11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58 +4.5 59 +5 58

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58 +4.5 59

Thanks for your understanding, we wil do all we can for our cats, and I will hanging in as long as poss. I really will need advise though as from sunday I have to be away for a week, coming back periodically. My husband will be 'in charge'. There is no way he will be this vigilant. Although he will do some testing. How can we keep Red going safely within this time? I need to start dealing with this as it is really worrying me now.
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58 +4.5 59

+5 he is 58.
He has just had a really good LC feed.
As that was a such a good feed I am going to have to call it a night. There is more food for him left down.
In fact he has just gone back for more.
Thanks for all your help, difficult to type and coordinate your fingers with your eyes shutting.
See you in the morning.
Kathx
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58 +4.5 59

Will he post on the board so people can help him out with dosing etc while you are away? As you have already seen cycles can vary greatly. Sometimes you can get away with just one or two tests within the cycle other times they need more attention to keep them safe.

Given Red's response to Lantus I suspect the advice will be for hubby to give a reduced dose if he can't monitor too closely. He does need to ensure he gets pre shot tests everytime though they are vital for Red's safety and also a test around Red's nadir for dosing purposes. Do you know how much he will be able to test and has he been doing them by himself as yet?

A no shoot number may need to be determined too. Ideally you want to be shooting low to stay low and give the pancreas the best chance of healing but that is dangerous if the kitty isn't being monitored.
 
He is surfing really nicely :mrgreen: did he help himself to that food and did he eat it just at regular pace or gobble it down?
 
One ofmy daughters, who is 15, is happily already doing some of the testing, outside of school times. He can do testing too. Just with 4 kids single handed, working and running the house I know what hs capacity is. A think a reduced dose would keep me happy. I understand the shoot low concept and will do this myself!
Would it be 0.25?
 
I put him in frount of it, he has eaten as regularly, but did go back for more.
Am definatly having to go now. Spellimg gone to pot!!! He looks great, bright eyed
Good night
 
Sleep well you've earned it - just be sure there's plenty of food in the bowl for him :smile:

Probably will be a 0.25 dose but best to wait and see - you never know if he'll earn another reduction between now and then :mrgreen:

Don't forget to ask the guru's about a no shoot test level for him and yay for your daughter helping out that is awesome!
 
Hi guys .. just wanted to pop in and say what a great run of numbers red has been having, you must be so excited! have a great weekend!
 
Good morning Kath, or evening I guess I should say. Boy, it looks like Red is determined to put your learning curve on fast track. It's very hard to stay on top of everything when they get in the low to mid green numbers especially with limited sleep. When PurrFace was first dx I did all of the testing but after I pulled my first all nighter my DW learned how to test. It's still stressful but a bit easier if you have someone to work in shifts with you.

The folks that are helping you know what they are doing and will provide you with the best advice on what your course of treatment should be. Follow their guiding light and you'll reach the end of the tunnel without a problem. I say that from experience. They have helped me several times in the past week and have been life savers.

It's too bad that you can't get the 1/2 mark syringes in NZ. You have received some excellent alternative ideas, I see, so hopefully one of them will work for you. Hang in there. You're doing great. Have a great evening.
 
Great job with Red Kath-
I hope you will be able to get some sleep. I've never been good at the 'cat naps' but after a few nights of no sleep was finally able to make it work.

You've done wonderful with Red's green surfs.

Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top