11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 +5 491 PMPS 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 524
+3.25 441
+5.75 343
PMPS 447
+5.5 370
AMPS 576

Well. This is unacceptable. Two black AMPS's in a row. We were all excited with this dose after the NDW, but I'm no longer feeling the love. We've been using this vial for 3 1/2 months. I have two options I think - keep with the protocol and see if he earns a dose increase in the next 2-4 cycles, or open a new vial of Lantus (which I have). What do you think?

Can't wait for Mannie's special brew this morning - I NEEDS it! :-D

Sorry I've not been diligent about condo visits - getting busy with Thanksgiving and the move. I'll be able to visit later day.

Happy Caterday!
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

Come down from that ceiling floor Leo! Slide into the yellow floor first!
Hang in there Lisa. Give a bit time & follow the protocol. Are you using the Lantus pen or vial. I'd try a new pen if I suspect those wonky numbers are caused by the outdated juice.
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

Morning Lisa and not to worry about the condo visits. You've had a lot going on lately, and we all understand. Moving takes a lot out of a person, too. Leo, come down from that floor today and make your Bean happpy. Good luck with the new vial or pen.
Leo, I'll see you soon with Mannie and crew. See what he has planned; see ya soon, sis Mags
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

I'm using a vial, and have a new vial in the wings. I was able to get a vial very inexpensively, so I opted for that route. I hesitate to immediately blame the bottle, but DH did make the point that it's been more than 3 months.

Hi Mags, I gotta gets OUT of HERE and get OUTSIDE! I'm trapped watching critter HBO from behind that clear barrier thingie, and at Rusty's we can run around! Seeya soon Sis! ~Leo
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

Leo, buddy, come back from the black. oliver

Lisa, moving vines and prayers to you. It's nice to get to new digs, but it's grumbly getting there. Hope it all goes smoothly
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

Morning Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O)
Auntie Lisa!! Open up! I am on your doorstep! I gots your ~O) ~O) ~O) , and an extra one just in case. ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

I vote for the new vial. I have read some folks can get 4/5 months out of a vial. I just never went that route, changed it every two months. I know a few too who will start new every 30 days. I finally went the pen route, as I got so tired of throwing out not even half used vials. ;-) I hope the new vial will lower numbers for Leo. A big ouch on that amps. Leo, dude - black? seriously? Come on down, 'OK? Mannie could use some company on the pink floor. Maybe you two guys can find the exit door...

No worries on the condos... I kn ow how that goes. On DGS days I often never have the chance to visit anyone... I feel and about that, but it just can't be helped. We all understand - you've got alot gong on right now.

Leo - DUDE! ~O) deliveries done, so meet me at your back door... I am hiding in the bushes.... roadster parked around the corner.... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

Mannie - I'm coming out from behind the bushes - rev it up and I'll leap from the curbs! WooHoo! ~Leo

Hi Michelle - Yeah, maybe the new vial tonight. I wonder if I stay at the same dose, or back it off just incase? Leo just ran out the door to see Mannie. Those two had better not get into any carb treats!!!

Ecurie - Thanks on the digs - Leo is on his way!
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 Sigh

I would stick with the same dose.

I usually get about 50 to 60 days from a vial, and throw it away probably too soon, when there's still some insulin left.
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

HI Leo-
I may not have posted on your condo, but I've been 'lurking' when I have a chance to see how you are doing. Slide on down. You know how these lower numbers feel and its time for your body to stay low!!! I vote for the new lantus to see if that will help your numbers. So glad papabean was able to take care of you while mama was cleaning the apt.

Hang in there Lisa. Sounds like you have a lot going on. Thanksgiving and moving. Yikes. Just know we are thinking of you and praying for Leo's healing!!!!

Have a great Caturday.
Karen
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Morning Lisa

I'm still working on that first ~O) ~O) of joe. BRING IT ON :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I hope Mannie has an extra yummy mocha something to offer today.

How does the insulin in your vial look? Clear? Has it been exposed to alot of temperature changes with you traveling, etc?

I tend to agree with Dyana here. It hasn't been that long since he did fairly well at this dose and, while things do and can change, when I see numbers this far off than usual, I wonder if it is the insulin, too. On the flip side, lantus and levemir tend to be not as fragile as we often make them out to be. But...usually if I am not sure if it is the insulin or the dose, I change the insulin first, give it a couple cycles, and if things don't improve, I raise the dose.

Hope you have a great weekend. I hope the move goes well. Don't worry about condos. We'll all be here....well...except for Kath and Pam :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Hi Karen - oh, you've been around, don't worry. Thanks for support for the annoyances we are going through. Nothing compared to some, but we're just plugging along. :-D I've informed Leo he must EAT as well. He's not interested in breakfast, and I can't catch him in the LB for Ketones. Low appetite is not usual for him. I'll test him again shortly for BGs.

HI Dyana - the bottle still has a good third left in it. From your usage, we should ditch this one.

HI Marje - Mannie's coffee was delightful this morning. I wonder if he has any at the bottom of the pot for an afternoon treat :-) The insulin looks fine. Clear, no floaties. But you are right to suggest changes in temperature. I keep the bottle, in the box, in a coffee mug, on a shelf near the back of the fridge. When we travel, I put the whole thing in a little insulated lunch box and put a bag of frozen veggies in there to kind of mold around the mug. We are on the road between 3.5 and 5 hours. I'm sure the temperature probably fluctuates in there, but I don't know how much. Thanks for your suggestion to change the insulin first. That makes sense, because if we just keep increasing the dose to compensate for the insulin losing potency, then we really don't know if 1u is 1u anymore. Thanks. Looks like you and Dyana have made a strong case for cracking up the new bottle and jumping right in with the same dose. I'll keep an eye on him tonight though, since this could act like a dose increase if the insulin is getting old. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 +5 491 Sigh

+5 491

This bottle is dead. Poor guy. He doesn't feel good. I want to shoot him with a fresh bottle *right now.* PMPS can't come soon enough. :sad: :sad: :sad:
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Good luck with the new vial tonight. You might want to get a nap this afternoon. :lol: I had a cartridge that went on the road to CSU and back with me, and a couple weeks after I was back, it pooped out, giving me reds where there had been much lower. With the new vial, you could get an active cycle.

Eat Leo, fuds is good. Good luck with the apartment move and Thanksgiving prep!
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Hi Lisa, Oof on those high AMPS :YMSIGH: , hope Leo comes down soon. Trying your new vial on same dose makes sense to me, single variable test. if it does not change anything you can use up more of the old one if you want. Your travel packing makes me wonder if the old vial could have gotten too cold from the frozen veggies? The product info says freezing definitely degrades insulin. Do you need to shoot Leo while enroute? If not, you might consider keeping insulin supply at your apt and at home instead of shuttling it back and forth, just a thought. I dont know if freezing damage would be visible, I may experiment sometime with Jasper's old pen since I dont plan to use it again (anti jinx). We really need some kind of test strips for insulin quality, another item on my fd technology wish list. Good luck with your move into your winter nest, smooth move vines drinking09 coming your way. I keep running out of time to visit condos before I get very far :roll: , end up lurking more than posting to try to keep up with LL kitties and beans.
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Hey Lisa, hope the new vial helps. I was getting that trouble too with the vials all the time! I could get 60 days out of it and that was it and never saw floaties or any problem other than Scratchie's increases were still way out there when they shouldn't have been, and I was careful with the vials too. Always in the same place in the fridge and DH was threated with death if he moved it even a fraction! :lol:

Hope you'll see better numbers tonight with the new vial. Leo, come on down from there and listen to your mamabean!

Jo
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Hi guys, I vote for the new vial too! Sorry you are getting such high numbers, it stinks! Paws crossed the new vial will help. The pens are great, they come in a 5 pack, may be a good option for your next lantus purchase. Come on down Leo!!!!
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

Hi Lisa.....I have no advice about vial. I too, can never decide if high numbers are because the insulin is toast, or if a dose change is needed.
Just saying, I feel for you.
Hugs to you and scritches to Leo.
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

I hope the new vial helps. It is frustrating when you can't tell if it is the insulin that needs replaced or the dose that needs changed.
 
Re: 11/17 Leo AMPS 576 +2.25 561 Sigh

:YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: this isn't like Leo. I open the new vial also. I've never see floaties, but when Tess's numbers rise for no other reason I usually get a nice return to better numbers when I open a new one.

Sending easy moving vines. Where will Thanksgiving be? NJ?
 
Hi Carla - thanks. I'll keep the same dose so we know if it's the vial or not. But it's got to be the vial.

Hi Barb - thanks for your kind words. Leo got lots of scritches a bit ago when I tested him. :-D

Hi Michelle - I told Leo he's under orders to come down! I got the vial at a reduced price, so I didn't turn it down. But eventually we'll probably end up with pens.

Ho Jo - LOL on DH and moving the vial a fraction :lol: :lol: :lol: My DH is good about it. I'm keeping the old vial, I don't know why, but I won't throw it away yet. It looks fine, but I took a thick black sharpie and wrote on it, "OLD"

Hi Leslie - Yeah, I'm of the same mind - single variable test. I was wondering when I first started traveling if the veggies would make it too cold, but it's in a little cooler and the veggies don't touch the vial. The vial is in the box, which is in a glass coffee mug. So, I don't think so. I thought about keeping a vial at home and at the apartment, but then I could have two vials that aren't the same potency, and would get confused if one started to die ... plus, I'd want one with me at all times anyway. But that's a good thought. I agree on the insulin quality test! Anything to help us nail down causes and effects!!!

HI Wendy - yeah, I'm wondering about his cycle. I'll be setting the alarm. I generally get a +2 and a +5 all the time anyway. Thanks! Leo finally ate his breakfasts ... I had left them out, so he could have JUST eaten them. Oh well, not like it will drive his BGs any higher!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top