11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; PMPS 330, back from dental!

Status
Not open for further replies.

evakot

Member Since 2010
Hi All,

Wow, it's been a stressful day fo me and my Big guy, but we are back home now from the dental.

Overall, the vet said everything went really well up until the point he woke up from anasthesia. She said he was easy to put under and didn't give them hard time before the procedure. He had a lot of tartar and gingivitis, but the tooth with the absess was fine to stay- the absess was tartar build up under his gum. She did end up taking out two very tiny teeth at the very back of his mouth. She showed me a model of cat's teeth and these two are trully tiny- up on top, the last teeth. She said they were really inflammed.

She didn't give me any pain meds to administer at home, neither additional antibiotics. She said the shot of Convenia he got 2 days ago should cover him and she didn't think the tiny extractions are going to be painful (I kinda wonder about it....extraction is an extraction, and they do hurt..?).

The real drama started once he woke up from anasthesia and they called me to come pick him up. He turned into the Incredible Hulk. I've NEVER seen my cat this rageful. Even I was scared of him. Four people were trying to put him from the post-op cage into the carrier and he was fighting them like a wild beast. He was standing up on his hind paws and hissing and swatting furiously. It was a really disturbing scene. I wasn't recognizing my cat. He has NEVER been that angry before, even though he is temperamental. Finally, they told me to go into a different room, cause I was getting really upset about what was happening. This whole thing lasted about 20 minutes- no one could get a good enough grasp on him to get him in the carrier. Finally, they got him in....

The vet said it could have been a combination of high stress and the drugs. He woke up confused and scared about the surroundings and his adrenaline kicked in, so he decided to fight whomever got close to him.

We are home now and he is much calmer. I am keeping him in a darkened room. He still seems really loopy- he keeps sticking his tongue out of his mouth- is that to be expected? Also- he was trembling slightly. I took his BG, he is at 350, so it's not a hypo.

How long does it typically take for a cat to start acting more normal after a dental?

I am glad this is behind us and hope it will ultimately be for the better. But the day was rather rotten, I must say.

eva
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

I would go back and say GIVE ME PAIN MEDS.
Seriously, I don't know of anyone who does not go home with pain meds.
Sorry to hear about the convenia; I honestly don't know if that shot is sufficient.
Also, can you get a copy of the work done, including the sheet where they mark BP and all other values tracked during the process?

I am shocked that you did not even get a single bit of meds for pain. I mean, how do YOU feel after a tooth extraction? Does the dentist tell you to take some tylenol or something? Mine does. Why should the cat be any different?

My Shadoe was loopy when we got home but she was well behaved and was eating within the first hour of being home.
I gave her bupe and she also got antirobe drops I think for after the procedure. She had one upper right canine removed.

Call the vet and see if you can return for the paperwork copies, they should list all the meds given like the dental block, etc, during the procedure, and also get some pain meds.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

So sorry to hear about BKs meltdown. I had a cat that was friendly to everyone until we drove into the parking lot of the vet, then she became The Beast. Some cats just react that way. once everything is normal around him he should be much calmer.

I too would want to have pain meds on hand if he needs them.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

Called the vet to inquire about pain meds. Spoke to vet tech who relayed that the vet said:

1. he has pain meds "on board" that will last around 6-8 hours
2. the only pain med for cats they send home is Metacam which I specifically requested not to give him
3. the teeth that were taken out were "like baby teeth which were about to fall out," so there should not be any significant pain

I could sense the vet tech was getting somewhat irritated with me. I asked how would I know that he is in pain. She said he would drool or act like he wants to eat but spit out his food. If that happens, I will go to one of the emergency clinics tomorrow.

Strange thing that they only have Metacam to send home...?

I wonder if they thought i was a drug-seeker, asking them to give me pain meds to take home... @-)

Big Kitty is walking around now- still dazed-looking, but he ate some food and is keeping it down.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

What pain meds does he have "on board?" Buprenex is the most common pain med for cats. After Tess's last dental w/out extractions I was given a syringe for pain if needed. Not a shot, you squirt .1cc directly on the gums. You shouldn't have to go to the expense of the ER for this.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

Ann & Tess said:
What pain meds does he have "on board?" Buprenex is the most common pain med for cats. After Tess's last dental w/out extractions I was given a syringe for pain if needed. Not a shot, you squirt .1cc directly on the gums. You shouldn't have to go to the expense of the ER for this.

She told me the name, but I didn't write it down. It started with a T. I know for sure it wasn't Buprenex bacause when I called the vet last night to tell her not to use Metacam she said OK, but that they do not use Buprenex.

She was going to use Hydromorphone (an opioid) if there were major extractions, but ended up using something less potent, strated with a T.

Overall, seems like this pracitce doesn't use the most common cat drugs...weird.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

I am really sorry things were so tough for bk upon awakening. :( very difficult for the bean to see. ((( eva))).

May they have used tramadol for pain?

Most states have pharmacy laws and vet ethics where they need to give you choices for tx when available. That would include medications. Are they choosing not to give you pain meds or do they only have metacam available? If the only pain med they have available is one which is black boxed I would not be happy.

If your cat needs a different pain med, you go in there "gayle style" and get what you need. Its amazing the way we have to fight for our pets best interest sometimes.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

That happened with Raja at her first dental with the little shallow rooted teeth. They said it just fell out so they didn't really have to extract it. And she didn't need any ABs after her last dental....and Shadow as well. They each had ABs after the other ones though so I guess it depended on how much work was done.....

And I have never gotten pain meds either for them after dentals. They have had no extractions....
Just thought I would add another opinion here.

So Eva...how does he normally act when he goes to the vet office? It sounds as if he didn't feel right and was really upset with all that was going on....I am so sorry. But I bet he feels so much better no that he is home....and getting that plaque off that one inflamed tooth is going to make him feel so much better.
Keep watch over him...I know you will. He should be feeling much better in a few hours....keep us posted....

If you feel that he needs pain meds, then you should do as Gayle said....
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

How far are you from the vet? I would go back and say give me pain meds for my cat. How DARE you decide that the teeth were small so should not hurt. BULL that drooling is a sign of pain.
You know, if those two teeny teeth were so small and would have fallen out on their own, I would hope that they charged you a teeny amount to pluck those teeth.
3. the teeth that were taken out were "like baby teeth which were about to fall out," so there should not be any significant pain
WHAT? minor pain is OK to suffer then?

Tramadol would be good. When you go back, get some tramadol. I like buprenex, but my vet office does not stock it and order it special as needed - stupid office - so they gave me tramadol after got pissed that I had to wait for the bupe to come in the next day. My vet gave me five 5mg tramadol tablets cut in halfs.... I cut the halfs into quarters though as Ollie was pretty loopy on a half.
Oh yeah, maybe print out info about metacam being black boxed and tell the vet that you consider the use of such an item extremely poor practice.

After Shadoe's dental, she had the hydro med and still got pain meds to take home to give her for the first 2 days every 8hrs as needed.

When you are at the vet, ask for a copy of ALL the treatment, with itemized list of all meds given before, during and after. Get a copy of the diagram of the mouth with XXX at the spots where the teeth were extracted. if they have no way to copy them, tell them to start tracing. Tell them you will wait for the copies and for the pain meds. if needed, talk very loud, especially if there are others in the waiting area .... say stuff like OMG my cat is in pain such pain after his dental and you gave me NO pain meds!

Hey, I have done that! and I was ushered into an exam room and I DID get what I went there to get.

I keep a binder of ALL tests and results and bills etc for each cat. When I go to the vet with one of the binders comes with us.

You are BK's advocate; fight for what BK deserves. Is that vet the only one around you?
Sorry ... rant off/
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

"Gayle-style" - I like that! very descriptive.

people wake up like that sometimes - it's the drugs. don't know about kitties.

It would have upset me too.

just so glad it's behind you.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

Eva I know you were very upset by what you saw. It's frightening to see a generally docile pet like that. I know that humans especially children react when coming out of anesthesia. They will cry even if parents are with them. DS woke up crying and screaming PaPa and wouldn't stop even though we were there holding him. Dogs that never bite will snap at anyone near them or even at just air. It is a reaction to the medications. The liver usually processes meds so he may be a little off for a day or so depending on his age. Usually owners don't see this severe a reaction 'cause the pet is really out of the early anesthesia effects when we get them. They had you come early because they were probably afraid he might hurt himself and would calm down when he saw you.
I believe the same as Pat. Remember when children lose teeth they don't get anything except some money. :smile: :YMHUG: My kitty lost teeth and I didn't even know. ECID and BK may be just fine with his dental without anything. Please don't feel so bad. You are doing a great job.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

As Gayle suggested, the med the vet was referring to was probably Tramadol. I don't have any experience with it. You could post on Health and ask about it. I do think that if they were digging around in BK's mouth and extracted teeth, there's probably pain.

Many cats become agitated as a result of anesthesia and pain meds. It's a paradoxical reaction. A darkened, quiet room is helpful. Do not give BK a lot of food all at once. Anesthesia slows gastric motility and can result in scarf and barf. Also, you will need to monitor BG -- anesthesia can also lower BG and this could effect your shot tonight.

I'd also suggest using baby food as a treat. Most cats love the stuff and it doesn't take any chewing that would involve those back molars. (Gerber Stage 2 -- or any baby food that is just meat, broth and cornstarch is what you want -- no onions or garlic).
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

((((Eva))))

the dark room is a good idea, and I would leave him to let him settle down on his own. Check on him periodically, of course, but leaving him without much stimulation might help. Skipping his shot might not be a bad idea, especially if he needs to be alone or if he's not ready to eat much. See what the numbers are and play it by ear.

I can't answer on the meds, sorry. My cats didn't have antibiotics after because they didn't have extractions. After Lucy's dental I requested no Metacam so they gave her some bupe there, but I didn't need to bring any home because, again, no extractions, just a cleaning. Bupe is a controlled substance so it's not the easiest thing for all vets to get their hands on, so they might be telling the truth that they don't have it.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

Evening update:
pee was done nicely in the LB, 3 small snacks eaten and stayed down, water drank. He still seems a bit agitated though- not as in angry (he's been real sweet to me after we got home- I think he is embarrassed about the gruesome scene he caused at the vet), but strangely active. I expected him to be drowsy and go to sleep, but he keeps walking around, checking things out, did not sleep a bit since we are back...Doesn't seem to be in pain or discomfort, just kind of antsy...Guess it's still the adrenaline rush or the drugs...?
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

At the vet where i work we never send any dental patient home with pain meds unless there is a lot of extractions I am not saying this is right or wrong just letting one know I guess that another vet does not typically use pain meds unless they feel its really needed. Hope Big Kitty has a restful night sorry he woke up like that sometimes animals wake up like that and I hate to see it in our recovery area and it may also depend on the type of anesthesia used as well I am sure all vets vary we use isoflurane only and it keeps animals much lighter while under then some of your others that they do sometimes wake up very upset. (((((HUGS))))) to you
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

WOW - and many hugs to you and BK. Mine are always agitated when they come home too, after any procedure where they have been put under - it should pass shortly. It is good to read that he has calmed down. I had a cat many years ago that as like that at the vet- he was afraid, unsure of his surroundings, felt odd, knew it wasn't right, and lashed out at anyone. So Sorry that BK had to go through that. Hugs to you both - I hope things are better as the night goes on.
 
Re: 11/19 Big Kitty AM 336; back from dental!

I hope you and BK have a quiet evening Eva....good job today... I hope he relaxes a little more now.... :YMHUG:
 
Thank you All for your support today. It was soooo helpful to read your posts and feel the warmth after a stressful day.

Things are quiet tonight- BK still has not slept yet, but he is more relaxed. His appetite has been good - he has been asking for food and holding it down. PMPS was 330, so I gave the full dose.

I hope we will have a restful night and he will be like new tomorrow, with shiny white pearls! :-D
 
yes...the pearly whites....I hope he will finally be in the mood to smile and show them off! :lol:
His Aunties will be wanting to see them, that's for sure!!! :-D
Wishing you both a restful and nice night...there's no place like home!
 
Wow you two have had quite the day. I'm really sorry it was so stressful and I hope you both have a real good sleep tonight. You both deserve it.
 
I hope he'll settle down and both of you will be able to rest tonight. If he's up pacing, it'll be hard for you to go bed.

have a good night Eva
 
Good morning!
I hope you and BK got a bit of well deserved rest last nite.
I wanted to mention that Shadoe went quite low on the next few cycles after her dental, so you may want to watch a bit closer on BK's numbers today if possible. I think the anesthesia can have a similar affect as after a hypo with lower than normal numbers.

I bet you will see a perkier BK in no time now that the pearly whites are all shined up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top