11/18 Gracie PMPS 295 +4 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

11/17 Recap:
AMPS: 209 8th cycle 1u lev
+4: 252
+10: 287
PMPS: 245 9th cycle 1u lev
+4: 298

Good morning and Happy Friday!!! We are sending so many prayers, love, and caring thoughts to Jill and Mike today for a very successful surgery and skilled surgeon's hands as well as a full recovery. Also healing vines to Attie, Tawny, Tarragon and Charlie, Rocket and Comet, and any others who need them.

Gracie seems to be in a royal bounce causing her beans much agony and frustration after a week of incredible cycles. Unless she comes back down and starts getting some green nadirs, I will be taking her dose up as soon as I feel she has cleared the bounce. She continues to know mamabean is not feeling 100% and has given me so many warm cuddly snuggles all night long like she is trying to keep me warm. Or maybe she's cold and hoping I'll keep her warm. At any rate, she didn't go to bed with us last night but it wasn't long before I felt her jump on me, give me a little chirp, and then she plopped into my arms, wrapped her paws around me, and purred us to sleep. Tobey was on the other side keeping my back warm and purring like crazy. And of course, Mike was still home so this morning the only one missing was Gussie.

On another subject but still FD related, I got my Terumo syringes from ADW last night. I was so looking forward to it and you can only imagine my disappointment when I found that they have even more variation from syringe to syringe than the Monojects!!! I called Terumo this morning and they had their product supervisor call me and he was very upset (caring, upset). He said Terumo takes the accuracy of insulin syringes extremely seriously. He was not familiar with ADW and wondered about the syringes ADW is sending out. He is sending me a box directly from the company so I can look at them. He had a box there of the exact same syringes and he went through them and said every single plunger was lined up identically on the "0" mark. He told me that Terumo takes very seriously their committment to pets and the veterinary community; they understand that people are using syringes for their pets, too, and that accuracy is imperative. So I'll take a look at what he sends me and see if there is a difference. He said he will call me in one week to check on all of it. He also suggested I buy their syringes through an authorized distributor like CVS. I do appreciate their customer service so far. I'll keep you all updated. In the meantime, I will keep using the MJs and checking the accuracy.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

I was so in awe of Gracie's low numbers, and all you guys went through to keep her there! Hope she gets back there soon, and hope you feel all the way better soon too!

I have been meaning to ask about where people get their syringes, I know I saw it posted but now I cannot seem to find it.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

Gracie, you have mamabean beating her head against the wall!!! She doesn't like bouncing! Are you headed back to Gracie numbers?

Well that sounds like impressive customer service, rare today. I'll be interested to see if the ones sent directly from the company are better.

I hope you get completely better soon, Marge. This cold just hangs, and hangs, and hangs...
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

At least you have a blue start today. I hope Gracie is keeping up to date on her condo.

Bummer on the Terumo. I just checked the CVS site and they had no search results for Terumo, unless you need to register w/ them to even get a price. When he calls back ask if there are online sources that he could recommend. I did a quick search and couldn't find anywhere w/ the size we need.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

Princess Gracie!!! You do not need these bounces- though the blue this morning is very nice!
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

Hoping Gracie comes down today.

Also hoping you get better and feel 100%.

I haven't noticed any problem with the MJ syringes yet and am wondering what kind of quality control they all have. In all my years on insulin, I never even bothered to check the syringes and I always used BD. Makes me go hmmmm. I will check from here on in.

Have a wonderful day. Will call you when i get results for Morgaine.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

Hi Marje, hope you are shaking out the last of this cold. It has way overstayed its welcome, not that it had one in the first place. Gracie, your bean has threatened a dosecrease. You're off to a good start this morning, keep it up! Very interesting about the Terumo syringes. I've started look at the MJ syringes that we use to see if I notice a difference.
Liz
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182

Gracie, give your mama bean a break! At least she was blue and cuddled you to sleep. Healing vines to you Marje. I hope you get rid of that icky cold soon. Have a wonderful snuggly evening!
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182 +8 240 +10 281

Good evening!!! Well...just got back from eye vetty visit with Miss Gracie and that didn't help her BG! The good thing is it looks like she can go four months now without a recheck; she still has the chronic meibomanitis but her eyelids look pretty decent right now. I did ask the opthamalogist if diabetic cats develop the same kinds of eye problems as diabetic humans. She said "no, not generally, in fact, very rarely". She said there is usually something else going on that triggers an eye issue in a FD that is not diabetes related that can cause problems for diabetic cats.

Melissa: thank you...now if we can just get her back to where she was. I left the info on your condo about syringes.

Linda: still beating my head against the wall....Will keep you all posted on the syringes.

Ann: I called CVS. They can get them but they are $30/box!!! They were $13.09 on ADW. I will ask Nick next week when he calls me back about online resources.

Gwen: She was just jerking my chain with that blue this morning!!

Rosalie: Glad things are so great for Morgaine in terms of CKD! I do wonder about quality control.

Anne: Just about over the cold...still afew sniffles. Let me know what you see on your MJ syringes. The customer service person thought I perhaps got a bad lot.

Melissa: Thank you. Hope you all are doing ok!!

Time for a few visits, squids, Gracie's routine, din din!!
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182 +8 240 +10 281

Gracie Girl!! Guess she got stressed from the vet, now watch her come down by tomorrow am just as you would like!! I am finally over the "COLD" from H*ll & glad you are too & Ella!
I still use the BD syringes, when they are misprinted or anything I yell & scream at BD & they send me free boxes--Guess I am just not easy about change where it comes to Moonie..
You are doing so great with Gracie, give yourself a pat on the back..
Remember it's only a few numbers in just one cycle--Tomorrow will be much much better-
Love & Hugs from us!
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie AMPS 182 +8 240 +10 281

Hi Marje, glad Miss Gracie's eyelids look okay and no Vetty visit for four months. That is frustrating with the Terumo syringes; I will be interested in what you learn about buying them on online. I did have that one box of MJ's where quite a few of the syringes had the variances in lines and had quite a time with dosing. This last box of MJ's I ordered seems okay with just a few rejects. Feel better.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie PMPS 295

Any thoughts on when I should increase her dose or any impressions on her cycles of late? Looks like a bounce to me but I'm chomping at the bit to get her out of yellow. Flat yellow doesn't mean too much to Gracie. I think the last two numbers (+10 and PMPS) are vet stress...she always gets it and in a big way. Plus she does usually come down for PMPS. I can't remember who I loaned my yellow patience pants to but really would rather not put them back on. So thoughts on dosecrease appreciated....I'm thinking back to sk1.25 as I remember Libby said better to take them up more than just a shave and bring them down by a shave. I know tonight is only four cycles.......
THanks!!!

Roni: Yes...she did really get stressed;always does! Glad you are over the cold and I'm almost there. I like the yelling and screaming part!!!

Ann: Glad you got a good box of MJs. It's worrisome with little kitties on little doses.....
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie PMPS 295

Hi guys... guess Gracie likes yellow these days. I hop she some down soon for you.

bummer on the syringes - I've been using monojets for awhile, never had an issue with them. wow on the new ones - but it sounds like the rep was genuinely concerned, it will be interesting to see how the new ones are that he is sending.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie PMPS 295

Now I'm going to have to really look at my syringes! I got my Monojects from Hocks and I haven't had a problem -- or at least I don't think I have.

I'm on the fence about Gracie bouncing. She usually clears her bounces quickly. This is looking like not enough insulin to me. You may want to see how things go to night and where she's at tomorrow at AMPS. This is the 6th cycle past the fur shot so you can increase when you want.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie PMPS 295

The syringe issue is so frustrating and frightening. Talk about something where pinpoint accuracy shouldn't even be questioned! Is there a reason why Terumos from CVS would be any different from Terumos from ADW? That idea makes no sense to me...other than it being some sort of marketing ploy.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie PMPS 295

Sienne: thanks for your eyes on her SS. Unless she comes down tonight or has a decent AMPS, I'll plan to give her a boost in the morning. Since you got your syringes at Hocks...they might be fine. I thought you used GNP?

Amy: well....I talked briefly to Julie and the two boxes of Terumos she just got from ADW were also wacky....and had the same lot number as the box I have. The Terumo rep told me that ADW is not one of their "authorized distributors". I asked the ADW rep where they got the syringes and he said...from our distributor. And I asked where their distributor got the syringes and he didn't know. So Julie and I am wondering if the reason they are so cheap at ADW as opposed to anywhere else is if they are getting "seconds"? It will be very interesting to see what the ones look like in comparison that the company sends me. Julie said her box from medi-vet that she got before only had a couple that were off.
 
Re: 11/18 Gracie PMPS 295

The disconcerting syringe info continues!! :evil: :evil: :evil: I have to be better about checking my MJs... I'm usually in such a rush, I forget, and with Willie at 0.5u, it could be a huge difference in dose! It seems like insulin syringes would be something they couldn't sell "seconds" of... right?!?

Sorry that Miss Gracie's numbers have been on the upward trend... fingers and paws crossed that she's back in pretty blues and greens soon! Hope you have a restful weekend and kick that cold of yours once and for all!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top