11/18 Pumbaa AMPS/260 to 304 @ PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Please note: I switched my SS around so that the most current day's data is at the top. No more scrolling all the way to the bottom for the most current data. Let me know what you think about this. The SS is public again...see link in my signature.

Pumbaa is doing okay! After dropping to a recorded low of 51 @ PM +10 on 11/16, due to the 2.0U dose, he's now on a bounce. So we know he can drop low into the greens on a 2.0U dose, and I thank Sheila for this dose decrease suggestion. But, it didn't stop his bouncing to high numbers. And I so want Pumbaa to stop bouncing and diving, as so many of us do! We had late shot times and stall shot times to deal with recently, so I'm really not too unhappy about his recent numbers.

During all of the above, Pumbaa has been his normal juvenile delinquent, little-**** self, causing me to chase his down for testing, and feeding/shooting, but also being very loving when I finally go to bed at 4 am or whatever time. It's all about Pumbaa's numbers and how he's reacting, and somewhat about me staying sane and healthy during all of this. What I fear the most is that my health is going to suffer to the point that I lose my house, and can't take care of my mom and her animals, on top of taking care of my house and my animals.

Suze (time to go eat, finally, at nearly 10 pm!)
 
Suze, are you really so stressed that it is jeopardizing your health, or were you just extending out the worries to their worst case scenario?

If the former, you need to take care of yourself asap. Like the airline guide for putting your oxygen mask on first and then that of a dependent (senior, child) traveling with you - because if you don't you may not be able to help anyone.

If the later, take a step back and tell yourself you have managed your life and business well to this point and there is no reason to think that will change, or to borrow trouble, etc. Have faith in yourself and your abilities, wisdom, steadfastness, kindness and creativity.

Either way, it sounds like you need to get some rest, good nutrition, and prioritize things right now. Something has to give and it can't be you!

I am happy that Pumbaa is doing well and you are able to manage his ups and downs having learned from the process and discussions with others here, myself included. But I must, lovingly, ask that you make his SS public again. It does not matter that others who criticized it are bothered by the format or the way in which it is "seeable" (published rather than shared). They won't be looking at it (and if they do, it is their problem if it bothers them). But you are making it difficult for your own cheering squad to view it. That doesn't make sense to me. It's a little like throwing the baby out with the bathwater, so to speak.

I want to be able to read your post, click on the SS link in your signature and not have to go somewhere else to find that link.
 
Pumbaa said:
...Pumbaa is doing okay! After dropping to a recorded low of 51 @ PM +10 on 11/16, due to the 2.0U dose, he's now on a bounce. So we know he can drop low into the greens on a 2.0U dose, and I thank Sheila for this dose decrease suggestion. But, it didn't stop his bouncing to high numbers. And I so want Pumbaa to stop bouncing and diving, as so many of us do! We had late shot times and stall shot times to deal with recently, so I'm really not too unhappy about his recent numbers.
He didn't bounce all that bad after the 51, overall his numbers have been pretty good. The current wonkiness likely just means you need to keep taking him up slowly but surely until he flattens out. I'd hold for about another day or so and increase 0.25 if his peak glucose is still going above 200.

Don't let those people add to your stress, you're doing just fine, glad you stuck around!
 
Sheila,

It's both real-time stress, as well as worrying about the future as my mom's health continues to deteriorate. In the last 8 months, I have let so many things slide around here you can't imagine. I can't afford to hire people to take care of things I can take care of myself, but last week it cost me $300 to hire a plumber to replace old shut off valves that I had purchased the parts for, but didn't find time to replace before they started leaking. That was an expense that I could ill afford after losing a lot of work time due to my mom's recent surgery and then my getting sick afterwords. I'm not getting any younger, and I don't have the energy/stamina I did when I was 28. So I really have to figure out how to manage my time better to reduce my stress and find time to take care of me so I can continue to take care of others who are relying on me. Pumbaa's SS in reverse order is just a drop in the bucket for time-management. If I could teach Pumbaa to not make me chase him around the house at testing time, I'd save another 30 minutes a day! *LOL* I already try to to close off doors to all of the rooms he can hide in before we start the chase, but he still makes me chase him around the living room a couple of times before he gives up. The little stinker thinks it's a game! I don't find it amusing at 4 am. :roll:

Thank you, you are right about making the SS public again. I'm wasting my time and your time by not having it public. I will do that, but still put my note at the top of the threads warning people it's in reverse order.

Suze
 
It looks like he bounced off the 51, recovered quickly, but then bounced off the 107 again? I think I would give it another day and see if it clears.
I don't know that I'd increase unless he stays above the renal threshold after he's finished bouncing.
Carl
 
(((HUGS)))

I have a friend who is just like that in many respects- two in fact. Running full blown and barely on time and you add an upset into the works and it all goes flying out of control (one health, the other a complete business move and back b/c of a errant car in the shop she runs). The body will say it has had enough and they both have experienced that.

If Pumbaa calms down when it is bed time- maybe close off the rooms and lay down on the couch for a few minutes to see if he will get curious and come over. I can get in my bed and Sneakers doesn't really care. I lay on the couch and cover up with a blanket and Sneakers thinks i'm hiding shrimpies and comes to investigate! :lol:
 
Carl & Bob said:
It looks like he bounced off the 51, recovered quickly, but then bounced off the 107 again? I think I would give it another day and see if it clears.
I don't know that I'd increase unless he stays above the renal threshold after he's finished bouncing.
Carl
Sometimes Pumbaa bounces like a SuperBall, doesn't he? And he bounced higher after the 107 than he did after the 51! :roll:

The "2.25U?" on 11/20 is a reminder to me about a suggestion of when to raise Pumbaa, depending on what he does in the meantime, like clearing these bounces. I'm glad you noticed that and commented on it.

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
...glad you stuck around!
Thank you, Chippendale's. Me, too!

And thank you, 'cause you and Carl are in agreement about letting these bounces clear and seeing where Pumbaa settles before increasing.

Suze
 
Thank you, Heather! Just when you think you can almost manage what life hands you, it hands you another something to deal with. *LOL*

One of the rooms I have to close the door on is the room with the litterbox in it, because Pumbaa will go and hide out in the covered litterbox, or under the futon in that room. (I think he thinks he's in stealth mode if he's in the litterbox. *LOL*) I've thought about moving the litterbox somewhere else, but I have to have the opening turned towards the wall and the litterbox itself kind of jammed in between a wall and a piece of furniture so that Beck can't turn it around and "snack". :roll:

Pumbaa does normally sleep on the pillow next to me when I go to bed, so I am rethinking my normal routine of napping on the sofa until I can get a PM +6 reading (at 1 am). I'm also rethinking his injection times, since his nadir is frequently later on the Levemir, but I also have to take into consideration my daily "go to Mom's and take care of her cats and do chores" time, which is usually either before or after I run errands (depending on what my Mom needs). I'll tell you, trying to eke extra time out of the day is complicated around here, but I'll figure it out. I have to! :)

Suze
 
Thank you!

What do the two black Xs mean on the 14th? Is that for moving the shot earlier? Are they are other reason you know of that he went lower overnight on that 51? Like exercising more (all that running from you?) or eating less? Injected in a different place?

He just seems really sensitive to insulin, but the 2u isn't holding him. So now maybe its the 2.25u that needs to be held through the bounces.

Do you give treats after testing? Maybe try a treat to lure him out and another after? I just started giving Cami a treat when I set her on the table and then another afterwards.
 
Sheila:

You're welcome! :)

Yes, the two black X's are because I moved the shot time to +10.

I can't think of anything out of the ordinary that would have caused that 51 on 11/16. Sometimes, when Pumbaa's numbers are higher, he's more lethargic and easier to catch. When his numbers are lower, he's back to being the "silver bullet", as my cousin's kids used to call him when he was a kitten. That being said, yesterday, his numbers were higher but he and Larry were chasing around the house, and Pumbaa taunted Beck a couple of times for amusement. This morning, his numbers are lower than yesterday, but he's being a slug, and sleeping in the office on the chair next to me.

As for the injections, I always shoot on his right flank in the morning, and his left flank at night. I vary the position on the flanks, but it's always within the area's I've buzzed the fur off of. I still haven't gotten calipers, but I try to be very careful before dosing, and check and see where the plunger head aligns with the zero line, and then fill accordingly. If the plunger head aligned with the top of the zero line, I use the top of the 2U line as my guide, etc.

I haven't been giving him treats at testing time anymore. Since I test him on the cat feeding table, after I test him he usually goes and takes a couple of bites of food. And he gets treats all day long. I can't take a bite of a piece of chicken without giving him, and Larry and Beck some. I should be so skinny since I always have to share any low-carb meat/fish that I eat. *LOL* When he's in "hide from Mom at test time" mode, I've tried luring him out with high-value Stella $ Chewy's bits, but he's too smart to be lured.

I can't figure him out. As Mel used to say, "he's predictable in his lack of predictability". :)

Suze
 
Sounds like you do have a hum-dinger going on there and it just starts with the animals!

Don't forget to take time for yourself as well Suze- it is just as important as taking care of the fur kids.

And, yes, Sneakers does get some of my chicken as well :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top