11/18/18 Sweet Pea AMPS 337!! Dosing advice

Mom2SweetPea

Member Since 2018
Previous condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-going-in-wrong-direction-need-advice.206291/

Today's pink preshot number about killed me. I don't know what is going on! She had two solid weeks of greens and blues! Why is she all of a sudden going up exponentially? The preshot numbers are going up and up and up but I'm still able to get her to get down into blues with an odd green here or there. What would explain this sudden increase? Is there a scientific explanation? She is getting a very small dose. Do I stay at this small dose? Do I increase? She's been sleeping a lot more with these higher numbers. I feel like such a failure. Sorry for sounding so whiny. Ugh.
 
I wondered that, too. Appetite is good! She was quite a bit hungrier this morning than usual, prob due to the higher numbers. I just would feel so much better if I had a reason for this sudden climb. This journey hasn't always been predictable, but I always felt like I sort of understood the reason behind some of the reactions. This time I'm completely stumped.
 
Why is she all of a sudden going up exponentially?
Sometimes the healing beta cells just get tired and need to go on vacation again. It's not uncommon to have to go back up in dose for a bit. I'm not sure what dosing methodology you are using. I'm presuming SLGS because there is dry food in the picture, but the dose changes don't seem to follow SLGS. That's just my round about way of saying it's hard to give a particular dosing suggestion.

I wouldn't sweat the pinks too much if they are just a one time thing. Maybe she got into some contraband? Saw a scary critter outside? Who knows. :cat: I'd be more concerned about trends. What I am seeing is a trend to higher numbers and the nadirs coming up a little.
 
I'm sort of doing a hybrid of the two dosing protocols. I guess it's closer to TR even though she is technically eating dry food, though I believe the YAZC is similar to wet as far as its effect on BG. I am most definitely concerned about the much higher number trend. The preshots have quadrupled in 10 days! :( She doesn't eat anything other than the YAZC (no human food and there's no other cat food). I have so much anxiety over these rising numbers. I guess my patient pants shrunk in the wash because they don't seem to be fitting...;)
 
though I believe the YAZC is similar to wet as far as its effect on BG.
Carbs are not the reason TR requires wet food, though low carb is required. Dry food is processed at a different speed through the digestive system and is not as predictable. The limitation to raw or wet food for TR is there for safety.

Here is a post on why mixing and matching the two dosing methods is not a good idea. Actually, the entire post is a good read.
 
Thank you for that! That was a great read and helped clarify a few things. After reading that I realize I am doing SLGS but with modifications made using the data I have collected on my cat. The guidelines of SLGS are just the beginning as you learn how your cat responds to insulin and food. I didn't realize the guidelines are merely a starting point and not a protocol. I have been adjusting as needed based on what I have learned about Sweet Pea's responses. She has been fairly predictable up to this point. Her reactions to insulin have changed, and I guess I need more data to figure out how to react to these new changes. Thank you for the link!
 
Back
Top