11/18 Nico amps- 361, +2- 322, +4- 239, pmps- 180, +2- 126, +3- 117, +4- 108, +5- 121

Tyleete

Active Member

Attachments

  • IMG_20251118_152108350_AE.jpg
    IMG_20251118_152108350_AE.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 8
Question....
I was looking at the caliper thread and am I wrong in thinking, instead of the 3.75 units I'm supposed to be giving him; I'm actually giving him 4.68units? I use the UltiCare ones, and from what I understand, it's actually 0.25 units more per 1 unit?
If so, good grief that's awful. So he's actually at a much higher dose?

And is it ok to use neosporin when we prick their ears? I've seen both here.
😥
 
Last edited:
Hi Tyleete, Someone more experienced with dosing advice will weigh in soon, I hope. What they are going to ask you is this: 1) do you have your hypo kit ready? 2) do you have plenty of supplies (lancets, MC and HC food, etc.)? and 3) can you monitor this cycle?

How far are you from shot time?

I know you've read this before, but now is a good time to re-read this sticky: Sticky - Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
 
Hi Tyleete, Someone more experienced with dosing advice will weigh in soon, I hope. What they are going to ask you is this: 1) do you have your hypo kit ready? 2) do you have plenty of supplies (lancets, MC and HC food, etc.)? and 3) can you monitor this cycle?

How far are you from shot time?

I know you've read this before, but now is a good time to re-read this sticky: Sticky - Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
I do have a hypo kit ready, tons of testing supplies, & I will be around for the testing. Should I need a +2? That's only when it typically starts kicking in, no? Should I start at +3 and go from there?
And this is for anyone reading. I'm pretty sure I'm still supposed to give reg first, so I did
 
I do have a hypo kit ready, tons of testing supplies, & I will be around for the testing. Should I need a +2? That's only when it typically starts kicking in, no? Should I start at +3 and go from there?
And this is for anyone reading. I'm pretty sure I'm still supposed to give reg first, so I did
With a cat like Nico, that is relatively new to insulin, if it were me, I would catch a +1 and +2. I have a note on my spreadsheet (from Wendy) that says this: "A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep." So what that essentially means is that those first couple of hours of a cycle CAN be a good indicator of what is going to happen in a cycle. If they have a significant drop, then you might see some action in that cycle, and will need to be super vigilant. If you decide to shoot, if it were me, I would def grab a +1/+2/+3 just to see what direction he's moving in (but I'm very, very cautious and paranoid about hypos :rolleyes:).

Bumping you up!
 
With a cat like Nico, that is relatively new to insulin, if it were me, I would catch a +1 and +2. I have a note on my spreadsheet (from Wendy) that says this: "A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep." So what that essentially means is that those first couple of hours of a cycle CAN be a good indicator of what is going to happen in a cycle. If they have a significant drop, then you might see some action in that cycle, and will need to be super vigilant. If you decide to shoot, if it were me, I would def grab a +1/+2/+3 just to see what direction he's moving in (but I'm very, very cautious and paranoid about hypos :rolleyes:).

Bumping you up!
Thanks! I do remember that. If I could alter my sheets, I'd put it up too on mine.😅
I'm pretty sure I'm going to be up till 1am tonight.
 
Looks like you may need to keep testing for a little while longer. I’d get a +3 and see where Nico is at. Per your general comments on SS, snack feed at +2, correct?
 
Looks like you may need to keep testing for a little while longer. I’d get a +3 and see where Nico is at. Per your general comments on SS, snack feed at +2, correct?
Yes, I did give him his usual 1/2 meal at 9. Will test again on 15min and feed another half meal at 11. Here's to hoping. He's tricked me before though. Showing great 100's, then back up again.😬
 
It’s often easier to relate blood glucose tests and snacks at time after insulin, since we’re typically all in various time zones, so if you test at +3 and his blood glucose has dropped again, I’d suggest feeding a couple of teaspoons of food and not waiting to feed until +4.
 
It’s often easier to relate blood glucose tests and snacks at time after insulin, since we’re typically all in various time zones, so if you test at +3 and his blood glucose has dropped again, I’d suggest feeding a couple of teaspoons of food and not waiting to feed until +4.
Ok, but isn't the green what we're aiming for? I know my meter says 'normal' numbers are between 75-120. Seems when he was on the Prozinc, I was told his nadir was at +4.
 
Yes, but nadirs on a different insulin don’t really factor in any more, and with Lantus nadirs can and do move around, so I would watch how the next test is. Greens are what you want, but my point was that feeding a small amount of regular food when you are seeing a further drop earlier than +4 might be warranted. Just depends on the BG test. If it’s not more than 20% from +2 and he’s flattened out by +3 then waiting to feed at +4 would probably be fine.
 
Yes, but nadirs on a different insulin don’t really factor in any more, and with Lantus nadirs can and do move around, so I would watch how the next test is. Greens are what you want, but my point was that feeding a small amount of regular food when you are seeing a further drop earlier than +4 might be warranted. Just depends on the BG test. If it’s not more than 20% from +2 and he’s flattened out by +3 then waiting to feed at +4 would probably be fine.
Ok, thank you!
He went from his preshot of 180, to +2 of 126, to +3 of 117.
I did give him several more treats than the usual 2 for testing just in case? But it seemed a very small number difference. His treats are all just freeze dried meats. This one being rabbit.
 
108 @+4. Just for kicks I checked to see what the Relion said. It's at 77 at the same +4. That's still quite a difference. I heard it's supposed to get closer as it goes down.
So, feed him his 1/2 meal after testing his +4. Guess I'm waiting up another hour to see if it flattens or rises?
 
121 @+5. I'm off to bed.
I guess that means his nadir is at +4 then? That seems an awful amount of hours to go down. Oh well. Thank you very much for your guidance. We're both ready for sleep. 💕
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251119_003447568_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20251119_003447568_HDR.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 7
Last edited:
121 @+5. I'm off to bed.
I guess that means his nadir is at +4 then? That seems an awful amount of hours to go down. Oh well. Thank you very much for your guidance. We're both ready for sleep. 💕
Good job getting a few extra tests in to see how the cycle played out. Yes, last night’s cycle had a nadir at +4, but interestingly his nadir from the am cycle was later than +4. Not all cycles will have a discernible nadir, especially if they are in the middle of a bounce.
 
Good job getting a few extra tests in to see how the cycle played out. Yes, last night’s cycle had a nadir at +4, but interestingly his nadir from the am cycle was later than +4. Not all cycles will have a discernible nadir, especially if they are in the middle of a bounce.
Gotcha! That makes sense. Thank you
 
Question....
I was looking at the caliper thread and am I wrong in thinking, instead of the 3.75 units I'm supposed to be giving him; I'm actually giving him 4.68units? I use the UltiCare ones, and from what I understand, it's actually 0.25 units more per 1 unit?
If so, good grief that's awful. So he's actually at a much higher dose?

And is it ok to use neosporin when we prick their ears? I've seen both here.
😥
Have you reviewed this information about using a calipers? It’s a multiplier that you do to establish the dose in mm on your calipers.
Info - Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
😻
 
Have you reviewed this information about using a calipers? It’s a multiplier that you do to establish the dose in mm on your calipers.
Info - Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
😻
I did. That's where I got the 1.25u actually equals 1mm, when it should be just the 1? Or did I read it wrong? Which is what's got me kind of internally freaking out. My needles say 3.75, but the thread says it's nearly 5?😔
 
I did. That's where I got the 1.25u actually equals 1mm, when it should be just the 1? Or did I read it wrong? Which is what's got me kind of internally freaking out. My needles say 3.75, but the thread says it's nearly 5?😔
So you’d be giving 4.68 mm measurement on the calipers (which correlates to a 3.75 unit dose).
*It doesn’t mean you are giving a 4.68 unit dose.
It’s just the dose in millimeters on your calipers.
That’s how you will line the tinge up to the calipers to make sure each dose is accurate.
I hope this makes sense.

It takes a bit to understand this way of thinking 🤔
 
So you’d be giving 4.68 mm measurement on the calipers (which correlates to a 3.75 unit dose).
*It doesn’t mean you are giving a 4.68 unit dose.
It’s just the dose in millimeters on your calipers.
That’s how you will line the tinge up to the calipers to make sure each dose is accurate.
I hope this makes sense.

It takes a bit to understand this way of thinking 🤔
It is very confusing.
From what I read, 1mm should (haha) equal 1 unit, right? So if 1.25mm equals what my syringe is telling me is 1 unit, doesn't that mean I'm actually giving him the 4.68 dose every time?

Ok. I did measure up my syringes to the caliper. I even bought the same one from harbor freight along with a jewelers headlamp. And when I measured up the 4.68mm, it DOES show the line in aiming for. Between the 3.5 & 4 unit mark on my syringes.
 
It is very confusing.
From what I read, 1mm should (haha) equal 1 unit, right? So if 1.25mm equals what my syringe is telling me is 1 unit, doesn't that mean I'm actually giving him the 4.68 dose every time?

Ok. I did measure up my syringes to the caliper. I even bought the same one from harbor freight along with a jewelers headlamp. And when I measured up the 4.68mm, it DOES show the line in aiming for. Between the 3.5 & 4 unit mark on my syringes.
I know it is confusing. Believe me I get it 🤯

One unit insulin equals 1.25 mm of the brand syringe you are currently using.
So, what that means is when you multiply 1.25 mm ×3.75 units you get 4.68 mm on the calipers.
That is an accurate 3.75 unit dose (not 4.68 units).
 
I know it is confusing. Believe me I get it 🤯

One unit insulin equals 1.25 mm of the brand syringe you are currently using.
So, what that means is when you multiply 1.25 mm ×3.75 units you get 4.68 mm on the calipers.
That is an accurate 3.75 unit dose (not 4.68 units).
So, he's not getting anymore than the 3.75? The 4.68mm on the caliper does indeed come to that 3.75 mark on my syringe.
Cause it got me so confused when it said the syringes are wrong, and I get that as mass produced as they must be.
But isn't 1mm supposed to equal 1 unit?
 
So, he's not getting anymore than the 3.75? The 4.68mm on the caliper does indeed come to that 3.75 mark on my syringe.
Cause it got me so confused when it said the syringes are wrong, and I get that as mass produced as they must be.
But isn't 1mm supposed to equal 1 unit?
Correct. He’s getting 3.75 units if the calipers are set correctly to 4.68 mm with that brand and the syringe is lined up correctly with the arms measuring the insulin in the syringe.

I would watch the videos also to get all the information correct.

The reason to use a calipers (I do, too) this because the syringes are imperfectly marked and they’re not all 100% lined up correctly. By using a calipers, you are making sure that each dose is consistent to what you have the calipers set to for your dose.
Of course, if you change your dose, you have to change your caliper measurement by doing the mathematical equation again based on your new dose, whether you go up or down.
Below shows what one unit equals with each of the below manufacture syringes.
IMG_1025.jpeg
 
Correct. He’s getting 3.75 units if the calipers are set correctly to 4.68 mm with that brand and the syringe is lined up correctly with the arms measuring the insulin in the syringe.

I would watch the videos also to get all the information correct.

The reason to use a calipers (I do, toothis because the syringes are imperfectly marked and they’re not all 100% lined up correctly. By using a calipers, you are making sure that each dose is consistent to what you have the calipers set to for your dose.
Of course, if you change your dose, you have to change your caliper measurement by doing the mathematical equation again based on your new dose, whether you go up or down.
Below shows what one unit equals with each of the below manufacture syringes.
View attachment 75088
I think I got it! Thank you for both your patience and time on this. I opened up 20 (2 pouches) of my syringes and they actually all lined up perfectly. I guess I got a good box. 😂
Thank you
 
Back
Top