11/19 Michelangelo AMPS 317, +6/300, +8/299 PMPS 320, +4/185

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

I'm beginning to suspect that maybe from all those weeks of me "rolling" the Lantus that I might have damaged its potency. I increased his dose to a full 1u instead of a skinny this morning and I'm absolutely certain it went in, yet his numbers have remained steady at 300 (the higher numbers that are over 300 are due to feeding him the previous hour).

I also noticed at right around +6, his skin twitching became more pronounced and he had a burst of energy, but no lower numbers :sad:

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Hows everything going? No posts since yesterday? Hope all is ok..

Yeah, everything's going all right. Got swamped with work and haven't had a moment to update. :-D
 
Re: 11/19 Michelangelo AMPS 317, +6/300, +8/299

Looks like he is bouncing from his blue last night . You can see it also happened on the morning of the 16th.

Reason is, he hasnt been in normal cat BG levels for a while. His body has gotten used to high yellows and pinks when he is supposed to be green!. So now when he does hit a blue or green, his liver panics since it hasnt seen low numbers like that for a while. The liver has forgotten what normal looks like and ....overreacts. It does this by helping to produce glucose!! So now when you get a comparatively low number (like you did last night) it can then be followed by up to 48 hours of high numbers due to the liver pumping out glycogen
. It does pass and it looks like its doing that already. The more often you force the BG down into normal levels (with help of insulin) the more the liver stops overreacting and eventually all you see is blue and green.

So long story short, dont worry about the pinks.. all is good so far. Maybe we will even see another blue tonite! Good job on increasing the dose, he did need it.
tx
 
Re: 11/19 Michelangelo AMPS 317, +6/300, +8/299

It does look like a bounce for little Mikey.

Actually what happens is the liver becomes accustomed to the higher BGs from FD and sees them as normal. When Mikey has numbers that are lower than what the liver now perceives as normal, or when Mikey's BG might take a quick dive, the liver releases counterregulatory hormones to bring the BG up. Then pancreas releases glucagon. Both result in higher blood glucose.
 
Re: 11/19 Michelangelo AMPS 317, +6/300, +8/299

I had read about the somogyi rebound, but I had thought that only applied to low numbers. This is comforting to hear :smile: His numbers do look a little better tonight, so hopefully this is just the rain before the rainbow.
 
Re: 11/19 Michelangelo AMPS 317, +6/300, +8/299 PMPS 320, +4

Kay

Somogyi has not been proven to exist in cats, and especially would not occur in a cat where the TR protocol has been followed. Somogyi, as defined, is the rebound which occurs from a chronic overdose. You would get extreme lows followed by highs. By taking our cats up in very small increments and reducing the dose when a reduction is earned, it's not possible for Somogyi to occur. Many vets see the bouncing and automatically call it Somogyi. They don't really look at the curves closely and see our kitties often bounce off a blue number.

The bouncing our TR kitties do is different. Bouncing can be caused by any number lower than the liver is used to. It doesn't have to be an extremely low number. It can also be caused by dives.

If you would like more info, please let me know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top