Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Today is 2nd day of dosage of .5 units of Lantus, http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-2-219-3-199-4-196-5-184-6-195-8-249.206548/ ,
Last edited:
Nice slow drop Yoyo. Hope you slowly drop into blues, and skip the bouncing.![]()

I tried getting research from Purina regarding what canned foods had a high carb level. The woman told me Friskies Prime Filet had 16% carbs as dry matter as fed.Hi, Hope you and Babu-Chiri are doing well. Thank you for replying. I feel more comfortable knowing that I can reach out to you if something should happen. So thank you for being here!
Glad I can help, we are ok Babu has been doing well so far he's stable and running around the house so everything is good and thanks for askingHi, Hope you and Babu-Chiri are doing well. Thank you for replying. I feel more comfortable knowing that I can reach out to you if something should happen. So thank you for being here!
I would go for the highest possible but also take into account that it has to be one that Yoyo likes, to be honest at first I bought one of each the HC I could find to make sure that when I needed it I could have one he liked since I wasn´t going to be tasting it in advance, actually one of the highest and that Babu liked a lot is hills k/d chicken and vegetables (around 30% carbs) is for cats with kidney problems but it didn´t really matter since he was going to get just a few licksI tried getting research from Purina regarding what canned foods had a high carb level. The woman told me Friskies Prime Filet had 16% carbs as dry matter as fed.
Also, Friskies Indoor Chunky chicken & turkey casserol but I can't find that in my pet stores. Also, Pro plan Chicken Rice Gravy 17% carbs as dry matter as fed and Pro plan Tuna & Wild Rice sauce 18.3% Carbs as dry matter fed.
What do you recommend as a HC food if I should ever need it to bring Yoyo's BG levels up?
Glad I can help, we are ok Babu has been doing well so far he's stable and running around the house so everything is good and thanks for asking
I would go for the highest possible but also take into account that it has to be one that Yoyo likes, to be honest at first I bought one of each the HC I could find to make sure that when I needed it I could have one he liked since I wasn´t going to be tasting it in advance, actually one of the highest and that Babu liked a lot is hills k/d chicken and vegetables (around 30% carbs) is for cats with kidney problems but it didn´t really matter since he was going to get just a few licks
Good morning,Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today
Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
Good morning,Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today
Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
Good morning,Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today
Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
I gave him some more food but I needed to be careful not to overload him so that he doesn't vomit again. I gave him his felimazole pill with his food first thing this orning and the pill did not come up so I know most of his food did not come up. It was water mixed with his food and water makes it look like a lot but I know when he has vomited and all his food comes up, it looks more concentrated than this morning did. He will vomit from time to time. Usually afte drinking and he did drink this morning.Yes. Definitely. He needs to eat to counteract the insulin. Does he seem like he's ok? Has he ever thrown up like that before?
Maybe give him half the usual amount to see if he can hold it down, then wait a while, then the other half?
He didn't eat too fast, this is just Yoyo. It isn't unusual for him to vomit and I was going to ask that question about "what do I do if he vomits after insulin shot", well I guess I got my answer....lucky meI gave him some more food but I needed to be careful not to overload him so that he doesn't vomit again. I gave him his felimazole pill with his food first thing this orning and the pill did not come up so I know most of his food did not come up. It was water mixed with his food and water makes it look like a lot but I know when he has vomited and all his food comes up, it looks more concentrated than this morning did. He will vomit from time to time. Usually afte drinking and he did drink this morning.
He seems like himself. I'll go check on him, he is upstairs and my computer is downstairs.
What is your DH, what does DH stand for, something hypo? Where do you but slippery elm bark? I don't know what it is and would it effect his glucose levels?That's good. Looks like he will be fine.
Another tidbit I picked up while roaming the board. Most vomiting in cats will clear within 24 hours. After 4 hours, that's when you would call the vet.
Since Yoyo seems to vomit every once in a while, maybe consider looking into the Slippery Elm Bark?
I'm considering getting some for my DH. Bailey doesn't generally vomit, but it would probably be a good thing to have just in case.
DH stands for Dear Husband. DD is Dear Daughter, DM is Dear Mother, and so forth.
My hubby has stomach issues, and SEB (Slippery Elm Bark) is mentioned on here a lot for gastrointestinal issues. They say it lines the stomach. The thread I read said you can buy at Walmart, but then someone mentioned to try to buy the organic kind. IDK if they sell organic SEB at walmart.
I've seen people on here feed their kitties canned pumpkin to settle kitty tummies, especially constipation. It seems like it has no effect on BG , from what I see on the forum.
Bailey hasn't had tummy or appetite issues so I'm not very familiar with those remedies. Wish i could be more help.
You are alaways a Great Help. I can't thank you enough for being here for Yoyo.DH stands for Dear Husband. DD is Dear Daughter, DM is Dear Mother, and so forth.
My hubby has stomach issues, and SEB (Slippery Elm Bark) is mentioned on here a lot for gastrointestinal issues. They say it lines the stomach. The thread I read said you can buy at Walmart, but then someone mentioned to try to buy the organic kind. IDK if they sell organic SEB at walmart.
I've seen people on here feed their kitties canned pumpkin to settle kitty tummies, especially constipation. It seems like it has no effect on BG , from what I see on the forum.
Bailey hasn't had tummy or appetite issues so I'm not very familiar with those remedies. Wish i could be more help.
Thank you ever so much for checking in on Yoyo when you are with your family. Like I have said before, You are One Special Person!
Hope you are having fun and the weather isn't being a bumer.
Yo dropped on his +5 to 217, but not in the blues yet. Obviously, I don't understand how it works, but from his other days when he gets to +6 he starts to incline.
Only and only if you have time, I want to know if I should feed him a 1/4 can ff. He ate 1/2 can at AMPS and then 1/4 can ff after +3 reading.
I figured better to give him small amount to "steer" him. (Did I use the word "steer' correctly)?![]()
Hi sorry I was away all morning, I've just read Yoyo vomited some of his food but it seems he ate ok lather on, Lantus is a long lasting insulin which means it is not going to kick in right away so that gives you a bit of time in this cases to let his stomach settle and give him some food after a while, remember he will start going down around +2 his nadir is going to be around +5 or +6 so you actually have some time to make sure he eats.
Regarding the pumpkin is ok to give it to them just make sure is the one that has nothing else added and not the one they sell for pie filling, it helps with constipation and bit also with diahrea.
Slippery Elm Bark (SEB as many call it) is also used to help with stomach issues, it helps with stomach acid and nausea, it also helps with constipation and diarrhea, it can help with mouth ulsers, I use it also to help with furballs and is safe for diabetics but you have to give it 1 1/2 hours apart from any medication because is a demulcent, which means it soothes the stomach lining and intestinal walls and reduces irritation but it also means that it could interfere with med absortion. You would need to make a kind syrup (no suggar added of course )with it
Hi, Thank you for checking on Yo, he seems fine. He sometimes vomits after eating if he has had water. And today he did drink. I guess it is a good learning tool for me. Question #1 - Can I wait abut 15 minutes before giving him his insulin? I was feeding and immediately giving him his insulin. Thanks for the pumpkin info. I didn't want to give him pumpkin if it was going to raise his blood glucose levels.Hi sorry I was away all morning, I've just read Yoyo vomited some of his food but it seems he ate ok lather on, Lantus is a long lasting insulin which means it is not going to kick in right away so that gives you a bit of time in this cases to let his stomach settle and give him some food after a while, remember he will start going down around +2 his nadir is going to be around +5 or +6 so you actually have some time to make sure he eats.
Regarding the pumpkin is ok to give it to them just make sure is the one that has nothing else added and not the one they sell for pie filling, it helps with constipation and bit also with diahrea.
Slippery Elm Bark (SEB as many call it) is also used to help with stomach issues, it helps with stomach acid and nausea, it also helps with constipation and diarrhea, it can help with mouth ulsers, I use it also to help with furballs and is safe for diabetics but you have to give it 1 1/2 hours apart from any medication because is a demulcent, which means it soothes the stomach lining and intestinal walls and reduces irritation but it also means that it could interfere with med absortion. You would need to make a kind syrup (no suggar added of course )with it
As long as you have already tested and you know his numbers are ok to shoot and your schedule allows you to move the next shoot a bit is ok, specially when you are dealing with lower numbers is sometimes good to test a bit earlier than your actual shooting time in case you have to stall or waitQuestion #1 - Can I wait abut 15 minutes before giving him his insulin? I was feeding and immediately giving him his insulin
Sorry we do not have Alphatrak where I live so no experience with it but this is something you can post a tread in the main health forum there are quite a few Alphatrak users that will probably can answer this oneQuestion #2 - are you familiar with Freestyle Lite Strips and Insulin X strips. I read on the site that these strips can be used with the Alphatrak2 meter, is this true?
I'm asking due to the cost of the strips for the Alphatrak2 because I am testing so often.
Actually you can use any human mete,r try and buy one that uses a very tiny amount of blood (0.3 mul I think is the smallest), they will measure a bit different than pet meters but actually the protocols were written for human meters so you will be ok as for the differences some times are very small sometimes are not , there's no actual comparison between themQuestion #3 - ReliOn Confirm.....is this a good meter to use for cats? I read how when numbers are high there can be a difference of +100 or more points from the alphatrak2.