11/18 Maddy AMPS 188, +3 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

april_sd

Member Since 2014
I had an okay weekend with Maddy. She was taking the Clavamox and keeping it down, but last night she finally figured out the connection between the tuna and the medicine. It's been hard to get the antibiotic in her and this morning she vomited it up after about 30 minutes. I have a call in with the vet to see if we can switch her to Orbax.

In terms of her blood glucouse, she just keeps getting higher. I gave her 1.5 units this morning and I'll hold at that dose for a least a few days.

I hope everyone else had a good weekend. I'm looking forward to catching up on all your condos.
 
Re: 11/17 Maddy AMPS 315, +3 340, +6 359

hi April
so sorry Maddy is still sick. it sure looks like her high numbers are related to that infection. hopefully when the infection is gone her numbers will head down too. sending lots of healing your way. cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
I'm shooting a little low this morning. I have a fully stocked hypo kit and I'll be around during the day to test and keep an eye on her.

Still waiting to hear back from the vet about changing her antibiotics. She held down the Clavamox last night, but not this morning. Jon did some research that indicates that one the side effects of amoxicillin can be taste perversion, which I think Maddy is experiencing in addition to her upset tummy. The constant battle between giving her the antibiotic and insulin, getting her to eat, and having her keep it all down is just too much.
 
oh ((((April))))
i feel for you. sometimes it is just so so difficult. i know....
as hard as it is to do, sometimes you just have to give yourself a break and just do the best you can. that is all any of us can do. i'm so sorry your'e having such a hard time. sending hugs & healing for you and Maddy girl.
:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/18 Maddy AMPS 188, +3 154, +7 147, PMPS 115

And we're ending the day in the greens! Even better news - that 115 is a little food influenced. Maddy's been so uninterested in food. When I saw her eating about an hour and half before testing time, I didn't have the heart to snatch it away.

Maddy is too low for me to feel comfortable shooting. I've stopped the Clavamox because it was just too hard on her. I'm still waiting on a new prescription. Our regular vet is out of the office this week and I'm sure the other vet in the practice is overwhelmed.
 
i'm so glad you at least got some good news about the BG number. sending lots of healing to little Maddy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top