11/18 Frank PMPS 172 /+2 284 /+3 342 /+4 400

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
A little high yesterday

All is well this morning. His BG was lower this morning, but his numbers have been consistently higher than they need to be anyway. I went ahead and gave him the .25 increase. Frank and I are watching a documentary about the Dark Ages. :lol:

Have a good morning! ~O)
 
Re: 11/18 Frank AMPS 369

Good luck with the new dose. I hope it brings him down into more of the blue range, soon.

Enjoy your day cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 11/18 Frank AMPS 369 /+2 322 /+5 158

We are at +5, and this is the first time I have seen blue this early in a cycle. Should I test him at +7, as I planned, or should he be tested each hour as long as he is dropping?
 
Re: 11/18 Frank AMPS 369 /+2 322 /+5 158

No advice from me, just wanted to say Hi and good luck with the dosecrease ;-)
Have a great day Tina!
 
Re: 11/18 Frank AMPS 369 /+2 322 /+5 158

This may be answered too late for you, but I generally move to once an hour testing when kitty goes below 100. Unless I'm data gathering and trying to find the nadir.

Frank is looking great at this dose so far! :-D
 
Re: 11/18 Frank AMPS 369 /+2 322 /+5 158

Looking at the average amount he was dropping, I just skipped the +6. I did do it at +7, on schedule, then +8 to see if he was rising like he should be. He dropped down to 120 from 123. I'm guessing, even though he isn't rising, it is slowing down. I'm thinking it won't be necessary to test him again until PMPS, which is three hours away. Thank you for the tip, though. And yes...lots of blue in there today. I am happy with that. :mrgreen:

Edit - PMPS in 4 hours, not three. lol
 
Re: 11/18 Frank PMPS 150

Okay, we have arrived at that point where his bg is below 200 (150) at preshot. I know to withhold food, so he did not get dinner, yet. Poor Frank. :cry: Now... when stalling, how often do I test until he is high enough to shoot?
 
Re: 11/18 Frank PMPS 150

very nice. :smile:

For your reference, here is the sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers.

Usually we use 150 as a guideline for new caregivers to shoot low. Frank had a clear nadir in the AM cycle and is on his way back up. As long as you are able to monitor and have your supplies on hand (test strips, high carb food) just in case, you can shoot whenever you are comfortable. If you are stalling, I would stall no more than 20-30 minutes at a time. The rule of thumb when you shoot your lowest ever preshot is to get a +1 and +2, both for data gathering purposes and to give you an idea of how the cycle will probably play out.
 
Re: 11/18 Frank PMPS 150

I have about four hours before bed. I can possibly push that to six. Do you think four is enough or six? I have to get up at 6am to get him ready for insulin again and I will be gone all day tomorrow...
 
Re: 11/18 Frank PMPS 150

probably. It does look like Frank may have a late nadir. Most likely he will bounce tonight, but you never know. He could keep you up until nadir.
 
Re: 11/18 Frank PMPS 172

He went from 150 to 172 in a matter of 30 minutes so hopefully that is a sign that we won't have an evening that is too exciting. I'm not counting on it though. I'm a little superstitious about these things (knock on wood). :lol:

Thanks for checking in. :)
 
He rose pretty fast. Possible bounce?

He is absolutely losing it when I try to test him. I don't know what happened, but he acts like I am hurting him when we have always been gentle. We have even reduced the amount we have been testing. Immediately, when we try to wrap him in the kitty burrito, he climbs curtains, he is so upset. Anybody had this problem?

Edit to add: I assume as long as he is running high, we ignore the fluctuations? NDW?
 
it's just a bounce. He went lower than his body is used to. It will clear out on its own. Looks like bedtime won't be an issue tonight.
 
Frank did some great surfing in the blues today. Paws crossed he'll find them again soon.

Have you tried testing him without the burrito? If he's one of those cats that doesn't like to be constrained, he might be feeling better enough to let you know he doesn't want that anymore.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Have you tried testing him without the burrito? If he's one of those cats that doesn't like to be constrained, he might be feeling better enough to let you know he doesn't want that anymore.
i was wondering the same thing...
maybe he's d-o-n-e with the burrito? :mrgreen:
 
Great idea to try him without the burrito.

I also wrote a post on testing and Shooting Tips. Perhaps it will help you.

One thing I noticed is that very few people realize the lancet is beveled and if you are manually poking, you want the bevel up so the sharpest side goes in first. Otherwise, the blunt side goes in, you don't get much blood, and you have to keep poking.
 
I try a poke, on occasion, to test the capacity to go without the burrito. We are not quite there, yet.

I did get the chance to look over that post the other day. It is full of great information. I use the ultra-fine lancets with pretty good luck. I have looked for a bevel and I can't tell the difference.
 
If you look at the insulin syringe, it will have a bevel with a hole in it. The lancet will have a similar bevel without the hole. Usually, you can see it in good light. It will make a big difference when you consistently get it pointing up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top