11/18 Blaze amps 341 PMPS 79/86/94 +2 47 +2.5 47 +3.15 62 +3.75 67 +4.25 80 +5 94

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Good morning!

We are back from vacation and back on schedule. I gave Blaze 1.25U last night and this morning. Going to give him a couple more cycles on 1.25U and then get back up to 1.5.

Hope everyone has a good Monday!
 
Welcome back Sarah.

You can just go right back to the dose she was on vacation, the 1.5, you don't have to take it slowly.

With the vacation dose you usually just take kitty right back up to the pre vacation reducie.
 
Welcome back Sarah.

You can just go right back to the dose she was on vacation, the 1.5, you don't have to take it slowly.

With the vacation dose you usually just take kitty right back up to the pre vacation reducie.

Thanks Gill!
Okay, I can give him the 1.5 units tonight then! I was afraid to go back to 1.5U right away last night and have to stay up all night if he dropped too low. We had a five hour drive home so I was real tired.
 
Thanks Gill!
Okay, I can give him the 1.5 units tonight then! I was afraid to go back to 1.5U right away last night and have to stay up all night if he dropped too low. We had a five hour drive home so I was real tired.
I did wonder if you were feeling Whacked from travelling.
 
I did wonder if you were feeling Whacked from travelling.
Ya, I posted yesterday and someone said if I gave the 1.5U last night, I would need to monitor him more closely so I could give 1.25U instead to be safe. I took the “safe” route because I was tired yesterday and had to be up at 6 for work today.
 
I have another out of town trip in three weeks though so I will have to get him back on a vacation dose again a couple days before I leave for that trip.
 
He'll get back down...looks like he's already on his way! Ya'll gotta stop leaving this baby at home for those outatown trips...:)

I hope he can get back to business quickly. I certainly understand about moving a bit slowly - especially when you're exhausted from being on the road all day. I understand that it's a good idea to get him back to his dose, but mom needs to get some rest so she can get back to work and get back to being a great caregiver for those triplets you got at home :)

Have a wonderful day Sarah!
 
Okay PMPS is 79, I tested again and it’s 86. I think I’m going to stick with 1.25U tonight and not give 1.5U like I had planned. That 79/86 PMPS seems like a major drop from this mornings AMPS at 341, even though it’s been 12 hours since his am shot:eek:
 
OK, if you can stall the half hour, that would be great.

Looking back, you did shoot another green once, and he pretty much behaved himself, so that's good, but we don't want to shoot a dropping green if we can help it.
 
OK, if you can stall the half hour, that would be great.

Looking back, you did shoot another green once, and he pretty much behaved himself, so that's good, but we don't want to shoot a dropping green if we can help it.
I tested at PMPS and got the 79 and immediately retested and got the 86 so I will retest in 15 minutes (which will be a 30 minute stall) and see where he’s at. I’m comfortable shooting a green, but it startled me because he was 341 this morning at amps. I was gone all day at work so didn’t get any more tests in and didn’t get home until PMPS :confused:

If he’s higher at the next test, should I shoot 1.25U? And if he’s lower, should I skip the shot tonight?
 
Yes, although even if he's still hovering around 80 like he was before (i.e. even if the number is technically a little lower), it's probably safe to shoot. We just don't want to shoot if he's currently heading down at speed.
 
Your first green shot! YEAH! You earned these Sarah.

upload_2019-4-17_18-5-3.jpeg
 
I am glad you shot full dose.:D

If he’s higher at the next test, should I shoot 1.25U? And if he’s lower, should I skip the shot tonight?
In general, the stall is for you, not the cat. If you stall too long, he could drop due to lack of food. And a late shot acts a bit like a decrease, so we try not to both delay and reduce a dose. Besides which, at least the first part of the cycle will likely play out the same if you reduce a dose, due to the depot. Any skip would be if you cannot monitor and cannot leave food out.

OK Blaze, show us shoot low to stay low and flatter cycles.
 
I am glad you shot full dose.:D

In general, the stall is for you, not the cat. If you stall too long, he could drop due to lack of food. And a late shot acts a bit like a decrease, so we try not to both delay and reduce a dose. Besides which, at least the first part of the cycle will likely play out the same if you reduce a dose, due to the depot. Any skip would be if you cannot monitor and cannot leave food out.

OK Blaze, show us shoot low to stay low and flatter cycles.

I’m glad I shot too!:D
I would never be able to stall too long due to work, I have to stay on schedule because of the time I get up and leave for work in the morning so the longest I will ever be able to stall is 30 minutes. I can always leave food out since I have the auto feeder, but I’m able to stay up late to monitor on work nights. Blaze is a very reliable eater so I know he will eat the snacks in the auto feeder if I have to go to bed and am not able to test late on work nights.

+2 is in 30 minutes so we’ll see what he’s up to!
 
:banghead:

Nope, can't say I was expecting that either! "Welcome home, mom!" says Blaze!

The 16% is fine for now, but keep the higher carbs at the ready and test in 30. Let's hope this is just the last hurrah of the AM shot and he'll start heading up right quick!
 
I’m confused. Blaze was on a vacation dose of 1 unit from 11/14-11/17 and even though the pet sitter was only able to get AMPS and PMPS, he seemed high during the time we were out of town. Who knows what his numbers were mid cycle though but his pre shot numbers were high at least. Does this 47 mean I need to reduce the dose back to 1 unit? I have only given him 1.25 U for 3 cycles now.
 
Good question-- yes, reduce back to 1.0U, even if you suspect that you may have to go up the dosing ladder again, he did earn a reduction.

Not sure what's going on with him today, either. One of the reasons I advised a stall was that, because you have limited midcycle data for the recent past, we couldn't guess as to whether he might be in the middle of breaking a bounce tonight, so a stall is a good way to see if he's moving and how fast. Then he did his little hover for the stall so I figured we were good. Apparently, though, he was just gently bopping up and down a bit on the diving board before doing this dive :woot:.
 
Good question-- yes, reduce back to 1.0U, even if you suspect that you may have to go up the dosing ladder again, he did earn a reduction.

Not sure what's going on with him today, either. One of the reasons I advised a stall was that, because you have limited midcycle data for the recent past, we couldn't guess as to whether he might be in the middle of breaking a bounce tonight, so a stall is a good way to see if he's moving and how fast. Then he did his little hover for the stall so I figured we were good. Apparently, though, he was just gently bopping up and down a bit on the diving board before doing this dive :woot:.
+2.5 is 47...should I give hiM HC now?
 
Are you giving just gravy, or the whole mix of food? The gravy is generally where the carbs are, plus that way they don't get as full as with the food itself.

And yes, hopefully he comes up soon!
 
Are you giving just gravy, or the whole mix of food? The gravy is generally where the carbs are, plus that way they don't get as full as with the food itself.

And yes, hopefully he comes up soon!
I gave both food and gravy but will just give gravy next time. I have yet to see Blaze turn down food though, he’s a very reliable eater. But will do just gravy next time to be safe.
 
It's kind of a balance. I'm always a little reluctant to do just gravy right off the bat, because I think some kitties find it too rich and getting lots of it by itself can upset their stomachs. On the other hand, at least so far Blaze seems in no hurry to get back up away from the sharks, so he might need those extra carbs tonight.
 
It's kind of a balance. I'm always a little reluctant to do just gravy right off the bat, because I think some kitties find it too rich and getting lots of it by itself can upset their stomachs. On the other hand, at least so far Blaze seems in no hurry to get back up away from the sharks, so he might need those extra carbs tonight.
Ya I like to do food and gravy unless he’s not responding to that, then I go for just the gravy. Luckily, he seems to respond to the 20% food and gravy since he came up a bit at the +3.15 test. I gave him a little more HC and will test in 30.
 
Normally, once they're over 50 it's time to hold back on food to see if they're rising on their own. The goal is to get a couple safe numbers without food influence.

Let's see where he is in a half hour, but I'm guessing you won't need to be administering any more extra carbs tonight. Though Blaze has already proven me a liar once tonight, so what do I know?
 
Normally, once they're over 50 it's time to hold back on food to see if they're rising on their own. The goal is to get a couple safe numbers without food influence.

Let's see where he is in a half hour, but I'm guessing you won't need to be administering any more extra carbs tonight. Though Blaze has already proven me a liar once tonight, so what do I know?
He’s just keeping us on our toes, you’re very knowledgeable Nan and I appreciate your advice and help tonight!

next test is in about 10 minutes so I will hold off on food at the next test.
 
You're welcome on the help; I am going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA), though, to see if she can help for the rest of these late-night (for me) shenanigans after this next test. Like I said, I think Blaze is just going to head up (his bounces are shorter these days, but this boy still loves his trampoline!), but on the other hand, we're just now heading into the heart of the insulin's active time, so he's still going to need some more monitoring, no matter what that next test is.
 
You're welcome on the help; I am going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA), though, to see if she can help for the rest of these late-night (for me) shenanigans after this next test. Like I said, I think Blaze is just going to head up (his bounces are shorter these days, but this boy still loves his trampoline!), but on the other hand, we're just now heading into the heart of the insulin's active time, so he's still going to need some more monitoring, no matter what that next test is.
Okay, thank you Nan!
 
OK, that 67 is better, but still climbing very slowly, especially considering I think you gave him a bit more HC a half hour prior.

So, hold off on food at this point, see if he can hold these numbers on his own. If he dips down again below 50, break out the HC and keep testing every 30. If he starts going up more quickly, you can test less frequently.

I'm not sure if there's going to be anyone else here with you for a while-- the boards seem very very quiet tonight. I'm going to try to stay up until the next test to see how things go. How are you feeling?
 
OK, that 67 is better, but still climbing very slowly, especially considering I think you gave him a bit more HC a half hour prior.

So, hold off on food at this point, see if he can hold these numbers on his own. If he dips down again below 50, break out the HC and keep testing every 30. If he starts going up more quickly, you can test less frequently.

I'm not sure if there's going to be anyone else here with you for a while-- the boards seem very very quiet tonight. I'm going to try to stay up until the next test to see how things go. How are you feeling?
I gave him 16% at +2 and 20% at +2.5 and +3.15 but no food after the +3.75 test. Next test is in about ten minutes.

No worries that no one is on the board, I should be okay. I know it’s late for you! It’s almost 11pm for me and I’m needing to get to bed soon, I have to be up for work early tomorrow morning. I’m feeling fine, I’m not stressed about these numbers but I would like to see him come up a bit more quickly! Blaze is snoozing on the couch.
 
Back
Top