11/18 Gary AMPS 363;+5 297;+8.5 353;PMPS 339;+3 314; +11 302

Sepi

Member
His numbers remain in the 300's overnight. He is eating and playing. This is going into day 3 with no significant movement.
 
Please link your previous post with each new post you make so we can see what’s been going on easily :)
Here is your last post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-with-these-high-numbers.295771/#post-3221213

Are you following SLGS or TR method? That will determine how long to hold doses. Please make a note of which method on your spreadsheet and in your signature so people can advise you properly.

It’s a lot to learn in the beginning, we understand! :cat:
 
If you are feeding only low carb wet food (no dry) you might want to run about following TR. You test enough for it. You can get him to a good dose faster. With TR, you can increase the dose as often as every 3 days, if necessary.

With a history of DKA it would be good to get him into better numbers sooner rather than later.
 
If you are feeding only low carb wet food (no dry) you might want to run about following TR. You test enough for it. You can get him to a good dose faster. With TR, you can increase the dose as often as every 3 days, if necessary.

With a history of DKA it would be good to get him into better numbers sooner rather than later.
Thank you. I reread the article you sent me last week about TR vs SLGS. So with TR it is based on the cats weight? 5.25 kilo is what he weighed last Monday. So I would give him 5.25*.25 = 1.31 units? Would I start that tonight?
 
Please link your previous post with each new post you make so we can see what’s been going on easily :)
Here is your last post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-with-these-high-numbers.295771/#post-3221213

Are you following SLGS or TR method? That will determine how long to hold doses. Please make a note of which method on your spreadsheet and in your signature so people can advise you properly.

It’s a lot to learn in the beginning, we understand! :cat:
Hi. So do we start a new post everyday with the AM/PM etc and link to the day before? Or just have 1 thread and edit the title every day?
 
Hi. So do we start a new post everyday with the AM/PM etc and link to the day before? Or just have 1 thread and edit the title every day?
You start a new post every day you would put
Date Gary AMPS and any additional tests after that and then continue with the PMPS and any additional tests after that. You will link your previous days post to your new post
@Sepi


To link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it




austin-logo-240.jpg
 
I think I get it :)

I'm wondering if I'm not giving the injection incorrectly? If you look at his spreadsheet , he was fine for a few days then all of a sudden he can't get below 300. Maybe I'm not getting the needeiin the right place? It isn't wet after I shoot. Or maybe my Lantis is messed up because I was pushing some back into the pen
 
I think I get it :)

I'm wondering if I'm not giving the injection incorrectly? If you look at his spreadsheet , he was fine for a few days then all of a sudden he can't get below 300. Maybe I'm not getting the needeiin the right place? It isn't wet after I shoot. Or maybe my Lantis is messed up because I was pushing some back into the pen
@Bandit's Mom
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: As long as the insulin looks clear - no floaties - the pen should still be fine.

Gary is newly (very newly) diagnosed and you just haven't hit that "breakthrough dose" quite yet! Don't worry, you'll get there. I know its hard to see the high numbers. As long as you are testing daily for ketones, you are already doing all you can to be proactive.

Thank you. I reread the article you sent me last week about TR vs SLGS. So with TR it is based on the cats weight? 5.25 kilo is what he weighed last Monday. So I would give him 5.25*.25 = 1.31 units? Would I start that tonight?
You keep the insulin dose as it is. The difference with TR is that you'll have the potential of raising the dose after 3-5 days if an increase is warranted, instead of waiting the 7 days per SLGS. TR does require an all wet food/raw food diet and multiple testing each cycle.

Let us know if you have any questions :cat:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: As long as the insulin looks clear - no floaties - the pen should still be fine.

Gary is newly (very newly) diagnosed and you just haven't hit that "breakthrough dose" quite yet! Don't worry, you'll get there. I know its hard to see the high numbers. As long as you are testing daily for ketones, you are already doing all you can to be proactive.


You keep the insulin dose as it is. The difference with TR is that you'll have the potential of raising the dose after 3-5 days if an increase is warranted, instead of waiting the 7 days per SLGS. TR does require an all wet food/raw food diet and multiple testing each cycle.

Let us know if you have any questions :cat:
He is all wet food at this point.
How much time do I have to make that TR vs Slow decision? Maybe he stays at 1ml for another cycle and then make the decision?
Thank you all, AGAIN! Couldn't get through any of this without the support.
Oh, should the KetoStix test for both glucose and Ketone? I just noticed the one I got is only keystone. But in Amazon that same Bayer brand has both ketone and Glucose.
 
He is all wet food at this point.
That's great. I see from your Spreadsheet (SS) comments that yesterday he was still having the Dr. Elsey's, making today the first full day on all wet?

How much time do I have to make that TR vs Slow decision?
The choice is yours. No pressure. You can switch to TR and switch back to SLGS whenever you want if you find that TR is too aggressive. The reduction point in TR is 50 on a human meter whereas SLGS would have you reduce if BG falls under 90.

Oh, should the KetoStix test for both glucose and Ketone?
You are testing the BG with a meter so the Ketostix for ketones should suffice. :cat:
 
That's great. I see from your Spreadsheet (SS) comments that yesterday he was still having the Dr. Elsey's, making today the first full day on all wet?
I cleannd up the comment in the Spreadsheet regarding Dry food. Today is day 5 of NO dry food or dry treats.

The choice is yours. No pressure. You can switch to TR and switch back to SLGS whenever you want if you find that TR is too aggressive. The reduction point in TR is 50 on a human meter whereas SLGS would have you reduce if BG falls under 90.


You are testing the BG with a meter so the Ketostix for ketones should suffice. :cat:
 
I cleaned up the comment lines on the SS. Garybhad not had any kibble or dry treats for 5 days.
Thanks for pointing out that that was unclear.
 
Back
Top