11/19 Dasher AMPS 74, 47 +2 1/2 , 73 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
Dasher seems to do best with one shot a day as I'm already giving him only 0.25. Everything says its best to do the two shots a day but he's already this low at +2 1/2 . I'm going to print out his SS and take it to the vet to discuss our next step. I will be around with him today and will check it again every 2 hours so I'm not real worried about him going too low as I'm ready if and when it happens.
Any thoughts?
 
Re: 11/19 Dasher AMPS 74, 47 +2 1/2

Personally I would take him off and see if he can fly solo. Even when you have skipped a shot he hasn't come out of the green. As long as he stays between 40-120 on a human meter I wouldn't shoot at all. It only took a diet change and 2 weeks on insulin for my Maxwell to go OTJ and he hasn't looked back in 4 years and counting.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Dasher AMPS 74, 47 +2 1/2

MommaOfMuse said:
Personally I would take him off and see if he can fly solo. Even when you have skipped a shot he hasn't come out of the green. As long as he stays between 40-120 on a human meter I wouldn't shoot at all. It only took a diet change and 2 weeks on insulin for my Maxwell to go OTJ and he hasn't looked back in 4 years and counting.

Mel and The Fur Gang

That's what I'm thinking too. I do plan on talking with his vet and suggesting some changes he should think about when first diagnosing cats. He needs to tell them to STOP all hard dry food and then when the owner brings in the cat to be shown how to give a shot do a BG to see where they are. I wish we would of gotten a BG on Dasher before hand since we stopped all dry food immediately upon being told he had it.

Thanks
 
Re: 11/19 Dasher AMPS 74, 47 +2 1/2

Robin-S said:
I do plan on talking with his vet and suggesting some changes he should think about when first diagnosing cats. He needs to tell them to STOP all hard dry food ...
Amen to that! I got no support for the wet, low carb diet from the vet who initially diagnosed Saoirse. We moved to a nearer practice shortly afterwards and, thankfully, I got support for the diet change. Our current vets consider that diabetic kitties do best on wet, low carb food.
 
Re: 11/19 Dasher AMPS 74, 47 +2 1/2

It took me 3 vet changes before I finally landed with one that I can deal with. The one before this last one as a great vet as long as we weren't talking Feline Diabetes and she came a long ways in learning from me but still was so rigid about how to start cats on insulin and the type of insulin used that we butted heads a lot. The death blow for our relationship was when she suggested not once but twice that with antibiotics because they tasted bitter than I mix them with pancake syrup!!!! Uh-NO! So not hopping up a diabetic on pancake syrup for 10 days and trying to send them into a diabetic coma just so I can get antibiotics down their throats. Sort of defeats the purpose of both the antibiotics and the insulin.

My new vet is awesome she supports wet food, home testing and Lantus although still has the crazy idea that you start at 2u bid but we are working on that one with her. And she is learning about Levemir. It just took doing a lot of question asking and a couple firings until I found one that would at least work with me as a partner and realize that I live with this cat, they didn't and they could make all the suggestions in the world but I was the one that ultimately held the syringe and I was the one that was going to lose sleep if this cat hypoed overnight.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top