? 11/18 Mo's Numbers -- Advice needed

Mo's Mom

Member
Hello, this is our third day on Lantus and I would love it if someone could look at his numbers and give me some insight or feedback. When he was on Novolin his numbers were almost always in the higher range. Now using Lantus his numbers have already been better just by the second day of using it. Yesterday he was mostly in the yellow range (200-299) and today he is in the blue range (100-199) all day so for. This has been unheard of for him. I know it takes a while to build up the insulin depot, but I am hoping this is a good sign. The only problem I am having is when to shoot. In the AM his numbers are below 200 and I am not sure if I should be shooting then. He got his shot an hour and half late this morning because of this and last night was 1/2 an hour late. Is this ok? I am thinking with the trend today so far he will still be in the blue range for his PMPS and I'm wondering if it will be ok to shoot then. Any help or advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated!!!
Mo.jpg
 
This is a good sign, his numbers today! Remind me, has anyone talked to you about picking a dosing method?
Hi, no, not yet. I just took his BG at 4 pm, and it is down to 114. I don't think it will be at 200 by 7 pm when he eats because it's been going down all day. What should I do if it's still under 200? I couldn't give him his AM dose this morning until an hour and half later because of his numbers...
 
You can shoot lower than 200 mg/dL. Lots of people here do. However, it can take some time getting comfortable with that though.

If you haven't already, take a look at this post, it outlines some options for handling lower pre-shots. It also talks about the dosing methods, Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) and Tight Regulation (TR). Eventually you should pick one because they do have different reduction points that will come into play soon if Mo keeps having these nice numbers.
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Report back when it's closer to shot time. I'll tag some folks that might be around and can offer some input.
@tiffmaxee @Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @Mary & Jude

Oh, and here's your previous post:
11/17 Mo. 252 AMPS...Wait on insulin?
 
A +2 test is a good next test. It often can give you an idea what his cycle is going to look like. If on the way up from PS, it'll be a quiet cycle (maybe bounce). If around the same as preshot, a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A drop from PS means a more active cycle needing extra monitoring.

How does Mo feel/act in all these blues?
 
A +2 test is a good next test. It often can give you an idea what his cycle is going to look like. If on the way up from PS, it'll be a quiet cycle (maybe bounce). If around the same as preshot, a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A drop from PS means a more active cycle needing extra monitoring.

How does Mo feel/act in all these blues?
I will test him again at +2 🙂. He is acting fine...pretty alert and relaxed. He has had a pretty quiet day...slept a lot.
 
A +2 test is a good next test. It often can give you an idea what his cycle is going to look like. If on the way up from PS, it'll be a quiet cycle (maybe bounce). If around the same as preshot, a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A drop from PS means a more active cycle needing extra monitoring.

How does Mo feel/act in all these blues?
I tested him at +2 and he is at 281 🙂
 
Back
Top