11/17 Michelangelo AMPS 287, +5/248, PMPS 264, +2/243

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Thanks everyone for the continued support and information sharing! This is my first "under 200" since learning about the practice to not shoot under 200. And since all the other times I shot under 200 he ended up with a near-hypo episode, I wanted to hold off first and poll you guys on the whole "under 200" process. If I don't give the shot now, then when do I shoot? How often do I continue testing for rising BG? For example, if it doesn't rise over 200 till 8 am (it's 7 am here), then do I give him a shot at 8? And if so, do I then bump up his schedule to 8 AMS/8 PMS? How does this work?
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo AMPS 179: To shoot or not to shoot?

Sorry....just saw this. Let me look at his SS.

Do you:
have lots of test strips, HC food/gravy, karo/honey?
will be there to test all day if need be?
are rested and feel ok?

Have you fed him? BRB.
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo AMPS 179: To shoot or not to shoot?

Also...can you stall a bit? When you stall, you have to make the time up in 15 min increments each cycle or 30 mins once a day. So if you stalled an hour today, you'd shoot 11 hours and 45 minutes from that time tonight.

The only reason I'm thinking of having you stall is because this is a dropping number. Dropping numbers can be fine to shoot if you have data and have done it but this would be your first time shooting a blue dropping number.
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo AMPS 179: To shoot or not to shoot?

Definitely not rested as I stayed up a little later than usual last night trying to grab his PM +8, but yes on everything else. :smile: One good thing about him being extra sensitive to food spikes is that so far I haven't had to break out the karo syrup. Let's hope today isn't the first.

He usually eats with his insulin shot, but I've held off so far. When should I feed him?
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo AMPS 179: To shoot or not to shoot?

I know he is a baby and ravenous. Please hold off feeding him right now. How late is his shot already? I'd like to stall a total of 20 mins and retest so if it's already been 20 or more mins since you got the 179, can you retest please?

Thanks, Kay.
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo AMPS 179: To shoot or not to shoot?

Kay

I need to feed Gracie really quick so just post your number when you get it. In the subject line after his name, please put "+12 179" and then follow that with the next test so if it's +12.5 then put "+12.5 xxx". I'll brb.

Everything will be just fine so just breathe and grab another cup of coffee.
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo +12/179, AMPS 287

Bouncy, bouncy Mikey is now at 287 at what would normally be his +1. So, I fed him and shot him. :razz:

Luckily, it's the weekend for me and I work from home on Monday so it shouldn't be too hard to slide him back into his 7 am shot time before Tuesday.

I'll remember in the future to test every 20 minutes. I wasn't sure so I just figured I'd hold off till 8 am unless I heard otherwise and by the time you mentioned it, it was already 8. :smile:

Thanks again for helping out this n00b!
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo +12/179, AMPS 287

I'm glad you shot. I have "Dealing with Low Preshots" linked in my signature. It's worth a good read...a few times over. When you get a number lower than you've shot or a dropping number like this, as a n00b, you want to stall but test every 15-20 mins so you can shoot immediately as he rises. You want to get the insulin in him as soon as possible.

If you stalled an hour, you can shoot 15 mins early each cycle or 30 mins early one cycle a day starting tomorrow morning. That should have you back on track by Monday morning.

Good job!!
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo +12/179, AMPS 287

Great job, Kay! It took us the longest time to figure out DO NOT FEED when it's shot time and you get a low number. :roll: :lol: Mikey is soooo cute! He has sure had a rough life. You are a total sweetheart to care for him.
Liz
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo +12/179, AMPS 287

Well done this morning! :thumbup It's so good to see Mikey settling in. Soon you will feel confident and have the data to start shooting lower numbers. I really hope Mike is young enough to have his pancreas recover and start producing his own insulin.

Check out Reds OTJ condo yesterday! We have a tally of the number of cats who have gone "off the juice" using the protocol here. These are positive results and your brother needs to come up w/ an even better track record for his opinions before you should give them any credence. As Marje said they may be fine for cats who have already become diet controlled, but then proper diet has already done the job! The sooner a cat can start producing it's own insulin and go OTJ the better the prognosis for long term remission. Insulin therapy has the best record for that and Lantus TR is the most effective form of insulin therapy that I have heard of.
 
Re: 11/17 Michelangelo +12/179, AMPS 287

Anne & Zener said:
Great job, Kay! It took us the longest time to figure out DO NOT FEED when it's shot time and you get a low number. :roll: :lol: Mikey is soooo cute! He has sure had a rough life. You are a total sweetheart to care for him.
Liz

I'm a total bleeding heart when it comes to underdogs. :mrgreen: He didn't stand much of a chance for survival and that was probably why his mama abandoned him to die in the first place. I love beating the odds.

Ann & Tess said:
Well done this morning! :thumbup It's so good to see Mikey settling in. Soon you will feel confident and have the data to start shooting lower numbers. I really hope Mike is young enough to have his pancreas recover and start producing his own insulin.

Check out Reds OTJ condo yesterday! We have a tally of the number of cats who have gone "off the juice" using the protocol here. These are positive results and your brother needs to come up w/ an even better track record for his opinions before you should give them any credence. As Marje said they may be fine for cats who have already become diet controlled, but then proper diet has already done the job! The sooner a cat can start producing it's own insulin and go OTJ the better the prognosis for long term remission. Insulin therapy has the best record for that and Lantus TR is the most effective form of insulin therapy that I have heard of.

There's no way I'm going anywhere and I'll be doing TR whether or not my brother climbs on board. It'd be easier if he weren't so antagonistic and judging about it, but what are little brothers for if not to annoy you and make you question your sanity? @-)

One thing I've noticed and finally confirmed today is that I was thinking he might be going through a growth spurt the last couple of weeks. He had started eating more and was feeling a bit heavier. He's been ~4.5 pounds since the beginning of October all the way up to about two weeks ago and then last Friday at the vet, he weighed in at just about 5 pounds. It wasn't much for me to go on since he's always fluctuated ~.3 to .5 pounds depending on how full his belly is. Today, however, he just weighed in at a whopping 6.2 pounds! So, in the last two weeks of this whole up-and-down-and-back-up-again with his insulin, he's gained 1.7 pounds of what looks to be size alone. I still have another 2 cycles since I increased the dose back up to (a skinny) 1u to confirm, but this maybe explains part of why his numbers have never seemed to stabilize and why it seems he may have stopped going borderline hypo at 1u this time around.
 
I just saw you have pictures of Mikey up. OMG! He's just adorable!! He looks a lot like my civvie, Gizmo. (Giz is a Norwegian Forest Cat and they look a lot like Maine Coons.) There are photos from the time that Gizmo was under a year to now -- he's almost 4 yo.

Part of Mikey's weight issues may be diabetes related. Until you start getting the diabetes stabilized, glucose -- the basic nutrient that all food is metabolized into -- isn't getting into the cells. Insulin, whether it's produced by the pancreas or if your injecting it -- is what helps glucose get into the cells. If you're diabetic, glucose is floating around in the bloodstream and not getting into the cells where it's needed. If's for this reason that diabetes is sometimes referred to as the "starving" disease. In spite of having a voracious appetite, a kitty is losing weight until the disorder is discovered and treated. It's a very good sign that Mikey is gaining weight.
 
You might want to consider going by the calories Mikey is consuming rather than just the volume. Some foods are a lot more calorie dense than others. For instance FF runs from 22 to 32 kcal/oz., Wellness is about 40 and some raw foods are as much as 65. Kittens can consume twice the calories as adult cats. This is a great site on cat nutrition Max's House w/ a really good chart on calorie consumption for different growth stages. Right now Mikey needs about 45 kcal/lb of weight, but that will go down as he grows. Some catfoods list the calories per can on the label but most don't bother. Go to Dr. Lisa's list, just divide the calories per can by the size of the can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top