11/17 Ruby AMPS 390/+3 294/PMPS 309/+4 321

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday.

I had been wavering on a dose increase, but after this angry pink AMPS number we got this morning (she must have had a long visit to the beach last night) and the gentle but firm counsel of @Wendy&Neko, I increased her dose from 1.5 to 1.75 this morning. I was hesitating because I didn't want to upset my vet for not talking to him about it first (I need a new vet!) but frankly I am also just plain scared of dealing with low numbers. I have to move out of my apartment within the next three weeks and between the chaos that will generate and Ruby's needs, I feel fairly overwhelmed. I do, however, want to get her into those happy blues and greens and have her stay there for a little while, so try I'll keep on eye on her when I can. I can only do my best.

Have a lovely day, all. Sending healing thoughts and scritches to all of the sick kitties and hugs to all you beans! :bighug:
 
Sounds like a lot to deal with Katherine - but hopefully you see some improvement from the dose increase.

Hope you and Ruby have a good day today :)
 
Sounds like a lot to deal with Katherine - but hopefully you see some improvement from the dose increase.
Thank you, Elizabeth. I hope so, too. Despite her wildly swinging numbers, Ruby's been doing really well. Yesterday she "killed" a piece of kitchen twine and brought it to me. It made my heart melt. :smuggrin:
 
Good luck with the increase Katherine, moving is a real pain in the butt.
Try to stay calm with the move, easy to say I know, I've been there and I was
a crazy lady.

Wishing you and Ruby all the best :bighug::cat:
 
Good luck with the new dose :bighug: And deep breaths for the move - also three weeks is a long time in the FD world so you may have flatter curves by then (more predictability) - paws crossed (and some <anti-jinx> for good measure).
 
One thing to consider, when people have things happening in their lives, go on vacations, etc., they can lower the dose to something less "dramatic" for a while. If you find Ruby is keeping you too busy with the new dose (or whatever the dose is) at the time just before you move, it's always OK to temporarily lower it.

All of us were scared of handling low numbers at first. :bighug: That's why we are there to help.

Nice to see Ruby ditch that angry pink so quickly. :)
 
One thing to consider, when people have things happening in their lives, go on vacations, etc., they can lower the dose to something less "dramatic" for a while. If you find Ruby is keeping you too busy with the new dose (or whatever the dose is) at the time just before you move, it's always OK to temporarily lower it.

All of us were scared of handling low numbers at first. :bighug: That's why we are there to help.

Nice to see Ruby ditch that angry pink so quickly. :)
Thank you, Wendy. I'll keep the dose reduction in my back pocket as a potential option when things get hairy.

There are some days when the weight of the responsibility of taking care of Ruby is just too much. It's enough to make want to break down and cry on a daily basis. It does make me happy when I see her improving and acting kitten-like. Today she's feeling pretty crappy from her high numbers and so I am too.
 
PMPS = 309. The angry pink is back. :mad: Ruby was pretty listless today, spending most of the day by herself in the bedroom sleeping. I dragged her out for her PM test, food, and shot and now she's gone back in there, a lump underneath the down duvet. We were making such good progress...I'm hoping this is short lived. The good thing is I don't have to worry about her ketones as she is eating lots of her watered down FF Turkey & Giblets (YUMS!).
 
+4 = 321. Was surprised to see this number this evening. Ruby came out of hiding and was generally active and social. She has been ravenously hungry though, so that might be an indication, but of what? Could this be NDW?
 
Back
Top