11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358 +4 409

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
Hi as my title states, should I stick with the 1U, or give .5 this morning?
Okay well it is time for his shot... i am giving 1U if anyone thinks that is too much for what his spreadsheet numbers have been doing PLEASE let me know within an hour so i can all in sick to monitor him..
appreciate it! :)
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

Gosh I really can't say for sure on what to give mowgli .. You don't have a lot of data, and the last few checks were in the blues and greens .. I hope someone comes along soon and gives you the advice you are looking for ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

Okay, :(
so being that I didnt reduce may I PLEASE have some suggestions as to what to do??
I hate being so new at this!
i am absolutely ill over this..... so worried i just did something really wrong for him
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

You didn't do anything wrong! The issue is that you won't be home to monitor. How long will you be home?

(FYI - if you need input, it helps if you can give a little more lead time. Some of us are just getting our coffee at around this time of the morning.)
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

I'm sorry :sad: first time, and the panic about getting the shot ontime..
I normally leave at 7....but if i need to be late for work I will! or I will skip it or anything!!!
Ideally, now that I may have royally boo booed, when should i be checking, at 706 it will be +1. What is the minimum i should check? oh i should just stay home from work,. i won't be able to work if I go...i will be worrying bout him so much
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

You sound like me!! Generally, the more you can monitor the first couple of days, the better. If you are going to stay home, could you test every 2 hours (unless the numbers are dropping fast) and get a curve?

Definitely get a +1 and a +2. Take a look at what an "ideal curve" looks like (it's in the New to Lantus/Lev sticky):
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This is what you can expect -- within limits since every cat is different (ECID) and the nadir isn't a fixed point. This is what you saw last night -- the lowest point of your cycle was around 6 hours past your shot time. I'm a big fan of +2 numbers. In many cases, a +2 test can give you a sense of how the cycle will go.

I tend to think Sherry was right and that your pre-shot last night may have been influenced by the dry food. Many cats will need a LOT less insulin once dry is out of the equation. It also means that numbers can drop pretty quickly if you're giving the same amount of insulin but there's no dry (aka cookies and ice cream) to keep the numbers boosted up.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

....freaking out....want to cry.....
thanks for the advice,,will call my boss...
also i can find information about what to do in case of hypo, but maybe is my panic but i cannot find what to have in the hypo kit...
sorry for bothering so early :cry:
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

No need to freak out. The morning could be an entire non-event. And no need to apologize.

All of the info on dealing with hypos and/or low numbers is in the New to Lantus/Lev sticky:
Treating Hypos
Hypo Toolkit
Hypo Symptoms

The most important tools you have are extra strips, your meter, and high carb (HC) food -- the kind that has gravy. The gravy is where the carbs are. If you have those items, you can manage Mowgli's numbers. If you don't happen to have any HC canned food in the house, syrup (Karo, maple syrup, honey, etc.) can substitute in a pinch.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

Thank you for the links...
I called into my boss and well, started freakin crying on the phone with him.... omg, :cry:
how embarrissing.....(sp)
I will stay home and monitor him today....
~so losing it~

thank you for all the support so early in the morning...
meanwhile mowgli is ready for nap time.... how dare i interfere with their morning routine!
i do not have any with the gravies, but I will be getting a kit together either today ---if he levels out---or tomorrow on my lunch break...
well i have a pouch wellness here but it is probably not high carb?
still trying to figure THAT out too...... omg...sigh
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

Hi again and try not to freak out you are home to monitor now and many people are on this board now to give you great advice so hang in there (((((((HUGS)))))))
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

The Wellness pouches are either in the high end of low carb or medium carb range. (I think someone just posted with the carb values.) See Janet & Binky's food chart (I linked the canned foods only) for a list of food. You want foods over 16% for HC. Fancy Feast and Friskies are probably the 2 brands of food with gravy that people use.

Here's your homework for today (in addition to a curve): Read the New to the Group sticky and the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. These should get you started and help you to feel more grounded.

And, ask questions. People here are very generous with their support and their information. You're no doubt feeling overwhelmed. It's normal. We've all been there and people will help you get it figured out.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U

thank you all for the support and hugs..and thank you for the homework...i had previously read those stickies and even printed them, as my homework I will now ABSORB them!!!
I will be monitoring him today, and will be checking his BG soon...
thanks again!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

Mowgli was offically diagnosed on the 30th of October..
so this is my first 2shots...hence my panic....
i think his numbers look ok...i might try and rest a bit...has been emotional for me...so happy i have all of you here!
P.S i can give him a little something to eat now yes?
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

Keri, right?
Yes, we test, feed and shoot at the AMPS/PMPS.
Did you feed him something earlier? You may go ahead and give some Low Carb food now...
What is your feeding schedule during the day? Do you leave food out when you go to work?
many people here have timed feeders...
Some freeze food in ice cube trays to leave out. when it defrosts, there is a snack available. We find that feeding smaller meals during the day is best.

Will you be able to get a +4?
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

Yes it is Keri.. thanks, maybe I will try and change my "handle" lol
Being that I have three kitties, of which two are not diabetic I am just starting to figure out a routine...I am going to take those two off the dry as well, and get them moved over to the high protein low carbs. So i am going to have to buy a timed feeder.. thing is I worry that the other two will eat more than him while I am away and unable to monitor. In the meantime I did go ahead and freeze a couple of "pucks" as I had intended on going to work today...but that is what I will plan to use tomorrow..
I did feed him before his dosage but not in between the the two hours before I retested..

Before he tested positive for the FD I would feed a split amount twice a day of his kibble...back when his appetite was bigger he would eat everything at each sitting...
guess there were signs there...
ok..off to nap a bit..was a restless night stressful morning...will retest at +4
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

More homework!!

This isn't urgent in the least so when you have a chance, could you complete a Profile? We won't keep plaguing you with questions about Mowgli if you have a Profile and attach it to your signature.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

AWWWW Keri!! We ALL know how you feel!! We have all been where you are now! Glad you stayed home today, so you can get comfortable with what is going on with your kitty--
That was a pretty good +2, but the nadir or midpoint of the cycle is at about +5-+6 so then you can see if this dose worked for you--Sienne is right, please read the stickys you were sent--It is all overwhelming, but I promise it wil come together & your cat will get better--Get your kit together-have your strips, and you can be in control!
We do a lot of hand holding here, as we all need help sometimes--You need a HUG :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: and reassurance that it will be alright!! Hey, you are hometesting already!!! That's MOST important, the rest, you can do--Will check back on you!!
Also, try to be calm--the cats sense our stress! you & Mowgli will be fine!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

Hi Keri, I just wanted to drop in again and tell you what a great job you are doing. Mowgli was just diagnosed and already you have learned so much! (I "shot in the dark" for almost 4 years before I found this board, without testing or knowing anything--just followed what the vet said to do and going occasionally to the vet for blood tests!!!).
So keep calm today, "absorb" the reading material(!), and remember that the "whole cat" involves much more than testing and shooting. He's your sweet kitty, he loves you, he knows that you are helping him, but he also needs time to play, nap, and lead his life as normally as possible.
Hang in there and get some rest yourself! You are doing so well!

Ella
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194

hi and good morning! There are lots of us here this morning if you need help - so no need to worry - you and Mowgli will be fine.

My story is much like Ella and Stu's - 1.5 years without home tasting, etc. So - kudos to you for being so far ahead of the game. Congrats! and breathe now. Lots of help here!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115

Hi there 115 at +4..am thinking he is going to go to levels that won't tickle my fancy??
right now he seems like himself.. i imagine i should check again at +5...man he is such a good boy...and no worries for him, i put on the front :) lol no I don't have my panic or anxiety attacks UNTIL i do something...except for the ear pricks those are working out swimmingly!
i have been here for such a short while and already I am so gracious to all of you for your warm kind hearts! :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon much love to all of you and your furry families!!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115

Good Morning, Keri!

Nice numbers for Mowgli today! Relax and take a minute for yourself today...it's a lot to learn, but you don't have to do it all at once. Deep breath, pat on the back for doing a great job, read a sticky, pets for Mowgli....repeat! ;-) Have a great day!!

s
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115

Very nice +4, Keri! You're doing great, don't worry...lots of support and help available. That's a good sized drop, can you get a +5? No need to panic, it just would be good to watch a little closer now.

I know you said you have the Wellness pouch food there, do you have karo syrup, maple syrup or honey in the house? You don't need it now, I'm just asking so we know what is on hand for your toolkit if you need it.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115

I can do a +5.. have no problem with that, is why i stayed home today :smile: ----his poor little ears)
I have corn syrup, maple syrup (but aunit jemima don't know if that counts) I also have some temptations treats that he generally really likes! :smile:
as for pets for mowgli, the other kitties are having to schedule their lap time in, as mowgli gets the lap priority lol I currently have him cuddled under a blanket to keep his ear warm for the next poke.

P.S am having trouble figuring out how to get my spreadsheet to automatically transfer my numbers to the numbers you understand..so have been manually using the calculator from the FDMB home page and plugging them in
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115

Corn syrup is fine, good that you have it in the house. We usually suggest that you avoid the dry treats (temptations) because they take too long to bring low numbers up, and the effect lasts too long. The high carb wet food gravy or corn syrup gives a quick boost but doesn't stick around very long.

Glad you're getting some kitty lap time in! :smile:
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115

Hi Keri - you're doing a fantastic job! Nothing like just diving right into all the fun, huh? Did you feed the +4? Maybe just a teaspoon or so of low carb food can slow the drop. Great idea to have him under the blanket to keep his ear warm - so cute too. Oh, and Mowgli is a beautiful kitty! Such a handsome photo!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110

Thanks, I am a typical mom don't feel that picture does him justice...he so scraggly there lol
Yes I gave him a bit of his FF at +4, so hopefully that will help some...
;-)
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110

You're doing great!! Looks like the FF @ +4 is slowing things down. I'd get a +6 too. You'll want to see if he is still dropping.

very handsome kitty!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110

I will DEFINETLY be doing a +6, then I may MAY depending on that number just spread it out a bit..
I imagine it is too early to discuss tonites units?? lol i guess we still have the whole day to figure that out..but i am thinking a .5u tonite and tomorrow morning? being that tomorrow I unfortunately won't be able to stay home with him, and MAKE SURE he gets his little snacks at the required times?
i know i know....jumping the gun!

btw Mowgli blushes from all the compliments!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110

Let's see what the +6 is, go from there. Good job getting all the tests, BTW!

I think that tonight's dose will depend on what happens today. I know that's not a lot of help right now, but it really does depend on the data you're collecting now.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110 +6 99

he had some food inbetween 4 an 6, and then some more after the 6... *should i be taking another test at +7 or should it be safe to wait for +8----i took at +7...no harm lol

thanks
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110 +6 99

Wow, these are some really nice numbers :mrgreen:
I know you feel overwhelmed, but this is great stuff. Good kitty!

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110 +6 99 +7 1

Yes, you are doing great! It's all good data...you see how the food boosted his numbers up a little bit? You could go back to every 2 hours now. I have to leave for a bit, will check back with you in a little while...others are here to help you too!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 1U +2 194 +4 115 +5 110 +6 99 +7 1

Did you figure out the SS? It automatically converts the numbers. There's a tab for US and a tab for World.

I hope you've a bit calmer. Like I said, it's a pretty impressive group of people here.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 +5 110 +6 99 +7 106 +9 104

am having trouble getting the spreadsheet to come up right now....
Mowglis numbers should be on the rise shouldn't they? instead of the slight decrease or similarity to +7 ??
I am feeling better for today, but anxious for tomorrow when I won't be here to keep an eye on him... i just gave him some more FF....i think the other cat ate what i had out for him...oy...kids i tell ya!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 +5 110 +6 99 +7 106 +9 104

The number at +7 was most likely boosted by the food at +6, and if he hasn't eaten since then, his +9 number is a "clean" number, meaning not influenced by food. It's nothing to worry about that he is a little lower at +9, he's surfing and that's good! If you're feeding now, make sure you pick up the food by +10.

I know you're concerned about tomorrow, I'm thinking you'll need to decrease the dose at least a little for safety, but let's see where he is at +11.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 +5 110 +6 99 +7 106 +9 104 +11 18

I was just trying to catch up on how Mowgli is doing, wow! Great first response.

Personally, I would drop back to 0.5 units BID and start over. That might not be enough, but it's a lot easier to work *up* to a good dose than to have to deal with low numbers right off the bat. You're going to have to go back to work at some point and you need to know he's safe.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 +5 110 +6 99 +7 106 +9 104 +11 18

also, if you reduce the dose tonight, you'll still need to monitor for a little while this evening. There could be "shed action" from this morning's shot influencing tonight's cycle, so sometimes the first cycle after a dose reduction still carries some momentum behind it.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli AMPS 196 +5 110 +6 99 +7 106 +9 104 +11 18

I think I am going to go ahead with the .5U and monitor every two hours..
I will post his PMPS shortly
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283

Hi Keri,

Just wanted to drop in and give you some support....Very nice job today.......I too remember taking off from work at the beginning.....calling my boss and tearing up.....I was a mess......Guess it goes w/the territory......You did a great job today......Now you have more data and will know a little better about how Mowgli fares w/the insulin.....

Just wanted to say ....AWESOME JOB TODAY!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top