11/2 Marvin Dosing Advice Please AMPS 211, +2 169, +3 109, +4 97, +5 98

Kwyn

Member
Hi,

I have been doing tight regulation with Marvin and not seeing much movement out of the pinks and reds. Consulted with the vet and he didn't think his tarter and mild gingivitis was enough to affect his sugars. So I have been increasing his dose every 3 days up to 4.5 units. Marvin has been eating Friskies pates since he was originally diet controlled so I wasn't thinking that it could be his food. Now I think it is the rice that may be affecting his sugars.

I switched to FF last night and his AMPS this morning was 211. I was nervous about shooting 4.5 units so I reduced it to 3.5. This brought him down to the blues and greens. My question is should I stay at 3.5 units or go back up to 4 or 4.5 to try to get his numbers lower or stick with 3.5? I do have my hypo kit ready.

Thank you for your time!
Kwyn and Marvin
 
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-please.294781/

Friskies pates have rice in them? They are supposed to be low carb (I'm not in the US).

I would have stayed with 4.5U and let him earn a reduction. It's hard to say if today's great streak of numbers are due to the change in good or whether 4.5U was a breakthrough dose for him.

Btw, with TR, you can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor. The size of the dose does not affect your decision to shoot or not, if it's a good dose for the cat. Also, even if you give a token dose, the higher depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle. You shot the full dose at 240 which is not very different from 211 given meter variance :-)
 
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-please.294781/

Friskies pates have rice in them? They are supposed to be low carb (I'm not in the US).

I would have stayed with 4.5U and let him earn a reduction. It's hard to say if today's great streak of numbers are due to the change in good or whether 4.5U was a breakthrough dose for him.

Btw, with TR, you can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor. The size of the dose does not affect your decision to shoot or not, if it's a good dose for the cat. Also, even if you give a token dose, the higher depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle. You shot the full dose at 240 which is not very different from 211 given meter variance :)

Thank you so much for your reply!

Yes, Friskies pates in the US have rice in them. The only one that I can find that doesn't is the chicken with extra gravy (meat juices). Your reply was after our PMPS so I ended up doing only 3.5 units because I couldn't stay up all night to monitor him. He is paying for the dose reduction now with high numbers today. I went back to 4.5 units this morning so we will see how it goes.

Thank you again!
 
Back
Top