11.2 Charlie AMPS 137 +2 159 +3 128 +7 87 +10 134 PMPS 148 +4 135

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
How does one eliminate all the blue numbers with a reduction at 90, or even 80? Which is right back where we were in February. He would be blue and then drop below the reduction point.

He was 74 and 78. Under SLGS, that's a reduction. Even under the modified 80 as a cut-off, he was below the number for reduction.

I have read all the TR stuff, debated, talked about it, it's not possible for us to regularly do all of the feeding the drops stuff to make sure he stays over 50. I cannot stay up all night testing. It just doesn't make sense for my job and my poor brain that needs like 9 hours of sleep, which I haven't gotten in so long as it is.
 
And now he's on this prescription food that's 21% carbs.. what is a medium carb food for him or a high carb food? I can't make it make sense
 
You want to try and avoid reductions so quickly by feeding the curve. That means feeding higher lc or even mc to get him to not drop too low. Did you really go from 1.75 to .75? You reduced in larger than suggested amounts. We usually reduce in .25 increments. You reduced from 3 units to 2 units. I think it’s going to catch up and he might start to see higher bg. In a week you have reduced from 3.25 to .50.
 
You want to try and avoid reductions so quickly by feeding the curve. That means feeding higher lc or even mc to get him to not drop too low. Did you really go from 1.75 to .75? You reduced in larger than suggested amounts. We usually reduce in .25 increments. You reduced from 3 units to 2 units. I think it’s going to catch up and he might start to see higher bg. In a week you have reduced from 3.25 to .50.

That is actually a hc food so you can’t really feed the curve. Maybe reduce the reduction number to 70? @Wendy&Neko
 
People who modify SLGS, modify it for what makes sense for their cat. Typically they'll lower the reduction point if they find that the old reduction point meant the cat was never holding their reductions. Right now you are using 90 and it's too early to tell if that's going to work for Charlie in lower doses. Last night's cycle still had some of the 2 and 1.75 unit depot influencing the numbers. I hope you'll be able to hold this dose long enough to figure out if it's a good dose for him. And if below 90 is still a good reduction number.

@tiffmaxee She went from 1.75 to 0.75 units because Charlie's dose has been doing ridiculous things and she had to be out of town all day with another cat at the vet. 0.75 units was supposed to be the BCS dose to keep him safe.
 
@tiffmaxee We got Charlie off prednisolone on October 10th. I think that's why he's been running down his dose decreases like this. It is also possible that the low-fat food plus Omegas is having the intended effect of reducing his hyperlipidemia and thus inflammatory response to that. We'll know more about that next week when he goes in for a triglycerides check. He has been positively full of beans lately and has been doing kitten-level zoomies. I've had to take everything I thought I knew about him, from when his onset is to his nadir to his propensity to bounce, and throw it out the window. He's like a whole new cat and I feel like I'm starting all over, if that makes sense. The upside is that he's sleeping through the night better instead of screaming at me for food all night.

Because he's been so unpredictable lately and there wasn't going to be anyone to feed him or watch him while I was out of state taking his brother to the fancy university vet, I dropped his dose in half from what would have been a reduction to 1.5 to .75 the night before and yesterday morning. He didn't eat out of the autofeeder, so I'm guessing that's one reason he was lower at his PMPS last night, 90, but he plopped himself down into the 70s again last night. So I gave 0.5 this morning. He was in the blues and stayed there through his +3, but at +7, he was 87.

I think I will hold this dose for now. I feel comfortable going to 80 as the reduction number seems to put us in a better place for more green numbers while limiting the risk of him dropping under 50, necessitating the addition of Karo to his food because yes, cannot feed the curve like this. If he's still in the blues in the morning, I could see moving to 70 as things progress. But at 0.5, there's only so much left to go. I did have him on a drop dose for a while before he went haywire the last time we tried to get him off pred.
 
How long was he on prednisolone? I’ve got one on it and down to 1.25 twice a week for suspected IBD. Her biopsies were in inclusive. I am so scared she will become diabetic and hoping she can go off it now.
 
He was on pred since June 2021. I brought him into the vet because he wasn't eating and vomiting. This was during COVID when I couldn't go in with him. They said he had a blood clotting disorder and put him on increasing doses since then. After he was diagnosed with diabetes, that practice was doing bonkers things and I switched him to an all cat practice and they took multiple smears of his blood and actually looked through a microscope and said nope he definitely does not have a blood clotting disorder. We tried to get him off pred then and he ended up having a pancreatitis flare, which is what led to the IBD diagnosis. But at the internist vet who had a board certified radiologist look, they thought his intestines were in bad shape because of his pancreatitis, not the other way around.

He must have some food sensitivities, because he still throws up sometimes. I think fish is one. We never did a biopsy because he'd never been off the pred. We could do one now but he's had such a good run lately.

Have you and your vet discussed budesonide? It supposedly works directly on the digestive track and has fewer side effects than prednisolone
 
I asked about budesonide when given prednisolone but he said no. Today he said to continue another month on twice a week. Her issue that worries me is her ravenous appetite.

Give this dose a couple of days. Going off prednisolone many fly down the dosing scale.
 
I am so scared she will become diabetic and hoping she can go off it now.
Prednisilone is really ECID as to impacts on BG. I've had two cats with GI issues (both SCL) on it. One of them's base line BG went from the 50's to the 90's on 10mg pred, then down to 70's when he went down to 5mg. Current kitty, been on 4 mg pred for 5.5 years, still registers normal on her blood work. I tried reducing the pred dose to zero, and her body said "nope!". Would love to have ravenous appetite.

Many cats with GI issues have pancreatitis. If Charlie has food issues, likely some IBD. If you can control with just diet, that's great.

I like the idea of trying 80 for now as reduction point. I love how he's been like a kitten lately. :cool:
 
@Wendy&Neko I've been surprised he's handled this prescription food as well as he has. Although, he has thrown it up a few times. He threw up raw rabbit exactly once (very memorable, stepped in it immediately upon coming home from a work trip).

He was higher today but his lowest number was still under 90 (87).

Some of the other cats are less than thrilled he wants to wrestle and chase but it's been nice to see. He definitely feels better
 
Much higher numbers today, only one green. So I imagine we'll be going back up again after a curve in a week.

Since we went down to every other day pred and then off it, he's had 5 PMPS numbers under 100 and no AMPS numbers. The lowest AMPS was 128
 
Hi Sarah. I don't have advice for you. Wanted to say how impressed I am with the way you're managing Charlie's BG. Feels like you're walking on a tight rope and doing a great job :bighug:
 
Charlie, why are you eating Harold's food 20 minutes before shot time?
Mom, why did you leave it down?

You win, Charlie.

Harold will be starting meds for his heart hopefully next week and starting a hail Mary antibiotic protocol that some vet at K-State throws at mystery cats. The heart stuff was shocking but also surprising is they thought he was at least 8-9 years old and not 5. So instead of being one of two babies, he's now the old man! Which actually makes a lot more sense the way he is.
 
Back
Top