11/17 Mocha +7 94

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not a a worry....life often gets in the way, and we all can only do the best we can!!! Getting that +7 is awesome, and what a nice, nice number, too! Surf it safely, Mocha!!
 
Here's your post from yesterday 11/16: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108290&view=unread#unread

no worries - but what a great catch with the 94. I'm only just now getting back online after yesterday and saw your question about dosing in yesterday's post. i was out of town last night, although there are several people here who will give you help on dosing. you can add a ? to your post icon (above the posting box of your first post in a thread) or edit the subject line and ask for dosing help, or any other questions you have. that'll get you an answer the most quickly.

did you increase the dose this morning? you can add that to your spreadsheet. and the dose for last night, too.

switching from another insulin is almost like learning everything about FD from scratch again. Novolin N and Humulin N are both very different from Lantus. With Lantus we base most of our dose decisions on the nadir. I see on Mocha's profile that no one is home between 10 and 4 that can test. if your shot times are still at 7/7, that's still plenty of time to get info to help make dosing decisions. Most people here also are gone parts of the day and it's something we can work around.

if i were you, shooting at 7am, i'd check at 9am (a +2) to see where the cycle is "pointing" at that time. If you posted then, people could hopefully let you know if you needed to leave extra food out for Mocha if it looked like he might go low. Getting tests in the evening really helps because then we can identify when his nadir is. Also, for whatever reason, many cats have a lower cycle at night than during the day. All cats respond differently to insulin and the task in the early phase of using Lantus is a lot about learning how Mocha responds to insulin, when his low point is generally going to be, for example. On the "Tight Regulation" sticky at the top of this forum the recommendation is to get preshot tests, and +3, +6 and +9 when starting out on Lantus. If there's a day you could do that, it would sure help us help you.

don't worry about posting protocol - we're just wanting to help you learn how to help Mocha and keep him safe. :YMHUG:
 
Thank you both! I just updated his spreadsheet. Last night we stuck with the 1.10 since I was going out of town and no one would monitor him through the night. Then this morning we increased the dose to 1.25 (we finally acquired U100 3/10cc syringes w/ 1/2 unit markings) but then my mom had trouble getting the tests. I told her to go ahead with the 1.25 because we had not gotten anywhere near the low numbers and with his curve being ~100 I figured it would be safe (I know newbies aren't supposed to shoot at <200). He is preening, peeing, pooping (diahrea :YMSIGH: ) and ....playing, well not much playing, this old man prefers sleeping and preening.
 
here in LL our no-shoot line for newbies is 150. but as soon as people have enough about how data about how their cat responds to insulin, and as long as they have hypo supplies and will be home to monitor, we encourage that line to begin to drop down gradually. experienced people will shoot 50's and 60's.

the "strange" thing that happens when you are at a good dose and you begin to shoot lower numbers is that the whole cycle begins to flatten out. instead of having a curve, cat's BGs end up almost on a flat line through the 24 hrs.
 
Wow, 150 huh? I will have trouble convincing my mom to shoot a number like that if I have to go out of town again :-| I would love to see less of a curve though. He has never had the benefit of that. The short acting was a total roller coaster.
 
I just took Mocha's BG and it was 199. So I'm thinking that his BG will be above 200 at his PMPS but not by much I suspect. Should I stick with the 1.25? Given that cats seem to go lower at night?

*Edit*

PMPS was 239 so I went with the 1.25. His ears are barely bleeding so I will test again as close to nadir as I can to best use the blood I can get. Of course monitoring for hypo signs in the mean time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top