11/2, Niblet post hypo dose advice needed

Sequoia84

Member Since 2020
Niblet had a hypo event with seizures tonight. She is recovering with help from the Main Health Forum but I need to know how to proceed with future doses. The Main forum suggested I ask for Lantus specific dose advice here. Here is a summary of where we are tonight:
STATUS --------------------------------------------------------------------
Symptomatic hypo (convulsions) - molasses administered.

Opening post: 46 - fed HC wet after this test.
Next test: 68 - no food after this test.
+30 mins: 93 - no food after this test. | (30 mins without food) <<<<< Approx +8.5 hrs after insulin dose.
+30 mins: 105 - no food after this test. | (60 mins without food)
+30 mins: 98 - no food after this test. | (90 mins without food)
Thank you.
 
I saw that you have been advised to skip the next dose. Now that things have calmed down, thankfully, would you fill in your spreadsheet? When was the next dose due:? It’s 7:10 at night here. I’m not sure but it sounds like you will skip the morning dose and tgen shoot at night on November 3?
 
That is correct tiffmaxee. Her next dose would be due in 2 hours. I'll skip that dose and also the following dose in the morning of 11/3. What do you want me to fill in on the spread sheet? These most recent numbers since the hypo event?
 
For reference, the post on Feline Health: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/911-niblets-just-went-hypo-with-convulsions.238006/

Someone on Health suggested going down to 0.25 units, but it looks like you are shooting a skinny 0.5 now. Maybe 0.1 is (skinny 0.5) - 0.25 units? You need to reduce a full 0.25 units.
@Wendy&Neko I have just corrected my post over on main health........It was meant to say she needs to take the full reduction of 0.25 units not go down to 0.25 units. Thanks!
 
Also, test again in one hour now, just to make sure she's still flat or rising. Then I think she deserves her dinner.
 
Last edited:
+11 and she has dropped to BG 77. She is acting hungry. Should I giver her low carb food? or more HC?
 
Ok, I re-read instructions from Mogs on the health forum. Since Nibs has stayed over 50 for 3 hours with no food, I'm going to go ahead and feed her some low carb food.
 
lol, we cross posted again! Nibs is enjoying her low carb dinner. And seems to be back on track. I'll take it from here and will post if anything strange happens. Thank you so much for your support during this frightening episode.
 
You may still get a little bit of action, so I'd keep checking every hour until numbers rise significantly. I'd keep giving her LC unless she really shifts direction, the LC should prop her up now, but post if you need help.
 
Back
Top