11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72,PMPS-151,+3.5-79

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=83408
11/18 Racci AMPS-169,+3.75-131,PMPS-163

Hi all!

Sorry I'm so late today. I've been busy with a bunch of phone calls and paperwork, one of those days. Well as you can see, Racci is really out of control with her high bg today! She even hit a yellow! I decided to try an increase to 3.5u (.25u) and see if that helps. It will take at least a few days to see any affects probably since Racci usually bounces with changes. Something to keep in mind also is this is not her regular meter and is usually about 15% higher than the Bayer.

Other than the crazy bg racci seems fine and is taking a nap but had all her p's. I'll test again and hope she went down.


ttyL.
Melanie &
racci
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150

I dont think your SS is updated yet? But anyway looks like she is coming down now.. Maybe she bounced last night? Go blue green Racci!
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150

Hi Melanie, good luck on the dosecrease. You asked me a couple days ago about my two meters and how they compare. I've done a few tests with both to compare. The Arkay Vital seems to read 10-20 points higher than the Relion Confirm. This is just sporadic testing between the two and when I'm unsure of a number with the Arkay. They both take a small size blood and both swipe really well. I think the Relion Confirm may take a smaller sample. I like both meters. The Arkay Vital was free at one time thru ADW. If you're looking for another meter, the Relion Prime was mentioned here. I'll check back with you. I'm working on insurance papers, ugh!
One other thing, the Relion Confirm beeps, whereas there is no beep with the Arkay Vital, just counts from 6 to 1. Ther might be a mechanism to set a beep, but I don't miss the beep.
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150

Hi Wendy,

I didn't get a chance to update the SS today yet but yes, she is coming down today finally after that high yellow this morning! She had finished with all that bouncing nonsense except for when she changed doses but lately with this craziness of bg's it looks like she might be bouncing again. I'll have to look over her ss carefully to determine that since she hasn't done it in so long. I'll check it out. Thanks.
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72

Hi Ann,

Thanks for the meter info! The beep isn't important to me. Racci is used to it but doesn't really like it. I'm more concerned with the size of blood drop and speed that it reads it. I also like the low to medium readers as opposed to high readers so I don't get nervous. :lol:
I'm thinking of getting one of them because of the cost of strips.Theirs are half the price of the Bayer and the strips are breaking me. I spend a fortune on them every month. Thanks!

Btw, I was working on insurance today too1 :lol: TTYL
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72

Hi Melanie - we are SO jealous on the greens! :-D :-D :-D I have to get back to the insurance - what a pain. I guess we are all drudging through that now.

I'm sorry I missed your discussion about meters. I love the ReLion Confirm. However, it's the only one we've used, but I'm surprised sometimes how little blood it needs to work. Leo doesn't mind the beep either - I think he waits for it and he knows the beep means he was a good boy and the treat is coming! The price of the strips is great. There is a newer one from Walmart that has even cheaper strips but we haven't checked it out.
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72,+3.5-79

Hi Lisa,

Leo has been high but he was just diagnosed not long ago. It sometimes takes a while but you'll get there. It took Racci forever to get greens. Now I'm spoiled. She's doing terribly for her. I'm used to her getting all or almost all greens with a smattering of low blues. This is really off for her. I just gave her another increase this morning so I'm hoping I can get her low again and moving at least then I can start decreasing again. keep following the protocol and increase when you're supposed to and he'll get there.

Thanks for the meter input! I guess it's insurance time! I didn't realize! :lol:

Goodnight!
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72,+3.5-79

Hi Melanie, I agree with Lisa on the Relion Confirm in that I, too, am surprised at what little blood it needs to take a reading. I think the other meter is the Relion Prime that was mentioned and also sold at Walmart. I'd need to go back and check, but I believe Patty & Champ was talking about the Relion Prime in your condo a couple days ago. Oh my gosh on the insurance! I had no idea and what a learning process. I always had it so easy with choices with my company, but now I had to go out and pick an insurance plan so that I could keep my rheumatologist. I'll do anything to keep him. I also had to pick a prescription drug program.
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72,+3.5-79

The prime strips ar 9.00 for 50. I buy 2 at a time. If you go up to the pharmacy they have them behind the counter at walmart. sometimes they don't have any on the shelf on the floor becsue they are in boxes so no one steals them.
the meter is 14.00 I think
also the relion lancet machine -it the quietest one I have found ,with a longer handle
 
Re: 11/19 Racci AMPS 249!, +3.75-150,+7-72,+3.5-79

The prime strips ar 9.00 for 50. I buy 2 at a time. If you go up to the pharmacy they have them behind the counter at walmart. sometimes they don't have any on the shelf on the floor becsue they are in boxes so no one steals them.
the meter is 14.00 I think
also the relion lancet machine -it the quietest one I have found ,with a longer handle
 
Hi Ann,

Yes, It was Patty that was talking about the Relion Prime. She said (ADW) Arkay (sp?) and Walmart are the same so if that's the case, I can get it at ADW without a problem. I hate Walmart and really don't want to have to go all the way over there when I need strips. I'd rather get them on line. Walmart is about 20 miles from me and always packed.

I'm dealing with house insurance not health but did that already. yuck!

Have a great day!
Hugs,
Melanie
 
Hi Misty,

I usually buy 250 (8 boxes) at once if I can find a deal or 200 if not. I hate running out of them. It's such a drag. :lol:

Have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top