11/2 Paisley PMPS/111+2/162+4.25/136 +6/116 +8.75/130+11/130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Paisley's 11/1 Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55501

45 minutes to shot time and Paisley's BS is only 56. She hasn't had as much to eat today as normal because I crashed. We didn't go to the Farmers Market so we are home. I ran low then out of raw so I cut back on what I was feeding. I realized I was over-feeding anyway. I picked up some FF and she ate her 1/4 can then found that Barry hadn't eaten all of his and ate that too. I didn't argue because she scarfed it back so fast and I knew she hadn't had a much to eat as normal anyway. Ok, I was afraid to stick my hand in there and take away the bowl.

Earlier I was thinking about the food issue earlier and wondered if more strict control of food would help even out her numbers.

What do I do with PM shot due soon?
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley AMPS/302 +2/310 +6/124 +11/56 Shot help ple

WOW!!!

bumping your post up for better eyes!
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley AMPS/302 +2/310 +6/124 +11/56 Shot help ple

Also, I gave 11/1 PM & 11/2 AM shots 15 minutes later than usual - 5:15pm & 5:30am. I was supposed to do farmers market my myself and shot time was 5pm. Market is 4-7 but we've all been leaving around 6 from weather and decrease in customers. That would have given her a shot time of 5:45 and I would have left earlier to do that. So that would be a dose decrease over the past 2 cycles.
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley AMPS/302+2/310+6/124 +11/56, +11.5/77 Shot

Warmed ear better for maybe bit fresher blood. +11.5 was 77.
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley AMPS/302+2/310+6/124+11/56+11.5/77+12/90 H

That is quite a drop for the day.....but I think you can shoot, because this is a rising number. The numbers have risen from a 56 at +11 to 90 at PMPS. Do you feel comfortable shooting?
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley AMPS/302+2/310+6/124+11/56+11.5/77+12/90 H

Hi Lylene,

I'm at tbp so can't see ss.

You have 3 options -

-don't feed and stall for a rise you are comfortable shooting - in this case check every 15 mins. this will also alter you shot schedule
-shoot a reduced dose
-skip it
 
Re: 11/2 PaisleyAMPS/302+2/310+6/124+11/56+11.5/77+12/90,+13

+13 - 111 Going to shoot full dose. Have HC & honey (and maple syrup) ready if needed.

I'm going to monitor the amount of food she receives very closely. She got almost 1/2 can FF at shot time.
 
Re: 11/2 PaisleyAMPS/302+2/310+6/124+11/56+11.5/77+12/90,+13

ROCK ON, YOU WOMAN OF STEEL!!!! :lol: :lol:

VERY NICE!
 
Re: 11/2 PaislyAMPS/302+2/310+6/124+11/56+11.5/77+12/90+12.7

+12.75 was 111 so her shot is 45 minutes late from AM shot but 30 minutes after when I was planning to shoot this PM. Guess we'll see what happens. Not sure about the woman of steel thing, though. Fools go where Angels fear to tread but on the side of the Angels, what do baseball players know about FD? :lol:
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111 (AMPS+12.75) Feeding questions

I've been thinking about feeding and feeding schedules for Paisley and Barry.

Paisley has gained weight, too much. Today I've been thinking about how to deal with that and a feeding schedule to maximize using Lantus. She needs to eat every four hours or so because she will frequently start vomiting after that point. She also gets very hungry and wants to eat everything I give her and more, which she did this evening. Given that, it would appear she will need several small meals through the day. Between feeding and testing, I could very possibly end up with even less sleep than I'm getting now and that is just not working.

I'm switching over to Dr. Lisa's recipe that uses chicken thighs instead of the whole carcass. That should be easier on my wrist so I will use less canned food. It will also cut down on the calories in the food because she doesn't use all of the skins. I have to go over the section on rabbit again as rabbit and muskrat are similar. Both are lean and have a higher bone to meat ratio. She says to leave out the neck and spine but that isn't really feasible with muskrat. That will take some research and for now I will just add in small amounts of muskrat to get them used to the taste. That shouldn't throw things off enough to cause much imbalance.

I also have to figure out WHEN to feed her. I can feed at shot time, +2, and +6. If I understand correctly, I need to not feed past +9 so there will be 2 hours between feeding and +11 and PS tests. That would be four times each cycle. Does this seem reasonable? Maybe more consistent feeding times and reduced amount of food fed each meal will have a positive effect on her BS. It's worth a try

Barry also needs to loose weight so I can try him on the same feeding schedule and see what happens. I'll have to weigh them every 2-3 days, from what I remember from Dr. Lisa's page. Need to go back and read that section again.

Comments or ideas?
 
Re: 11/2 PaislyAMPS/302+2/310+6/124+11/56+11.5/77+12/90+12.7

Lylene & Barry said:
+12.75 was 111 so her shot is 45 minutes late from AM shot but 30 minutes after when I was planning to shoot this PM. Guess we'll see what happens. Not sure about the woman of steel thing, though. Fools go where Angels fear to tread but on the side of the Angels, what do baseball players know about FD? :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111 (AMPS+12.75) Feeding questions

If you check the "Obesity" section of Dr. Lisa's site, she has a formula for calculating calories per day. That may help you to gauge how much to feed. Have you thought about a timed feeder? If Paisley will use it, you'll be able to sleep and not worry about running home to feed if you're out of the house.

Feeding small meals over the course of the day is fine.
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111 (AMPS+12.75) +2/162 +4.25/136

+2 / 162 Will be keeping a close eye on BS. Fed 1/4 can FF at +2

+4.25/ 136 Fed little bit of FF at +4.5ish
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111 +2/162 +4.25/136 +6/116

+6 was 116. Fed 1/4 can FF.

A bit concerned about not testing until +9, which is when I was planning to feed her next. I have to feed the other cats, take meds and such so I may feed her a bit more just before I collapse into bed.

A timed feeder sounds like a good idea. Any suggestions on one that would be appropriate for canned and raw?
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111 +2/162 +4.25/136 +6/116 +8.75/130

Cruising in the blues so far this cycle. Will be testing again at +11. Tested and fed at +8.75 so she only has 3 hours before she can eat again.

I'm going to continue feeding her canned food for the next few days as calories are already figured out and will be easier to monitor. The goal is to feed four small meals spread over each cycle and see what her numbers are. I think I stopped a slide using food. Hoping this will help her quit bouncing so much.

Sienne's suggestion of a timed feeder is something I'll definitely check into. That would relieve a lot of pressure.
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111+2/162+4.25/136 +6/116 +8.75/130+11

+11 was 130. Stayed in the blue for the entire cycle. YIPPEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 11/2 Paisley PMPS/111+2/162+4.25/136 +6/116 +8.75/130+11

Morning and wow on the cycle for Paisley. You did a great job and hope you can get some sleep. Sleep - what's that anyway? :lol: Take care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top