11/19 Skooter AMBG 77 PMPS 112 +1.75 97 +3 73 +4.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The +9 snack experiment condo (11/19)

Welpers, Skooter did NOT get insulin this morning. I do believe the +9 snack thang is working for him, almost too well this morning. While the 77 is not the lowest we have shot, I wasn't able to do any testing after +2.75 last night, so I am not sure where his night went (thought happy his +2.75 is basically the same as this morning) and the turkey breast I have been munching on since Sunday may or may not have contributed/led to a very disturbing dream I had last night regarding Skooter and his insulin. Add in the fact it is easier to tell you when I DON"T have meetings today, so no coming home and I need to help move furniture afterwork, so I will be barely making it in the door to t/f/s, I opted for no shot for peace of mind....


Yes, I know I could have stalled and see if he was going up, or even tried to give him a drop or .1U....I just needed the peace of mind today. He USUALLY bounces back from these skips very nicely and so hopefully he does the same for me today....

This week has gone by MUCH too slowly and I am CONVINCED it is actually Fursday.....how disappointing will it be when I go to work tomorrow and it isn't Friday :sad:
 
Re: 11/19 Skooter AMBG 77

I'm thinking the skip was a good call, Molly. Just so darned hard to be working and wondering about the Skoots. And he does have this grand ability to take things in stride and get back with the program again.

Lots of hopes sent that work settles down pretty soon.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/19 Skooter AMBG 77 PMPS 112

As my heart continues to break for Dyana and Ginger....it now breaks even more as I think of Melinda, Paul and their furbabies Xena and Sam....holding them all close to my heart tonight and sending extra healing vines to Xena and Sam that they recover quickly...

I am happy how well Skooter seems to have handled not getting his shot today....I will be curious as to what the rest of the night will bring....

So here is my next question.....I don't want to keep skipping AM shots, but it is a catch 22....so do I hold off on giving him his +9 snack before his AM cycle and just stick to his PM cycle for awhile or keep giving his +9 before his AM cycle and skip if too low?
 
Re: 11/19 Skooter AMBG 77 PMPS 112

I have been doing a lot of thinking over the past few months, as I see some new friends lose their beloved furbabies and it has really made me think about this journey we are all on. Feliene Diabetes is a blessing and a curse.

I have frustrating times, have lost some of my ability to do something "spur of the moment" and shed more tears in the past several months for those who have lost their beloved furbabies than I care to admit, for people who are new in my life....and while I have not and may not ever meet anyone of you face to face....the bond that is shared between us, the love and care that we have for each other is beyond measure and words....it amazes me how we celebrate each other's successes, encourage each other in our "failures" and come together to mourn the loss of one of our own....

I want to take a minute to thank everyone and I wish I could list everyone individually, that has helped Skooter and myself on this journey. You truly have all become part of our family and you all mean so much to me....

I could have missed the pain (feline diabetes), but I'd have had to miss the dance (the amazing people and experiences I have gained from knowing all of you and being part of this amazing forum)....This isn't the PERFECT song to explain how I feel, but hopefully you get the gist

[youtube]lhyijN4ftko[/youtube]


From me and Skooter, to each and everyone of you.......THANK YOU for allowing us to become part of this amazing family....


***If I was at all computer savvy, I would have made a video with all our sweet kittens, but I suck at computers so you can look at Garth :) ***
 
Re: 11/19 Skooter AMBG 77 PMPS 112

Good call on the skip. Looks like Skooter hardly missed a beat. :-D Yes, LL is an amazing place filled with caring, generous people. We are fortunate to be a part of this family. :-D :-D You said it all very well, Molly.
Liz
 
Re: 11/19 Skooter AMBG 77 PMPS 112 +1.75 97

Hmmmm..."Wasn't able to test after +2.75 last night"....Or in a turkey induced coma? :lol:

Skooter's looking great, and he seems to take his skips in stride, so always better to be safe and not have to worry about him while you're trying to make a good impression at your new job.

I think I'd continue the +9 experiment myself....if you have to skip due to a low morning PS a lot, that gives you more data to worth with ....You can always change it later if you need to
 
Re: 11/19 Skooter AMBG 77 PMPS 112 +1.75 97

Skooter certainly gave you a good answer to the question about how he would do tonight after this morning's skipped shot! :mrgreen: Back to bizness as usual! Nice job, Skoots!

I agree with the rest that you made a good decision. Better a day too high than a minute too low! And Skooter didn't even do the too high part!

I think Garth's The Dance was an excellent choice and said it perfectly. LL has been a very sad place recently, but having so many people to share the burden with lightens the load. We are indeed a big, loving family of people who have never met! How cool is that?
 
I think we have achieved surfing.....

His +9 snack has been added to his auto feeder...previously I had been getting up, but this morning we had an argument for about an hour...he thought because I got up it was time to be up, I thought I was just feeding him and then going back to bed....needless to say that didn't go over well...

He is getting more used to using his autofeeder and going to it when he hears it, so hopefully he will not only hear it, but also get up to eat from it...since cats tend to be creatures of habit, I am hoping when he is hungry at that time, he meanders over to his autofeeder and eats up.....

With this lovely surf he has and the fact he tends to nadir early, I think I might try to make up that hour of sleep I lost this morning...

I have to say, he has recently fallen in love with the bed my sister got him, which is great because it gets used....but I kinda miss him snugglin with me :cry: :roll:

Oh well, the bed is right beside the couch that I have been sleeping on over the last several months....

Sweet dreams LL and I will be saying another prayer for all the kittehs who have recently gone to the Rainbow Bridge as well as the hoomins and fur siblings they left behind...

xoxo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top