sure if you should hold or go up...TR also has notes about holding doses when new to blues and greens. I would edit your title and throw up the ? from the title drop down (and then you can remove it when you get your question answered). Looks like you shot 1u this morning so your question could be something like "New to TR, Increase dose?" Hope that helps get some extra eyes here.
 
Morning :bighug: Looks like you're starting TR today? Awesome. Just some things I've learned to help:
  • On SLGS, there isn't a concept of failed reduction - hold the dose for a week then decide to increase (unless a reduction is earned before then).
  • On TR, there is no requirement to hold a reduced dose if it's not working. Basically, you're looking for any bounce to clear to see the "real" numbers the dose is giving.
With that said, I'm not sure if you should hold or go up...TR also has notes about holding doses when new to blues and greens. I would edit your title and throw up the ? from the title drop down (and then you can remove it when you get your question answered). Looks like you shot 1u this morning so your question could be something like "New to TR, Increase dose?" Hope that helps get some extra eyes here.
DONE! Thank you, Susanne. You've been so helpful as always!
 
Since you have decided to switch to TR, I would go back to 1.25. You saw the greens on that dose but had to reduce because you were following SLGS.
 
PMPS=419. This was one of her highest number days. Look forward to seeing some slow glides to blue sometime soon!
 
Good luck with the new dose! I know numbers can make us disappointed but you're doing all the right things :bighug: if you can, try to get that +2 or +3 tonight. Hope you have a good night!
 
Good luck with the new dose! I know numbers can make us disappointed but you're doing all the right things :bighug: if you can, try to get that +2 or +3 tonight. Hope you have a good night!
+2 is 452. Will do a +4 to see where she's headed into the night.
 
Ruby has dropped 180 in two hours...feeding her her usual "second dinner" now, but should I be staying up for another test at +6?
 
Back
Top