11/17 Sooty PMPS 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday...

Today: AMPS 375 +2 295 +4 280 +6 232 PMPS 261

Wow, a bit high this morning... hmmmm... but these pink PS numbers, the last few days, are higher than when he was on no isulin at all, so that doesn't indicate the Lantus losing its potency, does it? Whatever it is, I'm thinking that the sooner we get this dental done, and the new insulin (Lev) started, the better.

He was all purrs this morning for poking ceremonies, though - jumped right up onto the counter for us, no problem, so he seems OK, despite the elevated BG...

No thefts yet today, so he got a ton of extra scritches for his trouble. Good boy Sooty!

OK, off now to go & do battle with the ATL commute, TTYL, LLers, have a great Fursday!
 
Re: 11/17/2010 Sooty AMPS 375 - blech!

That is a discouraging number for sure. Come on Sooty...can you do a little better than that?
I agree that the sooner the better, Perry! :razz:
 
Re: 11/17/2010 Sooty AMPS 375 - blech!

mocha and sooty are neck and neck this morning ... I hope that he comes down for you soon ... and I hope that the dental and new pen bring out those beautiful greens on sooty .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/17/2010 Sooty AMPS 375 - blech!

Hey there!
Don't too worry too much about the numbers, but rather look to the nice purrs and eagerness for testing and shots.
Those things tell you that Sooty is getting a benefit that Sooty likes.

When you have the dental business out of the way and switch over to Lev, then you can focus more on fine tuning Sooty's dose, but always remember that the acro part of the picture is going to toss in some weirdness from time to time.

As you gather data with testings, you will start to see more what Sooty is doing, how he is reacting.

It's great to hear Sooty's liking his tx and full of lots of purrs. Let's hope he gets some better numbers on this cycle.
 
Re: 11/17/2010 Sooty AMPS 375 - blech!

What's with Sooty and the pink AMPS? Did he want to add some color to his SS? Please let him know that he can add blue, rather than pink, and his SS will be just as colorful.
 
Re: 11/17/2010 Sooty AMPS 375 +2 295

Thanks for all the encouragement you guys, +2 is much better.

Just heard from the vet they are switching to another Dr today, our new Dr will be the lead vet and founder of this practice, Dr JoAnne Roesner (up to now we've been with Dr Karen Ellis). They also moved our appt time from 6pm to 4:30pm so that's good.

How funny I just looked at their website (here: http://www.lovinghands.com) and what do I see: "$25 Off Dental Exam and Cleaning through November 15th!" - grrr how did we miss that!??

Anyhow, I shall let you know the outcome, later...!
 
Well, this evening's appt at the vet went pretty well. The new vet we're now working with is familiar with Lev (but not so much directly, as she hasn't prescribed it before, nor is she quite au fait with the results that people are having with it). But she had no issues whatever, about writing an Rx for Lev (YAY!) We also talked about possible therapy for Acro but we'll need to ease into this as we go along... ...there's quite a lot to think about.

On switching insulin, she was aware that a 30% dose reduction is said by some, to be prudent on switching from Lantus to Lev and I think I have to concur that something like this would be sensible, not only for the change of insulin but just in case our current Lantus is by now, possibly less than 100% effective (which I sincerely doubt - but you never know!) She also wanted to be assured that we will be testing him frequently after the switch and we assured her that yes, this will indeed be the case!

The dental exam / cleaning / root planing is scheduled for Monday afternoon (1st available slot). The new vet is doing this herself and said she will be using absolute minimum anesthetic protocol, so as to avoid or minimize inappetance, later on that day. She will write us the Rx for Levemir also on Monday and so we should be able to start him on Lev from AM Tuesday, next week (assuming no issues with filling ther Rx), after the dental is done and out of the way.

So it's back to normal programming now for the next few days...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top