11/18 Silver AMPS 25.2 (453.6) PMPS 9.2 (165)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyMom777

Member Since 2014
After last night's quick drop I am skipping his evening dose. Have called the vet and have pulled into from what you have all said and going to have a discussion tomorrow. I've been out all day and if he's at 165 after 12 hrs who know how low he might have dropped during the day.

Mel, I really think I should have stayed at 1.5 and am going to discuss that with the vet tomorrow. If he's so low he doesn't need a pm dose then the am one should be split. Afraid of messing up his system with yet another dose change tho. What do you suggest - if he were your cat - giving in the morning? And should I test again tonight given that he's not had any insulin?

Juliet and Silver
 
If he was mine I'd take him back to at the very least to 1.5

He'll probably be high later or in the morning, but just for peace of mind I'd probably grab a light's out test. Then start him back tomorrow at 1.5

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
If he was mine I'd take him back to at the very least to 1.5

He'll probably be high later or in the morning, but just for peace of mind I'd probably grab a light's out test. Then start him back tomorrow at 1.5

Mel and The Fur Gang

Ok....thanks Mel
 
HI Juliet,

All test data is valuable. If you can get some tests in tonight, it will go towards getting an idea of how long the dose carries on into the next insulin cycle.

I hope you get a good night's rest tonight and awake refreshed tomorrow. Managing your long working day, the commute, and Silver's diabetes can't be easy.
 
Critter Mom said:
HI Juliet,

All test data is valuable. If you can get some tests in tonight, it will go towards getting an idea of how long the dose carries on into the next insulin cycle.

I hope you get a good night's rest tonight and awake refreshed tomorrow. Managing your long working day, the commute, and Silver's diabetes can't be easy.

Thanks Aine, I'll test him now. You're right 're the commute. And Silver wakes me at 4am wanting to snuggle. He can't jump up on the bed anymore so he scrabbles on my bedside table to wake me. I've forgotten what a good night's sleep looks like!
 
Ok...14 hrs since insulin this morning and 2 hrs since food and he's at 12.7 (228.6)

His numbers are all over the place. Wish I'd been home to test today.
 
KittyMom777 said:
I've forgotten what a good night's sleep looks like!
Methinks it goes with the territory! :smile:

There were times in my life when I had very lengthy commutes. By far the worst one was where my journey required travelling on a section of the M25, a.k.a. Europe's biggest car park. Joy ... :YMSIGH:
 
Critter Mom said:
Methinks it goes with the territory! :smile:

There were times in my life when I had very lengthy commutes. By far the worst one was where my journey required travelling on a section of the M25, a.k.a. Europe's biggest car park. Joy ... :YMSIGH:

Oh I hear you.. I'm from Scotland so I know all about the M25! Transplanted to Canada 12 years ago.

Am I still ok to skip the dose?
 
Critter Mom said:
I see Mel's online. Hopefully she'll pay a visit and give you some input on dosing.

My concern now tho is if I dose tonight 12 hrs from no will be at work.....

I'm seriously failing at this dance...
 
If its already 2 hours past dose time, and you shoot now, youre right that next shot should be 12 hours from now. If you give dose any sooner, then it is like giving an increase, and giving shot late acts like a decrease. If it were my cat, I might give reduced dose, of half the normal dose, or skip the shot. But every cat is different! ECID..I cant tell you what to do however, so hopefully Mel can advise.
 
I guess it's too late now then as its 2 and a half hours past usual dose time. I didn't want to give him anything when he was at 9 as he drops very fast.
 
What you can do next time if you get a number that you are not sure about shooting, you can "stall" for 20 min without feeding and retest to see if the number is rising. If it is, then it should be fine to shoot. If it is lower/dropping, then you can post for help in your subject line for advice.Just be sure to put"stalling ,advice needed"..or something like that so others will know you need advice.

And youre not failing..your following his lead..its a dance.. ;-) we all have been thru this. You are doing the best you can
 
Thanks.

Well he did go up a couple hrs later but just a little. With my baby, he drops very fast after his dose so I'd be very nervous shooting a blue number. He's an odd boy my Silver.
 
Hes still getting used to the insulin. Its a hormone, so yes he is adjusting to it. Any time you increase or decrease, you can get NDW(new dose wonkiness)!! I know..but eventually those pinks will become fewer and fewer, and the bounces will be fewer and further between. It takes time..its very frustrating and nerve wracking nailbite_smile but it will happen. Better to be too high for a day than too low for a minute..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top