11/17 PurrFace PMPS 191 +2.5/218 +7/221 +10.5/164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
PurrFace stayed with the pink for his PM cycle. That cycle marked the 9th complete cycle on his new 0.10U dose. I sure hope it was just another one of his bounces and he soon settles down in the blue or green zone nailbite_smile nailbite_smile . He started his 10th cycle this AM with a 292.

How many more cycles with yellow and pink numbers before a dose increase to .25U is warranted? :sad: :sad:

Hope all have a great day. ~O)
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292

Hi John, I hope PurrFace breaks the bounce and comes down today. That's a good question for the dose advisors. I would add the ? emoticon in your subject line. Maybe PurrFace wants you to go fishing today, although I know you would prefer he break the bounce. Come on down, Purrface.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292

Hi Ann. No fishing today. DW has been keeping an eye on PF for the last few days so today she is going shopping with our daughter and granddaughter. It's just me and PurrFace today. I'll put the "?" up later today if I don't here from someone this afternoon. I thought I would wait as to not draw attention away from others that have more serious questions.

Thank you for visiting the condo. It is always nice to read your post. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292

Hi John-
Looks like PurrFace is still full of surprises. I'm not good for dosing advice but posted the link about when to increase.
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit

I noticed on your SS that you have been giving MC and HC. I wonder if that impacts his numbers. Just a thought.

Hope you havea great Caturday as you stick around home.
Karen
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145

Thanks for the protocol on dosing Karen. My DW and I were discussing the MC we feed when he got into the 50s and whether that could still be having an effect. I'm going to go back over his SS again and see if I can see something that will give me a clue what to expect from him during this cycle.
Thank you for visiting his condo and I hope you have a wonderful weekend.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145

John and Donna

I'm not a fan of feeding MC or HC in the 50s unless it is very early in the cycle and they are dropping like a rock. I don't think the HC you fed yesterday would be causing those numbers last night.

You know, John....I just noticed (and don't know how Sienne and I missed this when we posted on 11/14), but he got to 38 on his fourth cycle of this dose. He should have been reduced then to a drop. For a newly diagnosed cat, you don't want to keep him from earning a reduction. So try not to feed him any MC/HC today unless he goes below 50. If he goes below 50, bring him up with food but reduce his dose to a drop or if you think the .1u is already one drop, look at the "some" insulin on the New to the Group sticky and see if you can shoot that.

I wouldn't increase his dose at this point. Let's see what he'll do today.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145

Thank you Marje. Don't worry about the missed reduction. I should have caught it also. I knew in the past if he dropped below 50 he got a reduction but I didn't realize that there was a dose below 0.10U. I should have posted that and asked for advice. You and Sienne have been such a great help, I can't explain how much.

I can dose the drop if he needs to go there. I'll play with a syringe using milk (I can see it better) and when I get it just right I'll make another "hillbilly" caliber like I did for the 0.10U. That way I'll be able to keep the dose consistent.

I'll inform DW that he is not to get any more MC or HC unless he goes below 50 and then bring him up with food that has between 7%-10% carb rating. When he gets to 50> go with LC 5%< only.

How will my missing his earned reduction effect him now?

Thank you again and I hope Gracie stays in the good numbers for you. :smile:
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145

John

I'm not sure how missing the reduction will affect him at this point. I'm on the fence as to whether you should just see what he does, or reduce him now. You don't lose reductions. I just don't want his depot to get ahead of you.

Let's just see what he does the next cycle or so. And don't worry...we've all missed reductions.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145

I'll check on the dose again at PMPS test. Worst case I'll keep it there through the PM cycle. I'm assuming that these dose reductions he has received mean that his pancreas is helping him along a little bit. Is that correct?

Looks like you are going to have some nice weather this weekend. I hope you and DH can get some hiking or golf in. Thanks again, Marje. :-D
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145

On the pancreas....we hope :-D :-D :-D

Thanks, John! Mike is working so I don't usually get too far from home or stay gone long just in case you know who decides to come down.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145 +5/50

I know what you mean about staying close. We're fortunate that we are both retired so we can take turns staying with PF. Having FD sure puts a whole new meaning to "Having The Cat By The Tail" doesn't it. :lol:

PurrFace just presented me with a 50 reading. He was meowing for food so I gave him 2 tsp of LC. What percentage of carbs determines whether the food is LC, MC or HC.
I have his divided up with LC = 0%-5%; MC = 6%-10% and HC = 11%>. Am I close?
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145 +5/50 +6/70

Looks like the 5% LC got him up to 70. Gave him 1 more tsp of 5% LC @+6/70. He should be good now until +9 or +10.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145 +5/50 +6/70

LC is up to 10%; I believe HC is anything above 18% and MC is in between.

Nice work here. I'd go ahead and leave the dose for now and see what he does. I'm thinking it isn't going to be long before he earns a reduction.

Actually, I think FD means "the cat has ME by the tail" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145 +5/50 +6/70

Hi John, Nice slide for PurrFace right into green today :mrgreen: looks like the 5% LC is working well to keep him in his lane. If he responds well to that, makes sense to reserve higher carbs for when you really need to raise not just maintain his numbers.

I hear you about retirement, I did not start doing the serious sugar cat dance until after I retired. I felt very lucky I could be home for Jasper when I needed to, and active fd was a certainly a project schedule. DH is still working and missed out on a lot of the daily adventure. Thanks to LL advice and support, Jasper is now 89 days OTJ and I am off the clock, getting into retirement life at last :smile: .
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace AMPS 292 +2/145 +5/50 +6/70

Hi Leslie. Thanks for stopping by the condo. I'm glad Jasper is OTJ. That must of been a big relief for you and a feeling of great accomplishment. You'll find it takes a while to settle into the retirement life but worth it.
Hope you have a great weekend.
 
Re: 11/17 PurrFace PMPS 191

Well PurrFace managed to keep his AM cycle in the green/blue zone ranging from a +5/50 up to a PMPS/191. He keeps it interesting.

Hope everyone has a very pleasant evening. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top