? 11/19 Chispa, 117 AMPS, 70 +2, 67 +3.25

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...04-3-118-4-25-155-pmps-112-2-101-3-25.283620/

Hey everyone! Busy week and weekend here with wrapping up a project, but I hope to catch a break soon. Chispa had her best AMPS in weeks yesterday (108), and then I had to go and blow it with a partial fur shot. :banghead: But today my little trooper is back in good numbers and enjoying a lazy Sunday.

She has an appointment at the vet tomorrow at 2:30 PM for an oral exam to see what is going on with the squeaking/clacking noises when she eats and the pawing at her mouth right after. She will be sedated but not completely anesthetized for the exam. They told me not to fast her, since she is diabetic, and reassured me that they commonly use this sedative in emergencies, when the pet hasn't had time to be fasted. My question is, is that really safe, or should I skip the morning shot and fast her anyway?

Thanks for any advice.

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

IMG_1047.JPG
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1047.JPG
    IMG_1047.JPG
    93.9 KB · Views: 174
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...04-3-118-4-25-155-pmps-112-2-101-3-25.283620/

Hey everyone! Busy week and weekend here with wrapping up a project, but I hope to catch a break soon. Chispa had her best AMPS in weeks yesterday (108), and then I had to go and blow it with a partial fur shot. :banghead: But today my little trooper is back in good numbers and enjoying a lazy Sunday.

She has an appointment at the vet tomorrow at 2:30 PM for an oral exam to see what is going on with the squeaking/clacking noises when she eats and the pawing at her mouth right after. She will be sedated but not completely anesthetized for the exam. They told me not to fast her, since she is diabetic, and reassured me that they commonly use this sedative in emergencies, when the pet hasn't had time to be fasted. My question is, is that really safe, or should I skip the morning shot and fast her anyway?

Thanks for any advice.

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

View attachment 68009
Awww so sweet, Chispa :kiss:
Good luck tomorrow, Karen!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Neko would occasionally get a little feisty at the vet. It wasn't uncommon the vet (especially cardio vet) would have to sedate her before an echo or exam if I wasn't there. No change in feeding or shots required for just sedation. Neko was always much calmer if she'd had her breakfast.

Good luck at vetty tomorrow!
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
Thank you, Elise and Wendy, for your reassurances. They told me the name of the sedative, but of course it went in one ear and out the other. Estimate I received just says "feline anesthesia injectable." I will ask them tomorrow.

@Angela & Cleo
I had not seen that post with the chart before --many thanks for the link! So helpful.:cat: I bookmarked it.

@Staci & Ivy @Mikanmama @Bandit's Mom @cecile & bella
Thank you, Staci, Kit, Bhooma, and Cecile for your good wishes -- Chispa and I really appreciate them! It's always nerve-wracking, but with the power of the FDMB behind us, I am sure it will be ok.

:bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top