11/2 MaryGrace AMPS ??, +4 274, +8.5 219,PMPS 433 +1 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
Hi! My name is Elizabeth and my sugar baby is Mary Grace and I was invited over to this group. I am type one diabetic myself so I will probably mention that from time to time. I wish there was a human version of this for others to help with curves and such! This website and members such as yourself are awesome!!!
Her 5 Ps are good today except her she is still ravenously hungry!
I look forward to more data as the days to come so I can get her regulated
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Congrats on getting Mary Grace's spreadsheet up and running and starting to home test. It looks like your kitty was diagnosed in September. How long has she been getting insulin? It's helpful to know how long she's been getting Lantus so we know if a dose increase is due. Does she have any medical concerns we should be aware of? (For example, any history of ketones/diabetic ketoacidosis?)

I'd encourage you to read through the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will help to familiarize you with Lantus (if you're not already familiar with it from your own experience) as well as with this Board.

Please let us know if you have any questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge. We're all here to help.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Elizabeth!!

I forgot to tell you, when you do your condo's over here, please add the link to the condo from the day before. That way we can quickly go back and see what might have gone on the day before without searching

Here's her post from Health viewtopic.php?f=28&t=106712

Once you get her under better control, the ravenous hunger should get better. Insulin is what makes it possible for the cells to get the nutrition out of the food they're eating, so our diabetic kitties are basically starving although they're eating us out of house and home.

Hopefully we'll be able to help you get Mary Grace under better control soon and you'll start to see some improvement!

(I have been meaning to ask you...where did the name Kitten Cow come from?)
 
How's Mary Grace doing today, Elizabeth?

Hope the switch in time didn't throw her off too much! I know all mine are a little grumpy about the changes in breakfast and dinner times!
 
just adding a welcome to Lantus Land! glad to meet you, Elizabeth, and Mary Grace!

Maybe some of what you learn here about taking care of her diabetes will help you too. we've had a couple of other members who were diabetic.
 
Mary Grace has been on since the end of September, with her first two weeks on Prozinc. Then I switched vets and started her on Lantus (and I have used Lantus myself years ago before I went on an insulin pump and it does burn if its is given straight from the fridge so it is better to give it 5 or 10 on the counter)
She does not have any other conditions going on. The vet did a complete lab work up, so thyroid etc was normal. The does when she started the Lantus was the same as the Prozinc, 2 units BID. A few weeks later the vet had me come in for a test (ending up being only a blood glucose test and I was sooo mad because they charged me $30 and before I had told the vet I wanted to do that since I was familiar with the testing myself) Anyway it was around 267, I didn't see the vet. So I chose to increase it by .50 to make it 2.5 units 2x a day. A week later I went in for the frucosmine test and a few days later the vet left message that she was poorly controlled and would have to be hospitalized if she didn't get it under control and to increase it to 3 units 2x a day and only feed 1.5 cans of fancy feast a day. That's when I chose to ignore her recommendations and get all my recommendations from everyone here at this website. I did give her the 3 units 2 a day for under a week until Chris and other suggested that that was way too high. I droped back to 2.5 and for about a week now it has been only 2 units. Trying my hardest to get her numbers in and have figured out she is much easier to let me test her when her numbers aren't above 300. I had some help this weekend and did get some data. I was able to get her first AMPS today and first pmamp last night. So we are making progress! I just wonder if, humans have what is called algramrythm (spelling?) anyway, my insulin needs are different throughout the day-thus the insulin pump. For example I need a lot more insulin at 5am than I do at 5pm (almost half as much) can cats be like this to?
And Chris- as for putting link from the previous day's post? Little confused. How do I do that? Not very tech savvy---took hours to get the spreadsheet up!!!
Does the spreadsheet on my signature update every time I plug in numbers?
As for the name Kitten Cow -when I first saw him he reminded me of a dairy cow, with him being all white with black spots. He is the biggest love muffin there is! Thanks again for all the advice and encouragement. By the way, I have not been in touch with the vet since she said that about hospitalization and I am going to need more syringes. I don't use them myself anymore since I wear an insulin pump-- do they require a RX?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top