11/19 Tilda AMPS 207, +2 183, +4 83, +5 59

Look at Tilda go :D:D!
Yes when following SLGS every drop under 90 is a reduction so congrats!
I think that the food change is having a positive effect on her BGs. How far along are you in the transition to all Low Carb?

If you're feeding all wet food (no dry food) have you looked into TR protocol? That would keep Tilda on a dose before reducing until she drops under 50 or spends one week in greens.
 
Look at Tilda go :D:D!
Yes when following SLGS every drop under 90 is a reduction so congrats!
I think that the food change is having a positive effect on her BGs. How far along are you in the transition to all Low Carb?

If you're feeding all wet food (no dry food) have you looked into TR protocol? That would keep Tilda on a dose before reducing until she drops under 50 or spends one week in greens.

She's boycotting the 14% food so she's probably getting 30/70 split old food/new 7% today... I wonder if the new food makes her feel better in a few ways. I could switch entirely to 7% at this point but wanted to go slow.

@Bandit's Mom suggested we only reduce under 70.. so we're closer to TR but not quite. I'm open to switching to TR now! (only nervous with the food change and an upcoming trip early December).
 
It just might be :)
If she's rejecting the 14% maybe it's her way of telling you she's ready for all low carb :p.

A lot of members following SLGS lower their reduction point. You might want to note that in your SS and signature if the lower reduction point.
Here's the link to read more about TR https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

It makes sense to switch to me! I don't want to race down in dosing if it's not going to help her in the long run. So with TR, we'd hold this dose if I'm catching on... until she went under 50/week in the greens. And then possibly increase after 3 days if she isn't staying under 200 overall...?

edit: Forgot to ask, if I want to switch should I take this reduction... change 100% to the new food... and then start TR? Don't want too many changes at once...
 
It makes sense to switch to me! I don't want to race down in dosing if it's not going to help her in the long run. So with TR, we'd hold this dose if I'm catching on... until she went under 50/week in the greens. And then possibly increase after 3 days if she isn't staying under 200 overall...?
Bhooma will be thrilled to see how enthusiastic you are about switching to TR. If it becomes too intense, you can always switch back ;).
With today's nadir, you would hold the dose of 1 unit.
When considering an increase, we look at the cats nadir, lowest point of the cycle, and if it's in the range of 50-80 on a human meter. If it is, hold the dose. If nadirs are higher than that, then increase by .25. I found that I would post for advice if when to increase. :bighug:
 
Bhooma will be thrilled to see how enthusiastic you are about switching to TR. If it becomes too intense, you can always switch back ;).
With today's nadir, you would hold the dose of 1 unit.
When considering an increase, we look at the cats nadir, lowest point of the cycle, and if it's in the range of 50-80 on a human meter. If it is, hold the dose. If nadirs are higher than that, then increase by .25. I found that I would post for advice if when to increase. :bighug:

I'm feeling so much more comfortable with all the help I'm getting here! So thankful.

I guess then two questions:

Do I need to test more often if I'm seeing she's close to under 50 to "catch it" or is it all by chance/pattern (nadir time consistently etc.)?
Am I safe to switch the food to all LC now?
 
Do I need to test more often if I'm seeing she's close to under 50 to "catch it" or is it all by chance/pattern (nadir time consistently etc.)?
You test enough for TR. Soon you will see a clearer pattern of onset, nadir and duration. And just when you think you;ve got it figured out, the cat will change it up on your, just for fun ;)

Am I safe to switch the food to all LC now?
You know Tilda best. Has she had any stomach upset so far from the switch? YOu think she's ready?:p
 
You test enough for TR. Soon you will see a clearer pattern of onset, nadir and duration. And just when you think you;ve got it figured out, the cat will change it up on your, just for fun ;)

Ha! Yes that sounds about right. Ok I'm on board.

You know Tilda best. Has she had any stomach upset so far from the switch? YOu think she's ready?:p
She's raring to go on the LC food! I'll leave some 14% out for a few more days but I won't push it.
 
Ha! Yes that sounds about right. Ok I'm on board.
Good for you! Can you do us a favor and change your signature to say TR and also your SS. This will help others help you if/when you need it without having to explain every time that you switched. :)
She's raring to go on the LC food! I'll leave some 14% out for a few more days but I won't push it.
You will want to keep some medium carb and high carb food handy for those situations when they'll be needed.
 
Good for you! Can you do us a favor and change your signature to say TR and also your SS. This will help others help you if/when you need it without having to explain every time that you switched. :)

You will want to keep some medium carb and high carb food handy for those situations when they'll be needed.

Thanks! Done! Appreciate the gentle pushing to TR... I needed it. Forgive me if it's weird to ask, are you in NYC also? ...and if so do you have a magic diabetes friendly pet sitter? I am so nervous for a trip in early December.


And of course I just bought a whole thing of the 14% ha!
 
Thanks! Done! Appreciate the gentle pushing to TR... I needed it. Forgive me if it's weird to ask, are you in NYC also? ...and if so do you have a magic diabetes friendly pet sitter? I am so nervous for a trip in early December.


And of course I just bought a whole thing of the 14% ha!
I'm in Queens. I haven't left Cleo other than for a night and I would just skip at that time.
Have you looked at a Vet tech? You can search the Main Forum for posts on pet sitters. There are some websites and apps. There are also a me other suggestions to help.
 
I'm in Queens. I haven't left Cleo other than for a night and I would just skip at that time.
Have you looked at a Vet tech? You can search the Main Forum for posts on pet sitters. There are some websites and apps. There are also a me other suggestions to help.

Thanks, I'll check that out. We're in Brooklyn. I found someone who is new to diabetes but is a full time sitter, involved in cat rescue, staying overnight etc. eager to learn. I am terrified but can't miss a big milestone for a family member.

Also her numbers remain in the green so far. Will see what the pmps is!
 
Not being a baby at all! If you're not confident and stressed, you can always skip. She recovered very well and quickly from the last fur shot. Just pretend it's a fur shot should you decide to skip.

If you decide to shoot, do you have anything higher than the 14% carbs on hand?
 
Not being a baby at all! If you're not confident and stressed, you can always skip. She recovered very well and quickly from the last fur shot. Just pretend it's a fur shot should you decide to skip.

If you decide to shoot, do you have anything higher than the 14% carbs on hand?

Thank you :arghh: I'll see what the pmps is and decide...

I have dry food that's like 40+%. Nothing wet that's higher than 14% though.
 
Congrats...this is for you for shooting your first green PS
upload_2023-11-19_20-38-13.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-19_20-38-13.png
    upload_2023-11-19_20-38-13.png
    69.1 KB · Views: 189
Back
Top