11/17 Morris AMPS 160; PMBG 292; +2 432; +10 499 DOSE ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56620

Morris did well overnight without food - I was worried he would start crying & keep me up all night! He ate up all the food I gave him at dinner time (1/2 his usual) by the time midnight rolled around. I took his dish away & then went to bed.

I will be leaving shortly to drop the human kids off at school, and then drop Morris off at the vet. I don't know what time his surgery is yet, but I will post from work with more info as it becomes available.

Thanks again for all the love & support to get me through this big decision!!! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

PRAYERS FOR AN EASY EASY DENTAL--It is usually us who suffer the most--
Please post Morris's bg number when you get him home before shooting--
SOME cats can have low BG's after pm shot, as the anesthesia eats up the bg's In some cats-after the dental-
Called the Nom Nom effect, Moonie went very low after one of her dentals due to this--
Not to worry, I just know Morris will be fine--Please post update when you get it--Hugs from us!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

Keep us posted. We'll be thinking good dental thoughts for Morris! Paws crossed. :-D
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

Thanks all! He is now at the vets & I'm at work. He is apparently the 1st surgery of the day, so things are probably starting there already (pre-anesthesia stuff). I expect he will be in the OR around 9:30ish. I have a WONDERFUL vet & I am truly confident in her abilities - I know she will take excellent care of Morris today!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

Hi guys .. I got you guys in my prayers today that everything is smooth sailing with a quick recovery with no problems!!!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

Sending good dental vines to Morris, today.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

Praying that everything goes well for Morris. He'll feel so much better after they take care of those bad teeth. Donovan's BGs are better than ever after his dental surgery.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day!

Gwen, we are thinking very positively that all will go well today. It will be a relief to have those bad teeth taken care of. Update when you can.

Hugs for you!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update

I couldn't stand it anymore nailbite_smile , so I finally called in to check on him! Turns out he is doing quite well so far! My vet also did a chest xray before she started (& isn't planning on charging me for it!) just to double check his heart/lungs - looked good to her. His BG did dip down to around 55, so they gave him some sugar into his IV. His blood pressure was up when they checked it initially today (could be vet stress), but is doing well now that he is under. When I take him back in for his next visit, we will check his BP 1st thing & see how it is doing. I guess with this possible cardiomyopathy, blood pressure can be problematic as well.

There is a lot of work that needs to be done in that cute little mouth of his.....it could be awhile before he's done!!!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update

Good report! I've been watching for your update and couldn't be happier for you and Morris! Nice of doc to not charge for the x-ray :-D
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update

Thinking of Morris and you all day. Thanks for the report - so glad to hear everything is going smoothly. Sending healing energy.
Liz
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update #2

A little while ago, while I was on my lunch break, the vet called with another update. Morris has lost all of his side teeth, the top 2 canine, and all but 1 incisor on top. She said that on the bottom, his incisors look good & 1 canine looks good....she wanted to discuss what to do about the other canine. She said it looks like it is 3/4 good, but it has a much deeper pocket than what she would like to see. If she takes that canine out, there is a risk that his jaw might fracture & that can be a real problem in diabetic cats (much longer to heal). If she leaves that canine in, we will probably need to do another dental on him in the not so distant future which means more anesthesia. We discussed it for a few moments & then I took a deep breath & told her to go ahead and remove that canine as well.

So, Mr Morris will now have 6 incisors & 1 canine on the bottom, and 1 incisor on top!!! Poor thing!!! :cry: She said he is still doing well.....all his numbers (BG & BP, ect) are doing fine. She said she would call me again when he is awake.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update #2

SORRY for all the extractions, but he will feel better after this & will have even better numbers--Praying for his jaw to be ok--Moonie had 9 teeth removed 2 different dentals, & My Civvie Copper had his canines removed also & most teeth.--Praying for Morris to finish this fine--Be sure to get some buprenex for pain(I gave it by mouth) and for AB's (always feed before giving AB's or it causes tummy problems)
Sending Love & Hugs to you Gwen & good dental health to Morris!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update #2

Roni and Moonie said:
Be sure to get some buprenex for pain(I gave it by mouth) and for AB's (always feed before giving AB's or it causes tummy problems)
I already have some bupe at home (p'itis supplies) - he doesn't really like it & it is VERY difficult for me to get it into his cheek pocket!! We have tried flavored & unflavored! Perhaps he won't be as disagreeable with fewer teeth in his mouth!!!

They told me to give food when I give ab's (started those on Tues evening) & that it tastes better apparently when cold. I have been giving him the ab's right after testing BG & before putting his food dish down for him. After he has the ab's, he does a few little coughs (like a fur ball) & then goes over to have a few bites of food.

I also asked the vet if they could give his claws a little bit of a nail clipping while he was out - just so that he won't be as violent with them while I'm giving him these meds over the next few days! LOL! She said they would trim them up for me ;-)
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update #2

Gwen and Morris said:
So, Mr Morris will now have 6 incisors & 1 canine on the bottom, and 1 incisor on top!!!
He will be fine. BK has maybe 5 teeth left - 1 upper canine and 1 lower canine (opposite sides) and a couple back teeth. The day will probably come when he has none!

Glad to hear it is going well!
eta - good time for a kitty mani-pedi!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update #2

Oh Poor Mr Morris!!!!! Hugs and healing thoughts!!!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! Update #3

Had a call about 30mins ago from the tech at the vet's office - Morris was sitting up in his kennel looking quite pleased with himself! :cool:

The procedure went really well & the 1 canine tooth the vet was questioning came out very nicely. They are wanting to keep him on fluids for as long as possible, so they don't want me to come to pick him up until around 4:30-4:45ish (I get off work at 4).

They will continue to monitor his BG levels & will give me insulin instructions when I pick him up, but they are thinking it will probably only be 1/2 dose of insulin again this evening.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home!

He's a little wobbly on his legs, but he is home! YAY!

I have bupe to give him for pain - every 8-12 hours. They said to start out with every 8 hours, then gradually increase to 12 hours (providing he will let me put it in his mouth!). They want him to continue on with the antibiotics for another 10-14 days. I can try giving the liquid stuff that he has been on the past couple of days, but if his mouth is too sore for that, I am to call & they will get me some injectable ab's instead.

We are to go back to see the vet in 10-14 days to check on his healing progress.

If he starts eating soon, he can have 1/2 dose insulin at regular time tonight. If he's not eating, then no insulin tonight. I think I will dish out his regular 'dinnertime' meal now - it is 2 hours until normal insulin & dinnertime. If he eats between now & then, I will give his insulin.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home!

I"m so glad to hear everything went so well! The worst is over, it' s all healing now!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home!

Yeah for Morris! Sending more energy for the healing process and hoping he has a smooth path.
Liz
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home!

Welcome home Morris! We think you will look as handsome as ever, who needs all those teeth anyway? :-D
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home! Not eati

He's finally used the litter box! I still can't convince him to eat yet though. I'm sure his mouth is sore, but I would feel better if he would at least drink a little! Only another hour to go until *normal* insulin time. They said no insulin if he's not eating & 1/2 dose insulin if he is eating. He is just enjoying relaxing on my lap! :o
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home! Not eati

Easy on the food. anesthesia slows down the digestion. he may throw up.

Just a tbsp mixed soupy with water at first. if he keeps it down, then in an hour, give a bit more.

eta - anesthesia also eats up BGs. have you grabbed a test since he's been home?
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home! Not eati

He was at 221 at +10 and 247 at +11. Almost time for another check.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home! Not eati

Baby food is easy on the mouth and most cats like it. Gerber Stage 2 or Beechnut -- as long as all that's in it is meat and broth.

If you talk to your vet, bupe can be given by sub-q injection, just like insulin. I'm not sure if the dosing is the same as oral or if insulin syringes will work. (You may need a different needle.) It's something to discuss with your vet.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! He's home! Not eati

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you talk to your vet, bupe can be given by sub-q injection, just like insulin. I'm not sure if the dosing is the same as oral or if insulin syringes will work. (You may need a different needle.) It's something to discuss with your vet.
Is it the same syrup for SC as buccal? I thought it would be different. We have discussed SC bupe before, but it was a lot more expensive.

Still hasn't eaten, so will skip insulin tonight. Time to try the liquid ab's!
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160 - Dental Day! PMBG 292; +2 432

He has only pee'd a little since he has been home. I thought he would have done more considering all the fluids he was given today & how much he usually pees in a day. He has gone to the LB several times, but when I went to clean it there wasn't much there. I have put him down beside his food dish a few times this evening - just so that he knows there is food there waiting for him when/if he starts to get a bit hungry. I don't like how high his BG got over the past 2 hours! Hopefully he will eat something over night so then I can give insulin again in the morning.

They didn't give me any instructions on what to do with his insulin tomorrow! If he hasn't eaten, should I try 1/2 dose, or skip another dose? If he is eating, even a small amount, should I give him the full dose? Any thoughts would be appreciated!

I will try to drag myself out of bed earlier than usual in the morning.....get another dose of bupe into his system close to 8 hours from his last dose. Plus it will give me a chance to see if he has eaten anything & test his BG levels before *normal* insulin/feeding time rolls around.
 
Re: 11/17 Morris AMPS 160; PMBG 292; +2 432; +10 499 DOSE AD

When I went to check on him this morning, he was still curled up in his fave chair! I checked the LB situation & he has done a very small amount of peeing overnight. While I was cleaning that up, he got off the chair & started eating!!! YAY!! He hasn't eaten a whole lot, but at least he has started finally! I gave him another dose of bupe as well.

How much insulin should I give this morning? His *regular* dose is currently 1.25u - he only had 1/2 dose yesterday morning & no insulin last night as he wasn't eating yet. The vets office didn't give me any instructions for today & insulin. Any thoughts would be appreciated!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top