11/17 Yoyo PMPS 303, +1 318, +2 292, +3 283,+4 286,+8 314....+1 446,+2 360,+3 271,+4 262, +5 217

Nice slow drop Yoyo. Hope you slowly drop into blues, and skip the bouncing. :p:):confused:

Thank you ever so much for checking in on Yoyo when you are with your family. Like I have said before, You are One Special Person!
Hope you are having fun and the weather isn't being a bumer.

Yo dropped on his +5 to 217, but not in the blues yet. Obviously, I don't understand how it works, but from his other days when he gets to +6 he starts to incline.

Only and only if you have time, I want to know if I should feed him a 1/4 can ff. He ate 1/2 can at AMPS and then 1/4 can ff after +3 reading.
I figured better to give him small amount to "steer" him. (Did I use the word "steer' correctly)?:smuggrin:
 
Yoyo, you are looking good try and give your mom a nice night!

This first week is going to be a bit irregular because his body needs to get used to the insulin, that's one of the reasons is recomended that when you start you hold the dose for 7 days

I see you have decided for the SLGS protocol, one of the main differences between both protocols is that with SLGS you hold the dose every 7 days then asses and see if you need to adjust the dose you don't need to test as much and that if he gets under 90 at any time you lower the dose by 0.25units but since you will be adjusting the dose every 7 days you will go as the name says slow

What we mean by steer is since food will make his blood glucose raise a bit we use food to make his blood glucose raise a bit or stop it from keep going down if he is dropping to much or too fast, how much depends on the cat and the food you use, it is not always necessary and actually you want his blood glucose to keep going down into better almost normal numbers and remain there just not too fast so far Yoyo has been going down fairly smooth which is good

A bounce happens when the cat's body detects a lower blood glucose level that what he's used to, it doesn't have to be very low just lower than his "normal" and it triggers a defense mechanism that makes his blood glucose to raise, as he gets used to lower levels they usually bounce less (most of the time some never stop diving and bouncing) a bounce can last up to 6 cycles but some clear very fast
 
Hi, Hope you and Babu-Chiri are doing well. Thank you for replying. I feel more comfortable knowing that I can reach out to you if something should happen. So thank you for being here!
 
Hi, Hope you and Babu-Chiri are doing well. Thank you for replying. I feel more comfortable knowing that I can reach out to you if something should happen. So thank you for being here!
I tried getting research from Purina regarding what canned foods had a high carb level. The woman told me Friskies Prime Filet had 16% carbs as dry matter as fed.
Also, Friskies Indoor Chunky chicken & turkey casserol but I can't find that in my pet stores. Also, Pro plan Chicken Rice Gravy 17% carbs as dry matter as fed and Pro plan Tuna & Wild Rice sauce 18.3% Carbs as dry matter fed.
What do you recommend as a HC food if I should ever need it to bring Yoyo's BG levels up?
 
Hi, Hope you and Babu-Chiri are doing well. Thank you for replying. I feel more comfortable knowing that I can reach out to you if something should happen. So thank you for being here!
Glad I can help, we are ok Babu has been doing well so far he's stable and running around the house so everything is good and thanks for asking

I tried getting research from Purina regarding what canned foods had a high carb level. The woman told me Friskies Prime Filet had 16% carbs as dry matter as fed.
Also, Friskies Indoor Chunky chicken & turkey casserol but I can't find that in my pet stores. Also, Pro plan Chicken Rice Gravy 17% carbs as dry matter as fed and Pro plan Tuna & Wild Rice sauce 18.3% Carbs as dry matter fed.
What do you recommend as a HC food if I should ever need it to bring Yoyo's BG levels up?
I would go for the highest possible but also take into account that it has to be one that Yoyo likes, to be honest at first I bought one of each the HC I could find to make sure that when I needed it I could have one he liked since I wasn´t going to be tasting it in advance, actually one of the highest and that Babu liked a lot is hills k/d chicken and vegetables (around 30% carbs) is for cats with kidney problems but it didn´t really matter since he was going to get just a few licks
 
Glad I can help, we are ok Babu has been doing well so far he's stable and running around the house so everything is good and thanks for asking


I would go for the highest possible but also take into account that it has to be one that Yoyo likes, to be honest at first I bought one of each the HC I could find to make sure that when I needed it I could have one he liked since I wasn´t going to be tasting it in advance, actually one of the highest and that Babu liked a lot is hills k/d chicken and vegetables (around 30% carbs) is for cats with kidney problems but it didn´t really matter since he was going to get just a few licks

Can I feed Yo now or will it effect his drop? I know he is getting hungry.
 
Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today :)

Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
 
Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today :)

Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
Good morning,
I need some help!
Yoyo vomited after having his insulin shot. Not all his food came up, a lot of water and he does this sometimes when he drinks after eating. Do I need to refeed him????
 
Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today :)

Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
Good morning,
I need some help!
Yoyo vomited after having his insulin shot. Not all his food came up, a lot of water and he does this sometimes when he drinks after eating. Do I need to refeed him????
 
Yoyo's looking good. His pinks are lower in the lower range, and he is leveling out as opposed to dropping low then bouncing way up. Looking forward to seeing today's AMPS. Hopefully, no reds at all today :)

Here is the pic I mentioned earlier from @Sue and Luci . This was very helpful for me. I also liked the suggestion on writing the %carbs right on the can for easy access, especially if your kitty's BG is dropping. You don't want to be looking up %carb when dealing with a low BG event.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-pics-of-our-food-hypo-kit-pmps-263.205293/
Good morning,
I need some help!
Yoyo vomited after having his insulin shot. Not all his food came up, a lot of water and food came up and he does this sometimes when he drinks after eating. Do I need to refeed him????
 
Yes. Definitely. He needs to eat to counteract the insulin. Does he seem like he's ok? Has he ever thrown up like that before?
Maybe give him half the usual amount to see if he can hold it down, then wait a while, then the other half?
 
I looked around the board for other posts about vomiting.
Most of the common questions?
1. Did he get into any people food, or something other than cat food?
2. Did you feed a different cat food that he may be allergic too?
3. Did you feed beef? Apparently, cats can develop an allergy to beef. Who knew?
4. Did he do a "scarf and barf", eat too fast?

Suggestion:
Slippery Elm Bark which coats the GI tract and provides relief
 
Yes. Definitely. He needs to eat to counteract the insulin. Does he seem like he's ok? Has he ever thrown up like that before?
Maybe give him half the usual amount to see if he can hold it down, then wait a while, then the other half?
I gave him some more food but I needed to be careful not to overload him so that he doesn't vomit again. I gave him his felimazole pill with his food first thing this orning and the pill did not come up so I know most of his food did not come up. It was water mixed with his food and water makes it look like a lot but I know when he has vomited and all his food comes up, it looks more concentrated than this morning did. He will vomit from time to time. Usually afte drinking and he did drink this morning.
He seems like himself. I'll go check on him, he is upstairs and my computer is downstairs.
 
I gave him some more food but I needed to be careful not to overload him so that he doesn't vomit again. I gave him his felimazole pill with his food first thing this orning and the pill did not come up so I know most of his food did not come up. It was water mixed with his food and water makes it look like a lot but I know when he has vomited and all his food comes up, it looks more concentrated than this morning did. He will vomit from time to time. Usually afte drinking and he did drink this morning.
He seems like himself. I'll go check on him, he is upstairs and my computer is downstairs.
He didn't eat too fast, this is just Yoyo. It isn't unusual for him to vomit and I was going to ask that question about "what do I do if he vomits after insulin shot", well I guess I got my answer....lucky me:):)
 
Last edited:
That's good. Looks like he will be fine.
Another tidbit I picked up while roaming the board. Most vomiting in cats will clear within 24 hours. After 4 hours, that's when you would call the vet.

Since Yoyo seems to vomit every once in a while, maybe consider looking into the Slippery Elm Bark?
I'm considering getting some for my DH. Bailey doesn't generally vomit, but it would probably be a good thing to have just in case.
 
I am not sure if I am getting all of your reply's as the samething is happening today as did yesterday. My messages are all going to 11/17. It is really annoying especially when I need to reach you and I can't find your messages.
His +1 is 447, what do you think? Is he in any type of trouble? Seems like he is following every other day in counts. Hoepfully that means that he did get enough food. Please let me know???
 
That's good. Looks like he will be fine.
Another tidbit I picked up while roaming the board. Most vomiting in cats will clear within 24 hours. After 4 hours, that's when you would call the vet.

Since Yoyo seems to vomit every once in a while, maybe consider looking into the Slippery Elm Bark?
I'm considering getting some for my DH. Bailey doesn't generally vomit, but it would probably be a good thing to have just in case.
What is your DH, what does DH stand for, something hypo? Where do you but slippery elm bark? I don't know what it is and would it effect his glucose levels?
Also, Yoyo loves canned pumkin, no sugar added. I stopped when he was diagnosed with diabetes. Is this something he can start to eat again or just hold off at this time?
 
DH stands for Dear Husband. DD is Dear Daughter, DM is Dear Mother, and so forth.
My hubby has stomach issues, and SEB (Slippery Elm Bark) is mentioned on here a lot for gastrointestinal issues. They say it lines the stomach. The thread I read said you can buy at Walmart, but then someone mentioned to try to buy the organic kind. IDK if they sell organic SEB at walmart.

I've seen people on here feed their kitties canned pumpkin to settle kitty tummies, especially constipation. It seems like it has no effect on BG , from what I see on the forum.

Bailey hasn't had tummy or appetite issues so I'm not very familiar with those remedies. Wish i could be more help.
 
DH stands for Dear Husband. DD is Dear Daughter, DM is Dear Mother, and so forth.
My hubby has stomach issues, and SEB (Slippery Elm Bark) is mentioned on here a lot for gastrointestinal issues. They say it lines the stomach. The thread I read said you can buy at Walmart, but then someone mentioned to try to buy the organic kind. IDK if they sell organic SEB at walmart.

I've seen people on here feed their kitties canned pumpkin to settle kitty tummies, especially constipation. It seems like it has no effect on BG , from what I see on the forum.

Bailey hasn't had tummy or appetite issues so I'm not very familiar with those remedies. Wish i could be more help.
DH stands for Dear Husband. DD is Dear Daughter, DM is Dear Mother, and so forth.
My hubby has stomach issues, and SEB (Slippery Elm Bark) is mentioned on here a lot for gastrointestinal issues. They say it lines the stomach. The thread I read said you can buy at Walmart, but then someone mentioned to try to buy the organic kind. IDK if they sell organic SEB at walmart.

I've seen people on here feed their kitties canned pumpkin to settle kitty tummies, especially constipation. It seems like it has no effect on BG , from what I see on the forum.

Bailey hasn't had tummy or appetite issues so I'm not very familiar with those remedies. Wish i could be more help.
You are alaways a Great Help. I can't thank you enough for being here for Yoyo.
I hope you had a nice day yesterday with your family visit.
How's the weather?
 
Hi sorry I was away all morning, I've just read Yoyo vomited some of his food but it seems he ate ok lather on, Lantus is a long lasting insulin which means it is not going to kick in right away so that gives you a bit of time in this cases to let his stomach settle and give him some food after a while, remember he will start going down around +2 his nadir is going to be around +5 or +6 so you actually have some time to make sure he eats.

Regarding the pumpkin is ok to give it to them just make sure is the one that has nothing else added and not the one they sell for pie filling, it helps with constipation and bit also with diahrea.

Slippery Elm Bark (SEB as many call it) is also used to help with stomach issues, it helps with stomach acid and nausea, it also helps with constipation and diarrhea, it can help with mouth ulsers, I use it also to help with furballs and is safe for diabetics but you have to give it 1 1/2 hours apart from any medication because is a demulcent, which means it soothes the stomach lining and intestinal walls and reduces irritation but it also means that it could interfere with med absortion. You would need to make a kind syrup (no suggar added of course )with it
 
Thank you ever so much for checking in on Yoyo when you are with your family. Like I have said before, You are One Special Person!
Hope you are having fun and the weather isn't being a bumer.

Yo dropped on his +5 to 217, but not in the blues yet. Obviously, I don't understand how it works, but from his other days when he gets to +6 he starts to incline.

Only and only if you have time, I want to know if I should feed him a 1/4 can ff. He ate 1/2 can at AMPS and then 1/4 can ff after +3 reading.
I figured better to give him small amount to "steer" him. (Did I use the word "steer' correctly)?:smuggrin:
Hi sorry I was away all morning, I've just read Yoyo vomited some of his food but it seems he ate ok lather on, Lantus is a long lasting insulin which means it is not going to kick in right away so that gives you a bit of time in this cases to let his stomach settle and give him some food after a while, remember he will start going down around +2 his nadir is going to be around +5 or +6 so you actually have some time to make sure he eats.

Regarding the pumpkin is ok to give it to them just make sure is the one that has nothing else added and not the one they sell for pie filling, it helps with constipation and bit also with diahrea.

Slippery Elm Bark (SEB as many call it) is also used to help with stomach issues, it helps with stomach acid and nausea, it also helps with constipation and diarrhea, it can help with mouth ulsers, I use it also to help with furballs and is safe for diabetics but you have to give it 1 1/2 hours apart from any medication because is a demulcent, which means it soothes the stomach lining and intestinal walls and reduces irritation but it also means that it could interfere with med absortion. You would need to make a kind syrup (no suggar added of course )with it
Hi sorry I was away all morning, I've just read Yoyo vomited some of his food but it seems he ate ok lather on, Lantus is a long lasting insulin which means it is not going to kick in right away so that gives you a bit of time in this cases to let his stomach settle and give him some food after a while, remember he will start going down around +2 his nadir is going to be around +5 or +6 so you actually have some time to make sure he eats.

Regarding the pumpkin is ok to give it to them just make sure is the one that has nothing else added and not the one they sell for pie filling, it helps with constipation and bit also with diahrea.

Slippery Elm Bark (SEB as many call it) is also used to help with stomach issues, it helps with stomach acid and nausea, it also helps with constipation and diarrhea, it can help with mouth ulsers, I use it also to help with furballs and is safe for diabetics but you have to give it 1 1/2 hours apart from any medication because is a demulcent, which means it soothes the stomach lining and intestinal walls and reduces irritation but it also means that it could interfere with med absortion. You would need to make a kind syrup (no suggar added of course )with it
Hi, Thank you for checking on Yo, he seems fine. He sometimes vomits after eating if he has had water. And today he did drink. I guess it is a good learning tool for me. Question #1 - Can I wait abut 15 minutes before giving him his insulin? I was feeding and immediately giving him his insulin. Thanks for the pumpkin info. I didn't want to give him pumpkin if it was going to raise his blood glucose levels.
Question #2 - are you familiar with Freestyle Lite Strips and Insulin X strips. I read on the site that these strips can be used with the Alphatrak2 meter, is this true?
I'm asking due to the cost of the strips for the Alphatrak2 because I am testing so often.
Question #3 - ReliOn Confirm.....is this a good meter to use for cats? I read how when numbers are high there can be a difference of +100 or more points from the alphatrak2.
Please let me know your thoughts.
Enjoy your day!
 
Question #1 - Can I wait abut 15 minutes before giving him his insulin? I was feeding and immediately giving him his insulin
As long as you have already tested and you know his numbers are ok to shoot and your schedule allows you to move the next shoot a bit is ok, specially when you are dealing with lower numbers is sometimes good to test a bit earlier than your actual shooting time in case you have to stall or wait

Question #2 - are you familiar with Freestyle Lite Strips and Insulin X strips. I read on the site that these strips can be used with the Alphatrak2 meter, is this true?
I'm asking due to the cost of the strips for the Alphatrak2 because I am testing so often.
Sorry we do not have Alphatrak where I live so no experience with it but this is something you can post a tread in the main health forum there are quite a few Alphatrak users that will probably can answer this one

Question #3 - ReliOn Confirm.....is this a good meter to use for cats? I read how when numbers are high there can be a difference of +100 or more points from the alphatrak2.
Actually you can use any human mete,r try and buy one that uses a very tiny amount of blood (0.3 mul I think is the smallest), they will measure a bit different than pet meters but actually the protocols were written for human meters so you will be ok as for the differences some times are very small sometimes are not , there's no actual comparison between them
 
Back
Top